We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean room, helpful staff and lovely breakfast basket in the morning.”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice, clean room, helpful staff and lovely breakfast basket in the morning.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Would stay here again. The room was very clean and nicely decorated and even though the restaurant/bar was closed for remodeling they gave us a lovely breakfast basket with juice/muffins/fruit/yogurt the next morning. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your posting and for making us feel we are on the right track as we complete the restoration. We hope you keep your promise and come back to see us again when we are full service inn once more! It gives us such encouragement to know you had a happy stay and that when the rest of the inn is open again we will be giving people more of what they like already. Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    118
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
236
407
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rooms are wonderful-comfortable, elegant, with all the offerings you look for in an upscale hotel, combined with the old-world feel of a historic inn.Service is top-notch and breakfast is delivered to door in morning while main inn is under renovation from storm last fall. Staff is warm and very friendly and can give lots of advice for activities and wonderful restaurants in the area. Deerfield Inn is an escape that you can enjoy any time of the year, with biking and hiking nearby as well as historic homes to tour down the street and New England towns to explore on your way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for writing a super terrific review for us. We are all so glad that you had an enjoyable visit and felt cared for and content. It makes all of us feel so good to know that the work we do is appreciated, and we thank you for taking the time to put such a big smile on our faces. Do please come back and see the remainder of the restoration in 2013!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first experience of a New England Inn. We knew that the main Inn was closed due to refurbishment so we stayed in the historic carriage house. The decor and furnishings are tasteful and pretty in keeping with the age of the Inn and its locality, yet our beautiful room was fully equipped with all 21st century comforts for our stay.The staff (Helen during our stay) are friendly and helpful - thank-you for your dining recommendation!
Breakfast was served in a delightful basket -the yoghurt was exceptionally tasty.

The whole ambience of historic Deerfield is one of calm contentment - this is reflected in the Deerfield Inn. The impressionwe gained is one of a whole town working together to invite guests to share in a priveleged moment of time discovering the inspiring history and the unique loveliness that is Deerfield. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your super nice words. We are so proud, we want to post your review on our website! We are so delighted that your choice of words reflect so exactly what we feel about this special village. We love it when we know we have been able to have guests experience what we hope for them, and know they have felt the loveliness that is Deerfield. And PS we think Helen is awesome, too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I highly recommend a stay at the Deerfield Inn. I stayed in the Carriage House as the Inn is still in restoration mode from hurricane Irene's damage. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet, and truly New England. The added touches, a continental breakfast basket, the vase with roses, and the accomodating staff made my visit one I will remember always. I'm planning to return next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are well located and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are all so glad you enjoyed our stay here. We have posted your comments on the staff board to give us a smile every time we walk by. We will enjoy welcoming you back next year when we will be back in full flood (lol). We promise it will be worth the wait.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great stay. Nice room, comfortable bed and a nice breakfast brought to our door. Great location for our visit to Deerfield Academy. We look forward to returning, especially in the spring when the remainder of the Inn is re-opened.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you visited next door at DA. We look forward to seeing you here again in 2013 when we are fully restored after Irene, so you can enjoy the inn in its entirety! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - we so appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I intended to go out for dinner after checking in, but the bed was so comfortable after a long day of driving and exploring, that I decided not to leave the room. I loved the breakfast basket left at my door the following morning, (the cinnamon bun was still warm!) and the fresh flowers were a nice touch. I loved the "green" toiletries and would definitely recommend this inn again. I also received a free ticket to access Historic Deerfield which was great too.

Room Tip: I had a wonder corner room in the Carriage House that was quiet, roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are so glad you were comfy and rested after your long journey. Thank you for posting a review - we always hope there will be a breakfast pastry or two left over so we can nibble, too, but no luck so far! Hope your travels bring you back this way next year when you will be able to enjoy a quick bite in Champney's tavern before your sweet dreams!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This inn was very pleasant and my trip there was great! The breakfast basket I received outside the door in the morning was a nice addition to the fantastic service you already receive. Overall, I'd recommend going.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, amd thank you for posting a review. Do come back and see us when we are a full service country inn once more. Breakfast in bed will be even better once we have our own kitchen up and running once more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
816 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing