We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No-Frills, But a Good Night's Sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No-Frills, But a Good Night's Sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This unpretentious motel is set off the road and up a small hill in the town of Dennis, MA. There are no phones in the room, and cell phone service is spotty at best. The room consists of a chair, a bed, two bedside tables, two lamps, a dresser (with a television) and a small refrigerator.
Each room has a private bath. Coffee is available in the office in the mornings, and there is a nice pool beside the office. Room and bathroom are immaculate, and the hosts couldn't be nicer or more accomodating. There are excellent restaurants close-by. This is a good location for the beach and for exploring the area. It is very quiet at night, and a good night's sleep was had by all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you, thank you, Frequent Traveler! We know what we are, so all we can do is scrub, scrub, scrub and always treat our guests well. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Clean, neat, very reasonably priced. My kids liked the pool for days we didn't get to the beach. The motel is on a main route so it's close to attractions and beaches, yet it's set back from the road and surrounded by trees so it was very quiet and peaceful. The owners were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. (even offered to heat up our leftovers in their own microwave
in their house) It was nice having a fridge and an ice machine we could use to fill our cooler.
If you want a palace with huge rooms and are willing to spend a fortune then go somewhere else. For the rest of us on a budget this is a nice place well worth the money. Thank-you Ken and Julie, we will be staying with you our next trip to the Cape!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family has been going to the Cape since I was little and this is one of our favorite places to stay! It is basic but clean and comfortable. Rooms have a fridge which is nice to keep beach lunches nice and cold! It is right on 6A which is the main road in Dennis and can get you to many locations. Corporation and Mayflower beach are the best beaches in this area! The family that runs this motel makes you feel welcome and always are ready to assist you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at Briarcliffe one night in August 2012. Room was ok at best. Very very outdated and rundown room. Bathroom kind of grimy. Furniture cracked. It skeeved me out. But...we were there for one night and it was ok. Owners were nice. Pool ok. Not worth the price. If we had booked for more than one night I would have insisted to my husband that we leave and stay someplace better. It just didnt look clean. The paneling in the room was old and cracked and dingy and dark. But for one night we managed. The grounds are lovely but that's irrelevant when I skeeved the shower and the bed. We survived but won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sullivano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wonderful place to stay on the Cape. The grounds are beautiful and set back from the main road. A beautiful pool provides a great space to relax after a day of sight-seeing and shopping. It is centrally located on the Cape so we were just a short drive to neighboring cities which allowed us to see Provincetown and Boston.
The owners were very knowledgeable and helpful about places to go and see on the Cape. Ken and Julie (owners) took the time to listen to what our interests were and provided suggestions for activities based on our interests. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The previous reviewers couldn't be more wrong. Rooms are tiny and shabby. The bathrooms need to be updated.... We felt like we were disturbing the owners with our questions about the area...they were not at all helpful. It was the only place in area with a vacancy and we won't be back. Beaches in area may be nice, but charge $25 to park and are very crowded. Long lines every night for local ice cream is not worth it and only go to Grumpys for breakfast if you like greasy food and rushed service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Needless to say we are disapointed by this review. There are aspects of this review that are true. Our rooms are small and the bathrooms do need to be updated. Until these changes can occur we will continue to dedicated ourselves to scrubbing our rooms until they shine. What we do have control over is the lack of attention paid to this family and for that we apologize. We have always prided ourselves on assisting our guests in feeling welcomed and informed. Apparently, that did not happen in this case and we will use it as a reminder as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

An ideal location and family friendly. Have breakfast and/or lunch at Gump's a mile or so away, enjoy the best ice cream on the Cape at Smugglers, and make reservations at the Cape Playhouse, and you have yourself a vacation. The motel itself is quite comfortable with a quiet air conditioner, a nice size fridge, free coffee in the morning, and free ice for your cooler. The pool looked lovely, but we didn't have the spare time to enjoy it. The room was nice and clean and we felt very welcomed by Julie. We couldn't get over how quiet the rooms and parking lot were despite the large number of units and cars. We'll go back next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rock37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis
2.0 mi away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingfisher Lodging
Kingfisher Lodging
#2 of 2 in Dennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Lodge Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Lodge Cape Cod

Property: Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
Address: 203 Route 6A, Dennis, MA 02638 (Formerly Briarcliffe Motel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlight Lodge Cape Cod 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely "north-side" mid Cape location just miles to the best beaches like Constitution and Mayflower. Hotel is entirely renovated with 24 Dbl, Queen & King bedrooms & 2 elegant and deluxe suites. Upscale design and appointments at an affordable price. Flat screen smart TVs, some rooms pet friendly, smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Starlight Lodge Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliffe Hotel Dennis
Briarcliffe Motel Dennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing