We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for dinner”

Chapin's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Dennis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ok for dinner”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Been here twice. The fish is certainly fresh, but the selections on the menu are nothijng to rave about. All the basic fish dishes are served (scallops, cod, lobster) in the traditional style. There is nothing on the menu that makes me go "Wow, that sounds really good". Surprisingly the buffalo tenders appetizer is quite good. If you come during the summer, you're sure to find crowds no matter the day, so think about making a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustintoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    102
    65
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good but not great”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

im from michigan, ive had better seafood here. scallops were very good, cod was overcooked and flaky though. atmosphere was pleasant, laid back, friendly service. valet parking was nice because it got busy soon after we got there. i probably would not be back though. prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot near the beaches”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We ate here this past weekend on our first day in town. Fish sandwich was great. I wanted one of the summer drink specials but they had ran out. Kids were happy with their chicken fingers. This place is not on the water but an option nearby. Clean and good parking. Better than the other sister restaurant across town with the same name.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnTheHill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great when the summer crowds are gone.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Have a beach house walking distance. Good food. Loud atmosphere. I avoid in summer but I love it in off season.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chapins is a Gem”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Love this restaurant! Located just down the road from Mayflower Beach it has become a tradition for our family to grab dinner and drinks at Chapins then watch the sunset at Mayflower. Clean, nice bustling ambiance. Slightly upscale for the Cape but you'll have a mix of well-dressed people and others wearing shorts and summer attire on any given night. The seafood is always good here...baked stuffed haddock is awesome. Plenty on the menu for those who don't like seafood. They also have a large bar and outside patio area for drinks. Get there early in the summer...it gets busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapin's Restaurant also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Chapin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing