We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice updated facility with excellent service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice updated facility with excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 Bedroom/BR loft with a nice kitchen, common living space and working fireplace. Service was prompt and courteous. Called down for ice and manager brought it up himself. Very nice restaurants nearby with easy access to highway. Approx 20 min from downtown Boston and 15 min from Salem MA

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I will share them with the team. We truly appreciate and value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
33
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights while one of my brothers was hospitalized. The room was a very nice size - about 400+ SF- and had a full kitchen, a king size bed and a sofabed. However, do not plan on using the sofabed. The mattress is awful - the springs poke into you at night no matter what you try to do. If you're driving here, consider bringing your own mattress pad!

The room has a very spacious feel but as someone else pointed out, the toilet/shower room is ridiculously small. My mom and I are small women but even we could barely navigate the toilet and shower. I would hate to see anyone over 160lbs trying to fit in there! really, it is that bad.

The breakfast was included and is very good, a nice selection of hot and cold food. In the room, we used the coffee but they did not resupply the dry cream and sugar or the popcorn. We also did not get a sheet for the awful sofabed one night. We discovered our phone did not work when we went to call for the sheet and they never fixed the phone during our stay although we reported it to them.

The staff is incredibly helpful but the cleaning people don't speak any English, which was an issue when the maid came to the room. We eventually got through it but it was tough.

Additionally, they checked out my brother instead of me when he left a day earlier. They corrected the problem but I only discovered it when I happened to look at my reservation online to extend it - only to discover I was checked out! The fact that they would let a man check out of a room billed in a woman's name is a bit distressing, even if the last names are the same. As I said, they fixed it but it really should not have happened in the first place.

We were on the first level and I found a few bugs in the room. I can't be much of a germaphobe because of all my travel, but I wiped the room down thoroughly as usual and if given the chance would have purchased bug spray.

If you're not familiar with the area, it is difficult to find. Look for Costco and turn in early. All the lots are connected so you can wind your way through instead of missing it.

Overall, the hotel is fine. It served its purpose and I would stay here again, but just bring some reinforcements like a mattress pad, my own cream for coffee, big spray, and diet pills for that tiny bathroom!

Room Tip: We didn't hear a thing from outside but I would probably stay upstairs next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SundayRiver2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at the hotel. Our goal is to meet and exceed your expectations and it seems in this case we have some work to do. I have reviewed your comments with the team and have taken corrective action. I look forward to your return visit when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights from Sept. 8-11. We enjoyed the extra room that the Residence Inn afforded, especially the refrigerator, sofa, etc. Our room, 714, had a nice LG TV. It was probably a 40-in. TV and not only was it a nice flat screen, but they had HD programming. I have been in many nice places that had flat screen TVs, but did not have HD programming. That was big for me, although I didn't spend hours in front of the TV. It was nice to have the same type of picture that I have at home. The bed was very good. I liked it a lot. Our room was on the north side of the complex, nearest to the interchange of U.S. 1 and Route 114, but I heard no road noise, although I am a pretty heavy sleeper. The only issue I have with the room is the toilet/shower room and the fact that there was just one sink. We got around the one sink issue OK, but the toilet/shower room is just WAY too small. The toilet is low and an old-style round bowl. I am a big guy and this was an issue. Let's just leave it at that. The breakfast was also very good, the best breakfast I've had where it was included with the room rate. We also took advantage of the evening meal/snack one night. It was nothing more than a beef-a-roni type meal, but it didn't cost a thing! There is a Costco literally next door and we are members, so we were able to get gas for our rental car there, along with a couple of other things we needed. Just heed what others have said about passing this place. It will take a while to get back due to the median barriers along U.S. 1. Overall, this is a good place to stay, especially if you are in the area for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apopkaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintondale, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked a two bedroom suite at the Danvers MA Residence Inn. On check in we were assigned a "penthouse suite". It was really one space with beds in different areas - no privacy. Both the website and central reservations indicated it was two rooms with doors. While the hotel did comp a night and searched other area Marriott's in the end we didn't we didn't get a two bedroom suite. Breakfast was good, evening snack was sad. Tough location accessible only on northbound Rt. 1 behind a Costco.

The staff was pleasant in all respects and the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HVGunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am sorry that the two bedroom suite with doors was not available for your stay. I know it can be frustating when you need the privacy doors and all we have are the two bedrooms without doors. I am also sorry that our light dinner did not meet with your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at teh Residence Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Standard extended stay hotel with very helpful staff and decent breakfast. Difficult to find, but we know the place and have stayed here a number of times. Hotel being renovated. Pool a bit small, but enough for my needs.

Room Tip: Difficult to find, but we know the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StlmanChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a birthday celebration, traveling over 100 miles after 11:00 PM was not going to happen. A late check in was arranged with the reservation. Check-in was quick but imagine my surprise when 1. I did not get the first floor room requested. 2. The keys to the room did not work. 3. Someone else was already in the room because it was double-booked. Due to a convention there was only 1 room left. It only had a double bed instead of the king that was reserved. So why did I give such a high rating? The room was wonderful. Spacious, clean, and well appointed it truly felt like coming home as opposed to your typical hotel room.

When checking out I heard the following words "We are terribly sorry for your inconvenience. There will be no charge for the room". ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!!! The night manager John had commented on finding a way to compensate for the mix-ups. I realized that "THINGS HAPPEN" and expected I would be offered a reduced rate. This was totally unexpected. Furthermore the staff seemed to truly care that things had not lived up to their expectations. Long story short, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends. As a natter of fact I have already told several of my friends and co-workers of my adventure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDragoncop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I am sorry for your difficulty late at night with your check in. Our goal is to exceed your expectations. I am delighted that it was a happy ending. I do hope you will stay with us if you come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
219 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Last year, this hotel was under total renovation yet they still served us well. This year the renovation made a big difference, the rooms are brighter, the kitchen facilities are grand.The management has always been affable and professional, they still are. Housekeeping receives a hearty well done, the facilities are clean. We had a comfortable room....
Previous visits had us on the upper floor. This year we were on the ground floor. The noise dampening needs strengthening, the cordial family above us had an active (good thing!) toddler, unfortunately we heard all the running and romping. So I recommend a second floor apartment.
The furniture was worn, our bed was comfortable but the dresser, couch, & easy chair were recycled.Additionally we had only one chair for the dining banquette. The front desk staffer was unable to provide an additional chair. We were still comfortable, yet improvements could help here.
Our room 314 was abeam the much used but to me irritating smoking area. I guess we have to tolerate this incorrigible habit but the smokers do not seem to care about the other guests.
The hotel is a good value, the complimentary breakfast is quite appreciated. Again the management is highly proficient, we enjoyed our stay. Your location is quite convenient for the North Shore. Access from Route One is fine once you learn the technique of exiting the highway.My brickbats of above are meant to help the hotel as I will definitely stay here if in the area again. Overall an A Plus for the Marriott team especially Housekeeping.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keydet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryellen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
So sorry that the noise from the above occupants disturbed you during your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. The guest response to the renovation has been outstanding. We truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danvers
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
0.8 mi away
North Shore Hotel
North Shore Hotel
#2 of 9 in Danvers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
2.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers

Property: Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers
Address: 51 Newbury St, Danvers, MA 01923-1014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Please note directions to the hotel when on Rte. 1 North (follow carefully as the hotel is behind TGIFriday's): After the COSTCO Warehouse entrance, TURN RIGHT BEFORE TGI Friday's. Bypass TGIFriday's driveway and at the STOP sign TURN LEFT and follow road into the hotel driveway. The hotel is located behind TGIFriday's. If you see the turn for Rte. 114, this means you have just missed the driveway. At that point, take Rte. 114 West, turn around and get onto Rte. 1 South and take the Lowell Street exit (about 2 miles down on right). Turn right off Lowell Street exit and go back up onto Rte. 1 North and follow the above directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston North Shore/Danvers Hotel Danvers
Residence Inn Danvers
Danvers Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing