We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable bed....EVER!”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I intended to go out for dinner after checking in, but the bed was so comfortable after a long day of driving and exploring, that I decided not to leave the room. I loved the breakfast basket left at my door the following morning, (the cinnamon bun was still warm!) and the fresh flowers were a nice touch. I loved the "green" toiletries and would definitely recommend this inn again. I also received a free ticket to access Historic Deerfield which was great too.

Room Tip: I had a wonder corner room in the Carriage House that was quiet, roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We are so glad you were comfy and rested after your long journey. Thank you for posting a review - we always hope there will be a breakfast pastry or two left over so we can nibble, too, but no luck so far! Hope your travels bring you back this way next year when you will be able to enjoy a quick bite in Champney's tavern before your sweet dreams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 870 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

This inn was very pleasant and my trip there was great! The breakfast basket I received outside the door in the morning was a nice addition to the fantastic service you already receive. Overall, I'd recommend going.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenryanrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Owner at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, amd thank you for posting a review. Do come back and see us when we are a full service country inn once more. Breakfast in bed will be even better once we have our own kitchen up and running once more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Deerfield Inn was a pleasant surprise. We can' t wait for the historic portion to reopen in 2013 to try it again. The room we stayed in was very nice and the staff we met were very accomidating by preparing us a "Grab & Go" breakfast for our early morning departure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We look forward to seeing you next year, too. It has seemed like such an age working on this project, but we know once we are back open it will be worth all the meetings, confabs, building codes, blue prints, and schematics. It will be good as well to get the rest of the inn full of love, life, and laughter, not just the carriage house, so the spirit and joy of this entire old property can return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We scheduled a two-night anniversary trip stay here because it was on our travel route and had nice reviews. Before arriving, we were a little anxious about what the Carriage House accomodations would be like. We needed not worry. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff and hosts were very friendly and accomodating on a couple of special needs, and made great recommendations for dining. The complimentary tickets to Historic Deerfield sites was a nice touch, too. We were most pleased with our stay in this tranquil little town and this lovely inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are so glad that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay here and had an enjoyable and relaxing time while celebrating your anniversary! Many congratulations on that special occasion, and we hope we see you here again for another anniversary so you can toast each other in our lovely restaurant once we are back up and fully restored! Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate that very much indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed there for a couple of days when I had to drop my daughter off to Deerfield Academy. It is a small nice carriage house. The rooms are very clean and the furniture and linens of the rooms are beautiful. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed but we had a nice basket for breakfast every morning and a coffee machine available all day.
The owner of the hotel is a wonderful lady who is on top of things there. The only thing is that you need to have a car there in order to move around and get some nice dining in the cities around.
I do recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Deerfield.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAKJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are glad you were happy to be here. It is true that we are off the beaten path here in Deerfield, and while that is great for peace and serenity, it is not so good while our restaurant is being restored if you are without a car and are hungry! We hope you will be able to come back next year to see all that we have accomplished. We wanted to keep the bones and character of this old property in tact and still comply with current code, so the restoration has been time consuming, but we think it will all be worth the wait!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Deerfield Inn before the hurricane damage. It was definitely a five star stay. When we recently returned to the area for a cycling event we stayed at the carriage house because the inn is still being renovated. The room was very clean, but aside from a few pieces of very nice furniture, it lacked character. It could have been any Holiday Inn. It was well over priced for what it was. The people were friendly, though there isn't any service to speak of. Breakfast is delivered in a little basket to your doorstep. It consists of a muffin, yogurt and some juice. There is a coffee maker in the hallway but that is it. When the inn reopens the adjoining tavern should take care of that. The location is excellent. It is in the center of historic and beautiful Deerfield. We will give the inn another shot when it reopens but we wouldn't stay in the carriage house again.

I understand they are going through a challenging time but I do hope the actual inn will not be restored in the same style. That would be very sad.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverdiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Sorry you were not completely happy with your stay. It will take time, I think, for the carriage house to redevelop the character you find missing. It is hard starting out again with the spirit that gets imbued in lived-in houses having fled, and when everything is new it is true that there is that freshness of the ingenue who has not yet settled in to being a well-established player with the experience needed for a depth of character. I think that will come more and more as time goes by. We still care about our performance just as much! And for other TA readers out there, our breakfast pastries change every day and arrive each morning still warm and yummy from 2nd Street Bakery, and for the time being we are what we are - a B&B with no kitchen, no proper front desk, the minimum staff, and fresh juice, piece of local fruit, and a tub of local yogurt to your bedroom door, while the rest of the inn is restored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My friend and I were pleased that the carriage house has been reopened after Irene's flooding. We had wanted for some time to spend a few days exploring Historic Deerfield. The cost was reasonable and the room delightful. Terry cloth bathrobes were in the closet for our use and the bath towels oversized. A fresh pitcher of ice water was in our room each day with coffee and tea available in the hall. Since the dining hall has not reopened yet, a basket of breakfast items was brought to our door each morning at 8AM. Our tour tickets were included with our stay at the Inn. We plan to return when renovations are complete and hope a tour of the Inn will be included.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

How lovely that you took the time to write about your visit! Thank you so much. We like those chamois robes, too, especially as they are made from recycled materials, which is hard to believe when they are so soft and cozy! We will be so delighted to see you when we open the main inn again, and will be proud to give you a tour of the new kitchen, restaurant, and the Relaxing Room for massages! See you in the spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range: $200 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. The Inn is located within walking distance of Deerfield Acadamy, Eaglebrook Scool and Bement school. It is close to the Amherst five college area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing