We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and close to the beach”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family has been going to the Cape since I was little and this is one of our favorite places to stay! It is basic but clean and comfortable. Rooms have a fridge which is nice to keep beach lunches nice and cold! It is right on 6A which is the main road in Dennis and can get you to many locations. Corporation and Mayflower beach are the best beaches in this area! The family that runs this motel makes you feel welcome and always are ready to assist you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed at Briarcliffe one night in August 2012. Room was ok at best. Very very outdated and rundown room. Bathroom kind of grimy. Furniture cracked. It skeeved me out. But...we were there for one night and it was ok. Owners were nice. Pool ok. Not worth the price. If we had booked for more than one night I would have insisted to my husband that we leave and stay someplace better. It just didnt look clean. The paneling in the room was old and cracked and dingy and dark. But for one night we managed. The grounds are lovely but that's irrelevant when I skeeved the shower and the bed. We survived but won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sullivano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wonderful place to stay on the Cape. The grounds are beautiful and set back from the main road. A beautiful pool provides a great space to relax after a day of sight-seeing and shopping. It is centrally located on the Cape so we were just a short drive to neighboring cities which allowed us to see Provincetown and Boston.
The owners were very knowledgeable and helpful about places to go and see on the Cape. Ken and Julie (owners) took the time to listen to what our interests were and provided suggestions for activities based on our interests. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The previous reviewers couldn't be more wrong. Rooms are tiny and shabby. The bathrooms need to be updated.... We felt like we were disturbing the owners with our questions about the area...they were not at all helpful. It was the only place in area with a vacancy and we won't be back. Beaches in area may be nice, but charge $25 to park and are very crowded. Long lines every night for local ice cream is not worth it and only go to Grumpys for breakfast if you like greasy food and rushed service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbjw3k, Owner at Starlight Lodge Cape Cod, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Needless to say we are disapointed by this review. There are aspects of this review that are true. Our rooms are small and the bathrooms do need to be updated. Until these changes can occur we will continue to dedicated ourselves to scrubbing our rooms until they shine. What we do have control over is the lack of attention paid to this family and for that we apologize. We have always prided ourselves on assisting our guests in feeling welcomed and informed. Apparently, that did not happen in this case and we will use it as a reminder as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

An ideal location and family friendly. Have breakfast and/or lunch at Gump's a mile or so away, enjoy the best ice cream on the Cape at Smugglers, and make reservations at the Cape Playhouse, and you have yourself a vacation. The motel itself is quite comfortable with a quiet air conditioner, a nice size fridge, free coffee in the morning, and free ice for your cooler. The pool looked lovely, but we didn't have the spare time to enjoy it. The room was nice and clean and we felt very welcomed by Julie. We couldn't get over how quiet the rooms and parking lot were despite the large number of units and cars. We'll go back next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rock37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our family has been vacationing at the Briarcliffe Motel and the Cape for the past several years. As so many others have commented, the owners are accommodating, helpful and go out of their way to make our stay a pleasurable experience. It is an older motel but the rooms are always clean and comfortable and a very good value given its proximity to Mayflower and other beautiful Dennis beaches and attractions. We also enjoy using the pool to cool off after a day at the beach or to just relax and read. I would highly recommend this little gem of a motel for families, couples or individuals whether you are visiting the Cape for a night or a week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The owners were fantastic from the get! I emailed back and forth with Julie, who was helpful and friendly. When we arrived Ken checked us in, he was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were on the small side, but wonderfully clean. Who stays in their rooms on vacations anyway? The facility is non-smoking and it is true, we had two rooms and you could tell they had not been smoked in. We stayed 3 nights and each day after coming back after our adventures, the beds were made and bathrooms cleaned. The location cannot be beat! Right on 6A and close to everything. I would absolutely stay here again and I would recommend this motel to anyone. Thank you Julie and Ken!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are set back from the road, so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferW261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis
5.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,237 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
195 reviews
5.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
758 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#13 of 21 in South Yarmouth
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingfisher Lodging
Kingfisher Lodging
#2 of 2 in Dennis
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Lodge Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Lodge Cape Cod

Property: Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
Address: 203 Route 6A, Dennis, MA 02638 (Formerly Briarcliffe Motel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlight Lodge Cape Cod 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely "north-side" mid Cape location just miles to the best beaches like Constitution and Mayflower. Hotel is entirely renovated with 24 Dbl, Queen & King bedrooms & 2 elegant and deluxe suites. Upscale design and appointments at an affordable price. Flat screen smart TVs, some rooms pet friendly, smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Starlight Lodge Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliffe Hotel Dennis
Briarcliffe Motel Dennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing