We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deerfield Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An absolute treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first experience of a New England Inn. We knew that the main Inn was closed due to refurbishment so we stayed in the historic carriage house. The decor and furnishings are tasteful and pretty in keeping with the age of the Inn and its locality, yet our beautiful room was fully equipped with all 21st century comforts for our stay.The staff (Helen during our stay) are friendly and helpful - thank-you for your dining recommendation!
Breakfast was served in a delightful basket -the yoghurt was exceptionally tasty.

The whole ambience of historic Deerfield is one of calm contentment - this is reflected in the Deerfield Inn. The impressionwe gained is one of a whole town working together to invite guests to share in a priveleged moment of time discovering the inspiring history and the unique loveliness that is Deerfield. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your super nice words. We are so proud, we want to post your review on our website! We are so delighted that your choice of words reflect so exactly what we feel about this special village. We love it when we know we have been able to have guests experience what we hope for them, and know they have felt the loveliness that is Deerfield. And PS we think Helen is awesome, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    112
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
225
391
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I highly recommend a stay at the Deerfield Inn. I stayed in the Carriage House as the Inn is still in restoration mode from hurricane Irene's damage. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet, and truly New England. The added touches, a continental breakfast basket, the vase with roses, and the accomodating staff made my visit one I will remember always. I'm planning to return next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are well located and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are all so glad you enjoyed our stay here. We have posted your comments on the staff board to give us a smile every time we walk by. We will enjoy welcoming you back next year when we will be back in full flood (lol). We promise it will be worth the wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great stay. Nice room, comfortable bed and a nice breakfast brought to our door. Great location for our visit to Deerfield Academy. We look forward to returning, especially in the spring when the remainder of the Inn is re-opened.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you visited next door at DA. We look forward to seeing you here again in 2013 when we are fully restored after Irene, so you can enjoy the inn in its entirety! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review - we so appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I intended to go out for dinner after checking in, but the bed was so comfortable after a long day of driving and exploring, that I decided not to leave the room. I loved the breakfast basket left at my door the following morning, (the cinnamon bun was still warm!) and the fresh flowers were a nice touch. I loved the "green" toiletries and would definitely recommend this inn again. I also received a free ticket to access Historic Deerfield which was great too.

Room Tip: I had a wonder corner room in the Carriage House that was quiet, roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are so glad you were comfy and rested after your long journey. Thank you for posting a review - we always hope there will be a breakfast pastry or two left over so we can nibble, too, but no luck so far! Hope your travels bring you back this way next year when you will be able to enjoy a quick bite in Champney's tavern before your sweet dreams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This inn was very pleasant and my trip there was great! The breakfast basket I received outside the door in the morning was a nice addition to the fantastic service you already receive. Overall, I'd recommend going.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenryanrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, amd thank you for posting a review. Do come back and see us when we are a full service country inn once more. Breakfast in bed will be even better once we have our own kitchen up and running once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Deerfield Inn was a pleasant surprise. We can' t wait for the historic portion to reopen in 2013 to try it again. The room we stayed in was very nice and the staff we met were very accomidating by preparing us a "Grab & Go" breakfast for our early morning departure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We look forward to seeing you next year, too. It has seemed like such an age working on this project, but we know once we are back open it will be worth all the meetings, confabs, building codes, blue prints, and schematics. It will be good as well to get the rest of the inn full of love, life, and laughter, not just the carriage house, so the spirit and joy of this entire old property can return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We scheduled a two-night anniversary trip stay here because it was on our travel route and had nice reviews. Before arriving, we were a little anxious about what the Carriage House accomodations would be like. We needed not worry. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff and hosts were very friendly and accomodating on a couple of special needs, and made great recommendations for dining. The complimentary tickets to Historic Deerfield sites was a nice touch, too. We were most pleased with our stay in this tranquil little town and this lovely inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are so glad that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay here and had an enjoyable and relaxing time while celebrating your anniversary! Many congratulations on that special occasion, and we hope we see you here again for another anniversary so you can toast each other in our lovely restaurant once we are back up and fully restored! Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate that very much indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
15.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
5.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
#1 of 1 in South Deerfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. The disasters went, but the guests stayed for "the atmosphere and charm of early days, with modern comfort and convenience" with breakfast starting at 30¢ and a room with running water from $1.50. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing