We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Innkeepers were exceptionally accomodating”
Review of Deerfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deerfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was picking my daughter up at a camp in Canada and thought I could make it Deerfield (about halfway to my home) by night fall. Well, it took us longer to get started than we thought, and I realized we were going to be very, very late. We called from the road about 9:00pm and told them we were still at least three hours from their Inn. I felt bad, because I know that Inns are not like chain hotels, where there is a night crew awake and on duty at all hours. Anyway, the Innkeeper was exceptionally nice and arranged everything for our very late arrival (turned out to be 1:30am!). The room (not that we spent much time enjoying it before falling asleep) was quite large, very tastefully appointed, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delivered to our door. Overall, I was impressed with the effort they made at this charming Inn. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Not at all - I am glad we were able to make it all work for you so you and your daughter could get a good night's sleep at the end of a very long day. It was our pleasure. Come and see us again the next time you are looking for a halfway spot as we would love to welcome you back and have you enjoy this village and the inn for a little longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 870 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were visiting Deerfield to attend summer activities at Deerfield Academy and wanted to see some of the Historic Deerfield while there. we could not have picked a better location as the Deerfield Inn is adjacent to both and within easy walking distance. At first we were disappointed that the Historic Inn was closed for renovations but then discovered the Carriage House was available - we were able to get the King Room at a very reasonable price which included a breakfast basket. While the basket was vey welcome - it did not really feel like a Bed & Breakfast experience. Although some might like the privacy of having breakfast in bed. The basket consisted of 2 muffins, 2 fruit cups, 2 yogurts and 2 cups of OJ...and styrafoam plates & plastic utensils. Individual portions of coffee were provided to be placed in the coffee machine at the end of the hall. Not great but a good accomadation while the Inn is being renovated.
The room itself was very nice with interesting furniture & decor modeling the historic area and a nice King bed. We did have an issue with the TV as the remote & tv could not be taken off of the annoying Shopping Network channel - we were later advised that that has been a problem with people changing the settings!!?? Anyway we were not there to watch TV...The Inn provided several discount coupons which were great - we got 2 free passes to all of the Museums at the Historic Deerfield for the day - super. Also coupons for free drinks & discounts at the museum gift shop...a good deal...So if you are in Deerfield to visit the Academy or the Historic District - the Deerfield inn is the spot to go - even if its the Carriage House.

Room Tip: go for the King superior room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaratogaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for writing such a detailed and thoughtful review. I think it will be really helpful to other travelers to this Happy Valley who are trying to make a choice of where to stay. We will be glad when we are fully open again and can add to the breakfast experience with other choices from the kitchen. We try to be as green as possible, so the breakfast basket cutlery and containers are all of recyclable cornstarch, and we compost all that we can.
I do apologize about the television. We had a photographer here taking pictures of the renovation to date, and it was completely my fault for failing to reset the tv as I did not know she had unplugged it. :( Thank you for being so decent about my oversight, and we hope to be able to welcome you back when the restoration is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Inn. It was hot when we arrived and the thermos of ice cold water in our room was a real treat when we arrived. Our room, recently renovated in the wake of hurricane Irene, was beautiful. When we had some trouble with the air conditioning, we were instantly and effortlessly and instantly moved to yet another beautiful room. All of your staff were helpful, polite, and the Inn is managed beautifully.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckThorn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

So sorry about the AC glitch. Renovation teething problems, but we got it sorted out! Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we all really appreciate your comments and we post these reviews to give us a smile and sustain us if we are in need of a pick-me-up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our stay at the Deerfield Inn was a wonderful experience. The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The staff was very pleasant and went above and beyond to answer our questions about local attractions. They were very accommodating and check in was a breeze. The breakfast basket and lunch cart (temporary meal options while the main building is being repaired after hurricaine damage) were very pleasing. We would love to stay there again and we will recommend the inn to our friends and family for sure!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for visiting with us, and we are happy that you enjoyed being here. We are glad you could get a bite to eat at The Lunch Box, and when we reopen and have our kitchen back, we will have yummy breakfast entrees as well as a continental that will be part of your stay. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The renovated room was clean, very comfortable, and a respite from a very long trip. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We are glad, too. We have been missing the love and laughter that imbues this property and are happy to have a portion of it back. More to come! It will be worth the wait...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Despite the renovations, the Deerfield Inn is still a wonderful place to spend time in an idyllic setting. I have been staying at the Inn since the late 1970s so I am always pained when something happens to her but the renovations, staff and amenities are exceptional. I look forward to retuning to the Inn when all of the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: As close to the wonders of Old Deerfield as you can possible get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCSBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Wow - you have been coming here for longer than we have! We are only 26 years since the 1980s! It is a special place and we love it, too. Thank you for hanging in there with us as we restore this property to its full beauty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Kathy and I really enjoyed your Hospitallity during our stay with you this past week , after traveling through the New England states this past week our stop over with you was both very relaxing and informing .

Room Tip: Room on the second Floor rear was both quiet and less morning sun for later sleep ins !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shivdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphneanne, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the carriage house at the end of your New England travels. We hope to welcome you back home again when we are fully open!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
13.2 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
11.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
471 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Address: 81 Old Main St, Deerfield, MA 01342-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Deerfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deerfield
Price Range: $200 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deerfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deerfield Inn first opened in July 1884 while both a drought and grasshoppers were plaguing the village. Today we have 24 comfortable and pleasing guestrooms and farm-to-fork Champney's Restaurant & Tavern. We source locally, make our own infusions, support area microbrewers, and in our 131st year we remain the centerpiece of Old Deerfield, a National Historic Landmark, and a Select Registry Property. The Inn is located within walking distance of Deerfield Acadamy, Eaglebrook Scool and Bement school. It is close to the Amherst five college area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Deerfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Deerfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing