We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Lodge Cape Cod

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Briarcliffe Motel was recommended to our family by friends(also from Jersey) who stayed there last summer. We enjoyed our recent stay largely due to the motel's great location near fantastic beaches (Corporation and Mayflower) and the wonderful people who run the motel. They went out of their way to meet our needs and enjoy this quiet and quaint part of Cape Cod. Our room was a standard 2 double bed room with a/c and refrigerator. It was clean, shower worked well, a great ice machine to fill our cooler for the beach and morning complementary coffee was available in the office. The hotel has a clean refreshing pool (on the smaller side) surrounded by tables and lounge chairs. When not at the beach the kids had a great time swimming in the pool while we lounged. The motel is on the older side but as stated very clean, descent furnishings, plenty of clean towels and linens and is much less expensive than comparable rooms on the Jersey shore which we frequented for several years. There are also several attractions and good eateries near the hotel and a great ice cream shop(Frosty's) within walking distance to the motel where we had our evening treat. After reading the reviews on the Briarcliffe, we would recommend the two recent poor reviews be strongly discounted. We found the motel to be more in line with the majority of other families who gave the Briarliffe, its location and accompanying customer service excellent reviews. We thanked our friends for referring us to the Briarcliffe and we plan to do the same to others and would definitely return to this fine beachside motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for your review Jean! Location, location, location! We hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Briarcliffe motel on route 6A in Dennis, MA. The hotel owners were more than accommodating and helped my family and I find great local restaurants and attractions. The Briarcliffe is an older hotel, but the rooms are clean and a good value for the proximity to the outstanding Dennis beaches. Nice pool for a dip after the beach. I would highly recommend the Briarcliffe for your next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

went there just this week , omg!!! omg!!!, it was terrible,the smell of mold , was terrible open windows put on old air conditioner, it was so loud,rug was really crappy wallpaper coming of in bathroom, stuck with tacts ,, the pillow was so flat ,, some other people i knew who were going to the same party as us, said she had terrible reaction from the mold, they left early ,every one on our side of the motel was sitting outside in the morning drinking coffee,not looking happy , another couple said to her husband you got to be kidding me .the bathroom window was all rotten,,never never again even for free

Room Tip: there are alot of better places in the area , i just waited to long and they were taken
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aggiebust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We take the feedback seriously that is given to us by our guests. Constructive feedback gets our attention while feedback based upon embellishments and perceptions do not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've been vacationing in this area for many years, renting a cottage. This year we decided to rent at the Briarcliff instead. First, the positive: the owners are friendly, the pool is clean and has decent patio furniture. There is free coffee in the morning at the reception..On the negative side, the rooms are old and dated. The room was small, which is not in itself a problem. One queen bed with one of those terrible polyester printed bedspread. Dark red carpeting and dark wood furniture, consisting of: one nigh.stand, one bureau with loose handles that rattled anytime we walked by, 2 lamps (one did not work) an old mini fridge with a door that scraped the carpet when opened, one arm chair. Some hooks on the wall. The room was very gloomy, I assume it was clean. The floor in the bathroom floor was badly stained, and part of the "plywood" tiles were missing. The bottom of the door was all splintered. No need to exfoliate as the towels ( changed daily and clean) were very rough. The worst problem was the air conditioning unit, located about 2 feet from my head. It was so noisy that it woke us up every time it started.
One (!) plastic chair outside on the porch (for 2 people).No tables. The concrete around the pool is disintegrating so you carry loose gravel under your feet everywhere. On most nights, there was a "vacancy" sign up, and I understand from some people that they booked there because it was available at the last minute. It is unfortunate that more is not done to upgrade this property. Maybe they can't afford to but in a few years the whole place will collapse.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michele639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
This guest was correct. Purchasing and maintaining a seasonal motel during the past several years has been a capitol buster. Hopefully, someday we will be able to make the changes that this guest recommends. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Briarcliffe and loved it! My family had spent the week in a vacation home in Dennis with no air conditioning and the heat was horrible. My husband and I needed a place to stay in order to attend a wedding on the Cape on Saturday. I called and talked to Ken and he was able to accommodate us (and assured me that the air conditioning was available). When we checked in, I told Julie we were attending a wedding the next day and she offered me use of her iron (didn't need it, but the offer was much appreciated). After a great night's sleep, we went to the wedding and when we came back the room was immaculate and there was a $20.00 bill on the freshly made bed! I must have dropped it when changing purses and the staff found it and put it on the bed for me to easily see when we got back! Ken and Julie not only run a great motel, but they have an excellent hard-working and honest staff. Thank you so much. I am definitely referring my friends to your place and hope to come back so I can enjoy the pool on a longer trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary5912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I am glad we could help Rosemary! Thanks for your kind words..... much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently stay at the Briarcliffe for the weekend visiting family on the Cape. The rooms are perfect for a weekend of exploring! Set back off the street, but close to all the action! The rooms are a perfect place to lay a weary head after a long fun day on the Cape! If you want to spend a ton of money on ammenties, where the plan is to stay in the room all day, this may not be your place...but if you're going to be exploring for the day and need an immaculately clean room and great hospitality where you're not treated as just a room number, but as a welcome guest, this is definitely the place for you! The owners go out of their way to make you feel right at home....my daughter is 4 and was itching to use the pool (we're talking 6am wakeup right into the bathing suit!) Julie (one of the owners) let us hop in the pool a bit early so we could have a little extra time, the pool was wonderful. Thank you for such a wonderful stay, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wouldratherbecamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks Y'all! The pool is something we could never deny a four years old! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This unpretentious motel is set off the road and up a small hill in the town of Dennis, MA. There are no phones in the room, and cell phone service is spotty at best. The room consists of a chair, a bed, two bedside tables, two lamps, a dresser (with a television) and a small refrigerator.
Each room has a private bath. Coffee is available in the office in the mornings, and there is a nice pool beside the office. Room and bathroom are immaculate, and the hosts couldn't be nicer or more accomodating. There are excellent restaurants close-by. This is a good location for the beach and for exploring the area. It is very quiet at night, and a good night's sleep was had by all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you, thank you, Frequent Traveler! We know what we are, so all we can do is scrub, scrub, scrub and always treat our guests well. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis
2.0 mi away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ambassador Inn and Suites
Ambassador Inn and Suites
#16 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
5.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Cape Cod
Comfort Inn Cape Cod
#15 of 22 in Hyannis
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Lodge Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Lodge Cape Cod

Property: Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
Address: 203 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1915 (Formerly Briarcliffe Motel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlight Lodge Cape Cod 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely "north-side" mid Cape location just miles to the best beaches like Constitution and Mayflower. Hotel is entirely renovated with 24 Dbl, Queen & King bedrooms & 2 elegant and deluxe suites. Upscale design and appointments at an affordable price. Flat screen smart TVs, some rooms pet friendly, smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Starlight Lodge Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliffe Hotel Dennis
Briarcliffe Motel Dennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing