We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast”

Champney's Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rts 5 & 10
Description: Come and gather at a New England table! Our seasonally driven menus are a reflection of the rural landscape and come and go as the harvest is available. We celebrate our area farmers, foragers, and growers in our menus. Of twelve draught beers, six are always local. We cook from scratch, and source as locally as we can. A warm, friendly, local gathering place with food and drink at the center of the experience.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Came quick and quite tasty. Eggs scrambled with cheese, bacon and toast. Orange juice. Wifi in the room.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BEHITES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We think it is good to feel good about breakfast - my favorite meal of the day! Glad you enjoyed yours. Those eggs from happy chickens make all the difference, and the bacon is brined in celery juice powder to be nitrate free. Jimmy does a great job, and we thank you for the acknowledgment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    87
    23
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Afton, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Farm to table”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

There is one choice for food service in Historic Deerfield. And thankfully they do it well. Everything is fresh and home made. Including the lemon curd in our parfait. The service was top notch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Glad you enjoyed Champney's and the lovely people who work there with us. Kathleen does a wonderful job baking and making desserts, and we all have a wonderful time taste testing! We are so lucky to be here in this rich Happy Valley with farms all around us. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had the opportunity to eat in the restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner, and, in all cases, we found that the food was absolutely delicious. The variety of options was great, and accommodated multiple tastes/diets/preferences. Local products/foods were consistently used...and everything was extremely fresh. The portions were more than ample; the quality of the food, regardless of the meal served, was excellent; the service was extremely competent and customer-focused, let alone, friendly! We thoroughly enjoyed the experienceQ

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and tavern and the lovely people who work with us. I am so glad you recognized how they genuinely care, and glad, too, that fresh and local means as much to you as it does to all of us. Hope to see you again when the new seasons' menus are up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A change for the worse”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had frequented Champney's at the Deerfield Inn several years ago on multiple special occasions, and the food was always great. We were disappointed with our most recent visit. The restaurant looks great, they remodeled a while back and it looks very nice (though i liked it before too). As for the food, the quality has gone down hill since our last visit. The appetizers were very good (a nice cheese plate and some brussles sprouts). The entree was sub par, a B+ at best. I had the steak frites served with an ancho chille butter. The frites were very tasty, the ancho chile butter seemed unnecessary, the steak wasn't good at all, and there was supposed to be a salad of mixed greens that was conspicuously missing. My wife had the salmon, which she described as fine, i thought the risotto was salty and also overly sweet. We didnt get dessert, much to the delight of our waiter who let us know that he was leaving as soon as we were done. On previous visits they also did an excellent job suggesting a good wine pairing, On this visit when asked for a suggestion, the waiter said he wasn't much of a wine drinker and suggested one option. If you can't make a suggestion ask another staff member who can.
Overall the food was not worth the $100+ that was spent, which is a shame because i've spent that much there before and had only good things to say. Overall not a change for the better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_and_JA01075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Oh dear, we are so disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience here. We try every day to make it right for all our guests, but we did not get it right for you. I am shocked that anybody who works with us here should say such an inhospitable thing as it is absolutely uncharacteristic of our people. It sounds as if that person has not being paying attention when we have our server classes on wine, and if you did not say anything at the time, he should nevertheless have noticed the salad was not on the side. You took the time to say you were unhappy, so please do me the favor of writing back via personal message so I can identify your server - date of visit, description, anything like that would be good. I cannot fix things if I am not fully informed and I know you want to help us do better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
254 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch on our way through deerfield”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had lunch here not really planned but glad we did. Had some cheese and crackers and homemade lemon icetea. A great ceasar salade in a wonderfull ambiance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Champney's Restaurant & Tavern, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
So glad you could stop by. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, and we thank you so much for posting. Beste wensen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champney's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 
South Deerfield, MA
 

Been to Champney's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing