We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had an exceptionally relaxing and spirit rejuvenating time from the moment we were shown to our tastefully furnished room to our artfully prepared dinner to our sumptuous breakfast to our leaving. The owners as well as every one the staff not only made us feel at home but also caused us to reflect that maybe we should consider more frequent trips to other unique inns in other places. Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: Each room is individually decorated and were equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
How lovely for all of us to read this and know you had a happy and relaxed time here. Thank you for posting and for making us feel so glad. If you want to become a bona fide inngoer you should make a visit to each of the Distinctive Inns of New England and see the best of what our different states can offer. And then come back here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    112
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
230
393
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We recently got married at the deerfield inn in a very small ceremony in beehive room. We also stayed at the inn the night before and had both dinner and after ceremony lunch at Champney's restaurant. The room we stayed was adorable. The food (they had options for various diet and culture) was amazing. Both my husband and I have the best weekend and more than what we have expected. The staff at both the inn and the restaurant were very welcoming and nice. Alicia the special event coordinator and the front desk staff were especially helpful and very accommodating to our guests and our budget needs. Thank you for letting us have the best memory of our lives and we will definitely be back for our future celebrations.

Room Tip: We stayed at a room named Captivity Jenning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WKP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
How lovely that you had a memorable and happy celebration! We all so enjoyed seeing you here and took pleasure from how joyous this occasion was. We wish you both every happiness in your life together and look forward to seeing you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We really like this place... only problem, most rooms are very different so you may end up in a nicer room or a not so nicer room. My wife and I booked a room with a King size bed. When we arrived they ONLY had a room with two double beds. The room was large and nice but we were disappointed that there was NO way they could give us a room with a king size bed.
Hotel is well kept and breakfast is nice.

Room Tip: CALL a day or two in advance to make sure you get the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fausto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are so very sorry that a room with two queens was the last room available when it was confirmed that you wanted to stay with us, but - good news - we have put in as a permanent note that a king bed is your preference, so now we will always make sure that this is the room type you get. Many apologies again, and we are glad you could enjoy your stay despite that disappointment. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, even though we arrived late and had to leave before 7:30am. Because we would miss breakfast service, the front desk delivered a huge breakfast basket to our room before bedtime which was fabulous.
The setting is also very scenic, and the restaurant is great. The rooms are cozy with heated Floors in the bathrooms.
Overall, it was a great experience! We will definitely recommend the Inn to others.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hooray! We are glad we could get a bit of early breakfast to you before the stary of your long day! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you were happy. That makes us happy, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay at your inn on Friday the14th of March. We had not been to the inn since it was closed after the flood and were delighted to find it even a more wonderful place to stay than it had been. Our room was superb and everyone was so welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast was better or equal to the best breakfast we have had at any inn. The new dining and tavern arrangements are superior. Being older we enjoy the more formal dining area, but we know our children would prefer to have their meal in the tavern. You are making it possible for two generations to be happy with your accommodations. We so enjoyed our stay that we have reservations for a two day stay in May. Deerfield is a community we love to visit - your inn called us back to be regular visitors. Rev. Ken and Dale Boyle.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the Deerfield Inn are excellent. We prefer to stay in the main inn when we stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
You wrote this wonderful review in a letter and then posted it here! We thank you so very much and are happy you had an excellent visit. We are glad you hung in there with us through all the work we had to do to get this old inn open again. 130 years old this July. Come back and celebrate with us then, and we will see you in May. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night and loved everything about it! The room was clean, comfortable with a lot of cute touches (welcome bag of old fashioned candy on the bed, great toiletries etc). We ate dinner at Champney's and the food was fantastic! We unfortunately had to take off before breakfast in the morning but they were nice enough to warm some delicious chocolate croissants for us to go!! I definitely can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Yay! We are so glad you had a happy time staying with us and eating in Champney's. Andrea is a wizard baker - the smell of breakfast pastries is irresistible! ( Shh, but we scramble for those crispy bits that are left on the baking pan once the warm muffins have been lifted out!) Looking forward to welcoming you both back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were greeted by a friendly, helpful employee upon arrival, and shown to our room, which was homey, welcoming and clean. Though the restaurant and bar were closed for the night (we checked in late), the staff offered to bring hot chocolates to our room. A nice stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spacetraveler413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We love cozy and friendly - how very nice to hear that you felt what we feel and hope we convey. We hope you can make you way here again to have a bit more than hot chocolate next time! Thanks for posting - we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
15.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
19.0 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing