We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have a special day or even just in the mood for a great meal, Scargo Cafe is the place to go!”
Review of Scargo Cafe

Scargo Cafe
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional, Tavern and Restaurant with wood paneled walls, open fireplaces and an outdoor covered deck for al Fresco dining during summer. The fare includes guest favorites such as roasted rack of New Zealand lamb, and seafood strudel (a seafood blend baked in pastry) with Newburg sauce. Lots of fresh local seafood and oysters. Many more seafood entrees, sandwiches, burgers, steaks, chicken, pasta selections, and their truly famous version of Grapenut Custard.
Westbrook
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you have a special day or even just in the mood for a great meal, Scargo Cafe is the place to go!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

When ever we are in the Cape, we always go to Scargo. We make reservations, because even on a Monday night in the late fall, we have had to wait.

Scargo has a nice, rustic feel to it. The staff is very accommodating and always willing to please.

The martini's and all of their drinks are very tasty and STRONG-got to love that!

The food is delicious. I had the Rack of Lamb, and it was so good, that I had to eat off the bones to make sure I got every last piece of it

The Seafood Pie, was so good, that my girlfriend did not finish it, so she could have it the next day. The other two got the scallops and finished every last part.

Of course, no matter how full you are, you HAVE to have the Grapenut Pudding. It is our standard and must have when we are there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scargoboy, Owner at Scargo Cafe, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it! Please do let us know if you ever have a less than perfect visit. Your pleasure is our "main course". We really do care and are always happy to go the extra mile. Hope to see you soon.
Peter Troutman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    217
    57
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Mac'n'cheese”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

How can you describe perfection? The cheese is a wonderful blend but not too strong and there must be a whole lobster in this one dish.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank walpoleartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It could be better”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Scargo has been around a long time, the food is usually OK but sometimes it needs help. Occasionally it's really good and has a great bar.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ddd1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A restaurant that is consistant”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I've done lunch and dinner there several times. The food is consistantly good, not great and the service is always excellent.

Helpful?
Thank epstem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The kind of place that values their customer”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I often stop here Nothing fancy,just a nice meal and a good drink. They have a super little bar with a fireplace for cold days. A long banquet for those of us loners who like to look at the fire. The food is inspired pub fare,really nice specials and oysters that are fresh and fine. They serve them with a sauce Mignonette(sp) that is superb. Cheers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Truffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scargo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Scargo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing