We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious and Satisfying!”
Review of Scargo Cafe

Scargo Cafe
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional, Tavern and Restaurant with wood paneled walls, open fireplaces and an outdoor covered deck for al Fresco dining during summer. The fare includes guest favorites such as roasted rack of New Zealand lamb, and seafood strudel (a seafood blend baked in pastry) with Newburg sauce. Lots of fresh local seafood and oysters. Many more seafood entrees, sandwiches, burgers, steaks, chicken, pasta selections, and their truly famous version of Grapenut Custard.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Scrumptious and Satisfying!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

From the cozy, warm fireplaces to the Grapenut Custard Pudding, I fully enjoyed my experience at Scargo Cafe. Busy as the Cafe was, the host was able to find a spot for our hungry twosome quickly. Menu (on-line) features choices for everyone and price quite reasonable. Thriving bar community as well, glued to their mesmerizing TV screens but, sound did not interfere at all with private experience. Saw no children at 8pm on a Sat nite. Reservations only accepted at 50% of seating. Could be hard to get in, but we were lucky.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    228
    61
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Super visit during restaurant week”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I visited Cape Cod recently. When we discoved that our visit coincided with restaurant week, we decided to visit several of the participants. Our first visit was Scargo cafe based on a review on Trip Advisor and our B & B host. The meal was superb! The food was excellent and the portions were very generous. Ths service was also top notch, and they seemed to be very interested in promoting and featuring the restaurant week specials. This was one of the best meals I've had this year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 193barryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good local restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good service, updated menu, good food and cozy bar. Very good stop prior to the playhouse shows. Pepper burger is excellent, not your run of the mill menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robear29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dennis, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been going to Scargo Cafe for years. The food, atmosphere, and service never gets old. As year round residents we rarely go to any restaurant in the summer because of the crowds but the fall, winter and spring we love to go. The winter is fun too as the owners always have great and fun marketing ideas to attract new and regular customers. Tonight I had East Dennis oysters which are always a great size and consistent quality. For the main course I tried the short ribs which reminded me of the meals my grandmother used to serve. I always feel at home here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-Sullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extensive menu - great atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had dinner for four before the theater at Scargo Cafe. The menu was interesting and extremely varied, wait staff very cordial, and food was excellent. Great spot --- I would return again in a heartbeat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scargo Cafe also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Scargo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing