We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked for one night. Got there at 3 pm on nice summer day. Sat on porch to have some wine. So nice that we asked to have dinner served there. Staff was great and we did so. Good room in carriage house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capebob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Wine on the porch on a lovely summer evening! Mmm-mm. My kind of people! Thank you for staying with us, and we hope yo come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 893 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just stayed the last two nights at the Deerfield Inn and I only have praise for the very clean sleeping accommodation, the fabulous food (we had 2 breakfasts which were included, a lunch and dinner) and the wonderful staff, both front desk and waiter/waitresses. Great location for history buffs, and very quiet. Can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

So glad you had a lovely stay. We are all so happy to hear that! This is history buff heaven! Look out for a special called Behind the Scenes at the Museum for the winter when the museum is closed so don't be a stranger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Deerfield Inn is a wonderful place to stay. We just spent three relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable nights here. The king suite was very comfortable, very clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is located in the center of historic Deerfield and your stay includes a three month membership. The inn also serves a very good complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea to its guests. Champney's Tavern and Restaurant serves delicious locally sourced meals in a very pleasant dining room. We will definitely be returning to this delightful inn.

Wes D.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post, and we are all so glad you had an enjoyable visit to Deerfield! It always gives us such pleasure to hear that guests have been happy, so thank you. Hope you won't be strangers and will come on back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was well worth traveling from VT to MA to the Deerfield Inn. We stayed in the Carriage House in a room that had just been remodeled. Lovely, furnishings, clean fresh sheets and quilts and the bathroom had a HEATED FLOOR - that is something you need to experience. Friendly service, great food in Chapney's Restaurant that is in the same building as the Inn. Highly recommend. Touring the historic homes across the street is another perk.

Room Tip: First floor of carriage house, room 157 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are happy you traveled down south to see us and that you had a good visit. Thank you so much for posting your thoughts, and thank you very much for staying here. (A heated bathroom floor is definitely one of the silver linings to a flood disaster! It is fab, isn't it?) Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I went for a last minute overnight; with small kids we'd not gotten away in years! The place has been lovingly restored after flood damage 2011, and has re-opened (thankfully) to welcome young and old. There are two buildings, the original Inn and the coach house (which is pretty large) out back. Due to mishap, we had to switch rooms and were able to see several during transition to new room - they're all lovely. The Inn being situated on a largely pedestrian street surrounded by historic houses give the feeling of getaway that we crave, and being able to have meals at the inn rather than drive elsewhere is an added bonus (note: they even have tea and cookies in the afternoon!) Kudos to (Saint) Helen, who cared for us like her own during our stay, despite a few bumps - and for Jane the Innkeeper, who simply could not have been kinder or more gracious than she was! We will surely look forward to visiting again (eventually!)

Room Tip: My preference is the Inn location, since the coach house is next to the service area out behind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenl372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing to spend your precious getaway time with us. We are so happy you felt you had the opportunity to relax a bit, despite some unexpected bumps. (Hate those bumps that sometimes just come at you from nowhere!) It seems you are not from so far away, so pop on back when you can. On 11/9 and 12/9, you can stay for $9 if you make a $100 donation to The Food Bank!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Travel back into the 17th century in Old Deerfield, and wrap yourself in the ambience of the Deerfield Inn. You will find the tastefully decorated inn accomodating to your relaxation. Our room was large and comfortable, and very relaxing. Friendliness and cleanliness are good adjectives here, also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review, and thank you for staying with us. Your choice of adjectives made us all very happy! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The "Lawyer Strong" room was great; spacious bed and modern amenities. Bathroom was well-lit, shower was comfortably large, and the A/C was able to make the room frigid. The Wi-Fi signal was more than enough. The room is well-decorated and you definitely get the sense the building is historic. Breakfast was GREAT. The Eggs Benedict was perfectly cooked and our waitress was cheerful and very helpful. Coffee was strong and tasty.

Let me be clear - if you are planning a trip to Northampton, Deerfield, or even just the Yankee Candle emporium - You MUST book here. I booked this for my first anniversary with my wife and it was a smash hit. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Choose the Lawyer Strong Room, which has a beautiful king bed. It is room 160. The A/C was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Congratulations on your anniversary, and thank you so much for choosing to spend it with us. We are all glad you had a lovely getaway, and we hope you won't be a stranger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
476 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 4 in Northampton
455 reviews
16.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Northampton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range: $200 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. The Inn is located within walking distance of Deerfield Acadamy, Eaglebrook Scool and Bement school. It is close to the Amherst five college area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing