We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HAVEN IN A HISTORICAL SETTING”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A HAVEN IN A HISTORICAL SETTING”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This quaint inn set in Historic Deerfield is a must for both lodgings and meals. From the moment one enters a warmth is felt from the roaring fireplace and the engaging employees. The Innkeeper Jane greets everyone as if family. The food in Champney's is very well presented and cooked to perfection. A very varied menu is available to suit every taste. The restaurant manager, Emily, personifies the ideal hostess--she never meets a stranger.Every inn room is different, so that each visit can be a unique experience.

Room Tip: The front desk is always helpful to accomplish this. There really are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review. Your warm words have made our day. We hope that everybody who comes here will come as a friend and never be a stranger to our door. (We give the gold star Emily two thumbs way up as well!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    115
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
235
401
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My daughter and I were visiting Deerfield Academy and had the pleasure of staying at the Deerfield Inn. We only wish we could've arrived earlier in the day to enjoy the warm and comfortable main house. We were in the carriage house and our room could not have been more cozy, clean, comfortable and inviting. Plenty of room for both of us! If she attends DA, you can bet we will be regulars!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
How very nice indeed to hear that you had a sweet stay. We are sorry you couldn't enjoy our hearth and home for longer, too, but next time! And we hope your girl chooses to go right next door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Everyone was very nice and hospitable. The rooms were clean and spacious. We ate at Champney's, which was also lovely...we especially enjoyed pre-dinner drinks on the couch by the fire. The location - in the center of Historical Deerfield - can't be beat if you want to explore the colonial houses and museum. What a quaint, gorgeous little town!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting with us. So very glad to know that you enjoyed your time! I know, isn't it cozy sitting by a fire with something warming in hand while the snowflakes fall?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our two-night stay was delightful. Every person on staff demonstrated excellence, warmth, and cheer, following, no doubt, the example of owner, Jane, who is present, engaged, and made my son and I feel welcome at check-in and throughout our stay. The room was clean (my number one priority), fresh, comfortable, well-outfitted, and quiet. There were loads of little extras that make me smile - a Keurig station with DARK roast coffee, biscuits in the room, loads of fluffy white towels, robes, tea time in the lounge, good magazines by the lounge fireplace, a beautiful breakfast quietly served to a background of classical music … and the setting - an historic village just outside the inn doors - could not be better. This is inn is a treat and a definite return visit for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsawanderfullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Ha ha! We all think you should move in immediately, especially if your son decides to go to school here! How kind of you to write such a sweet posting. We are all wreathed in smiles and feeling good that we could make you and your boy happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a lovely integration of the old and new. Exceptional attention to everything, right down to the smallest detail. The food was good, the bar very cozy and sitting in front of the fire with a house specialty cocktail can't be beat. Our room was lovely - the bed was extremely comfortable. We went in November so there were fewer visitors. That said, visiting the homes/buildings through the village was almost like having a private tour. We loved the Inn from the moment we arrived and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
How lovely to hear how you enjoyed your visit to Deerfield! We are all so delighted! We all try our best all the time and love doing what we do, but things can go askew sometimes because we're human, so how fab to hear we succeeded and made your stay a pleasure and that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We've stayed at many bed-and-breakfast inns, botique inns, small hotels, etc., and the Deerfield Inn is without a doubt at the top of the list! An elegant, gracious setting, delightful ambience, delicious food, and a cheerful, attentive, thoroughly professional staff. Our innkeeper, Jane Howard, was everywhere, checking to make sure things were not only "good," but "perfect." We enjoyed our stay enormously and would heartily recommend the Deerfield Inn to anyone considering a visit to this part of Massachusetts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfordon511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Wow! What a review title! We are so delighted you had such a pleasant experience and felt so good about your stay. One of our new year resolutions here is to keep trying as a team to do our very best, every time, every day. Thank you for your kind words and your support. Best wishes for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, CT USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A first stay at the Deerfield Inn: it is a charming and beautiful place! Clean, comfortable with lovely antiques and lot of thoughtful "personal" touches. The cooked-to-order breakfast was delicious. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. Dinner at Champney's was excellent and while we did not have a reservation we were attended by a wonderfully attentive waitress in the bar area). The complimentary 3 month membership to the Museum was an added (and unexpected) bonus! We will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: The Carriage House (where we stayed), while not part of the main inn was private and quiet: just our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
How lovely to hear you had a peaceful and happy stay with us. We are delighted you won't be a stranger and look forward to welcoming you back. All good 2014 wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
19.0 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
805 reviews
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing