We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed opportunity”
Review of Summer Stock - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Summer Stock
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 6A
Description: Located at the campus of the famed Dennis Cape Playhouse, Cape Cinema & Cape Cod Museum of Art- Summer Stock is open every day for lunch & dinner- with a weekend brunch. Featuring a fresh twist on American Bistro Fare with creative cocktails and eclectic wines, many ingredients are sourced from the finest farms and fishermen on Cape Cod. The menu is diverse- there is something for everyone in your group! Start with local rawbar of oysters or littlenecks or maybe something from the appetizer list- possibly a flatbread pizza? The entrees include pasta, seafood, steak and vegetarian dishes- be sure to save space for house made desserts! Visit the separate lounge Bar Lilly, giving nod to popular Cape Cod fashion icon Lilly Pulitzer, often the spot for drinking and nosh pre and post theatre, cinema and museum events. There is also an outdoor area with seating for cocktails. Entertainment info is on the website. Opened by the owners of Island Merchant in Hyannis- a Best of Boston Winner
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Missed opportunity”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Summer Stock is located on the grounds of the Cape Playhouse, Cinema, and Museum of Fine Arts, so you would expect it to be top-notch. Not so. Disappointing, limited menu, dull décor and indifferent service. No one seems to care about their clientele. I noticed the place was almost empty even though a new play was about to have its opening performance. The personal pizza managed to have a tough, dry crust around the rim with a soggy inside. Gazpacho and seafood chowder were both run through a blender so they seemed thin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cape_berkshires25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

tried this place a couple of times- limited menu,didn't care for the salmon dish, my friend had a pasta dish and said it was good, nothing special-
you can eat in the bar or the big room- good location, by the theater, museum and playhouse..we were hoping for live music on a saturday night but apparently they only have it on thursdays and sundays- relaxed atmosphere, hopefully they'll add more items to their current small selection-
prices were high for what you get

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carefree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Ready for Prime Time”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having rolled out of the Cape Cinema at after a great film, the three of us were very hungry for a late night supper. Because this restaurant is virtually next door to the cinema and it was so late, we didn't want to waste time finding another place that was open, so we landed here. We were all disappointment with our food but worse was the overwhelming smell of cat urine. An extremely helpful barkeep/server tried to explain the stench away as something to do with a tree in bloom outside, but there is no denying this place needs to be recarpeted immediately. There are so many great food places on the Cape to try that it will be a very long time before I'd ever come here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MertonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Might be better...”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went for dinneer on a night when a wedding reception took up the whole front room, So. Limited menu, eclectic, on the expensive side. Funky. Probably won't go back because it was not our favorite, but one can see its possiblities...so give it a try.
On the grounds of the playhouse.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bwdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, distinctive menu, not-so-good atmosphere”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

As Cape Cod year-rounders, we're always trying new restaurants. We were attracted to Summer Stock due to its location (part of the famous Cape Playhouse "campus" in the heart of Dennis Village), plus their online menu offered some interesting dishes.

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and planned a leisurely evening, so we arrived a bit prior to our reservation to enjoy a cocktail in their "Lily Bar." Aside from lots of bar seating, there were a few comfy, cushioned window seats. It was early, so we had the lounge to ourselves.

When we were seated for dinner, the host initially offered us unattractive tables for two: One was against a wall that separated the dining area from the kitchen (and no windows) and the other was right in the middle of the dining room. We asked if we could instead have a table for 4. He accommodated us without complaint, giving us a corner table surrounded by windows. Much better. (Had the restaurant been full, we would have accepted a small table, but at 6 pm there was plenty of seating.)

The food was very good-to-excellent. I ordered the green bean salad w/pecans - delicious. My husband had a green salad topped with large cubes of fried feta cheese. For our entrees we each tried the Cajun salmon, cooked to perfection. And it was served piping hot - kind of a rarity! The only complaint was that, for a full entree with a price to match, the fish should have been served with a vegetable or potato.

We shared Key Lime pie for dessert - a good decision (an entire dessert each would have been too much). As good as the pie was, we were disappointed that we were offered only 3 desserts to choose from.

Overall the food was excellent, the service top-notch, and we enjoyed the evening very much. Now if they'd just get rid of the awful bright orange/mustard-colored walls and the ridiculously bright overhead lighting in the dining room, it would have been closer to a perfect evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwanPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Stock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing