We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dedham
Raleigh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not up to my expectations”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I was on a mission trip with my church and we were doing the mission trip in boston and so our hotel for the amount of time we were there was this Fairfeild Inn by Marriott. I was not pleased upon pulling up after a long day of driving. The propertie looked like a motel instead of a marriott property. The room was clean and nice which was a plus but this hotel is one of the most confusing I have ever been in. I got turned around and losted several times. They have so many door and turns that it is crazy. One night as the group was in their rooms some of our group which happened to be women they were sleeping and they heard the door open as if someone inserted the key in and opened the door and they were right and it was an african american man that was a secerity gaurd and he just let himself in the room and that scared the woman and they were talking about what had happend and it seemed to me that that was just weird and that the staff and should not be doing that in guest rooms. He did not knock and state who he was or anything! The beakfast was very good and filling. The business center was great and was fun to have. Please take not we were there for seven nights 8 days and the housekeeping staff alaways cleaned the room extremly well but never left enough linens eve though asked and in more of our group rooms they did not clean well. This hotel just need's some help in all areas and if ever in the area please pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    73
    55
    40
    26
See reviews for
61
41
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was OK on just about all counts. Room was clean and quiet. It's an older hotel but has been well maintained. The gym is a joke (one treadmill, weight machine, no free weights). The free breakfast is exactly like every other free breakfast at Courtyards, HI Express, etc. Good location -- easy to get into Boston, huge mall right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May0rQuimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

There was nothing special about this hotel.lower level had a bad smell in the hallway,rooms were clean but small it.was just another for Fairfield Inn hotel. if I was ever in the area again I would pick another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Enjoyed our three night stay here despite inconsistent wifi for two days which was finally fixed for our third day. Front desk folks and duty manager were great and strived to make us welcome. The wifi maintenance guy was there a few times fixing the problem; the front desk understood the criticality of continuous internet provision for their guests. Rooms were very clean and comfortable; looks like the place has been refurbished. No outside noise altho located close to freeway; a little inside noise from next room. Breakfast was typical; I'm starting to love those microwave sausage, egg and biscuit. Breakfast lady was super helpful with the fresh waffle machine. Location of hotel was excellent with Whole Foods and other dining plus shopping options just across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solyluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

pros:

1) outstanding customer service; provided me an upgrade to a suite
2) location; walk to the mall/town center across the street for many restaurant choices
3) price; Boston is NOT cheap and Dedham is close enough to town if you don't mind driving
4) free breakfast is decent

cons:

1) as a franchise of Marriott, the standards are WAY below what you can expect from any of the other brands
2) rooms are not very big. suites are a much better deal but only have one King and a sleeper sofa which nobody will really be thrilled to sleep on.
3) bathrooms are pretty dated. not a fan of slow drains but experienced this in the guest room and the suite
4) pool is from the 60's. outdoor only and sketch at best. not open til this weekend but not sure we would have wanted to use it anyway
5) no reciprocity with the Residence Inn next door for their facilities due to franchise status
6) beds are pretty firm, check that...HARD!

OVERALL:

a value for the money. on a college tour of New England and prefer to not spend a bunch of $$ for a place to sleep. I'd recommend this place largely due to the staff that is top notch. that, and I got my Rewards points!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtbasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We were two teachers chaperoning 10 high school students for 2 days, looking for an affordable but safe location to spend the night. We read the reviews on Tripadvisor and thought this was what we were looking for, and we were not disappointed. With such affordable prices, it was easy to overlook the small rooms and maze-like corridors; the service at the front desk was outstanding and they really went above and beyond what we would have expected. My primary concerns were: safe, affordable, and no bed bugs. All priorities were met!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have stayed here 2 times in the last 2 weeks for business it this is by far the best Fairfield Inn i have used. Great customer service, very high quality in terms of cleanliness, the rooms are well appointed, the location is superb if you don't need to go into Boston, great restaurants and shops within 3 mins...well worth the price. Only change they could make is perhaps new doors...but overall, i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrydonilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
0.5 mi away
Hilton Boston Dedham
Hilton Boston Dedham
#1 of 4 in Dedham
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Dedham Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Dedham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston-Norwood
3.8 mi away
The Four Points by Sheraton Norwood Hotel & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Canton, MA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham

Property: Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham
Address: 235 Elm St, Dedham, MA 02026-4528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Dedham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dedham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Boston Dedham Hotel Dedham
Fairfield Inn Dedham
Fairfield Dedham
Dedham Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing