We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, but kinda disguisting”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of North Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Affordable, but kinda disguisting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff is terrific! But the only room available was a smoking room (didn't know those still existed). When I woke up and opened the curtains, I realized there were cigarette burns all over the bedspread. Yuck. Had to check out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    152
    56
    20
    14
See reviews for
135
130
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Pretty much your typical budget hotel. It's pretty much no frills and slightly outdated, but it is affordable, clean and in a great location (short drive to both Salem and Boston). The breakfast was average, but saved us money since it was included, so we wouldn't complain. Overall it was clean, staff were friendly and the location fit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay here this last week. The room was quiet, roomy, and very clean. The beds were the most comfortable of any we slept on in our week traveling Maine and Massachusetts. The price was as reasonable as any of the other places we stayed and we probably got more value from this hotel. The breakfast was the usual hotel complimentary fare and the coffee was good and always available. Benjamin at the from desk was especially friendly and helpful. The rest of the staff were courteous and helpful also. One down side of this place is there isn't much nearby for restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay here a few days ago. The room was spacious, very clean, bed very comfortable, and we were in a quiet location. The complimentary breakfast was very good! I had concerns about the allowance of dogs, but only heard a couple barks in the morning hours, so okay. Bathrooms could use an upgrade, but not a deal breaker. Pool was small and over crowded, but also not a deal breaker. Price was higher than we would normally pay for a room, but that whole MA area seemed that way. Friendly staff, comfortable, quiet gives this place an overall good review from us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We haven't stayed in comfort suites for awhile because we've been disappointed. Big rooms, comfy bed and pillows. Clean. Not a lot of tv stations but ok. Breakfast was typical. And the coupon made it worthwhile. It was close to salem and restaurants/grocery stores.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TC c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice place to stay and the rates were good. Reserved online for two night stay. Breakfasts were very good and rooms were fantastic. Front desk personnel were good. Nice to have the two computers in the lobby as we had been on the road for over a week and we could check emails and get directions, etc. Convenient location but Rt. 1 is a bit confusing to get off and on of, especially at night and being new to the area.

Room Tip: Stayed on 5th floor at the end of the hall and found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

When we first arrived at this hotel, I was pretty apprehensive. There was a lot of trash in the parking lot (the trash receptacles in the lot were overflowing and there were bottles in various places no where near the trash receptacles). The rooms were a bit outdated and really in need of an update. The first room we were given had a fresh, wet, brown stain on the carpet (which we were optimistically hoping was chocolate). The front desk was very accommodating and gave us another room. The second room had what I referred to as a "mystery stain" on the carpet, but at least it was an old/dry stain. The room was very basic, and other than the carpet stain, seemed clean and smelled fresh. The shower was nice, with good water pressure and temperature. There was a decent sized refrigerator and a small microwave, as well as a small coffee maker in the room. The free breakfast was very good, with a variety of selections and plenty of food available. There was coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available at all times in the lobby. The lobby had cute decorations for Halloween and the front desk staff was quick and efficient. The hotel was pretty quiet at night. The room did not get very dark, though, and I had a bit of trouble sleeping. I found the bed comfortable, despite other reviews I read on this site. I would say this hotel would be a fine choice for anyone who is just looking for somewhere basic to sleep after a day of sightseeing or other activities. We traveled with our two small dogs, and found it a good place to stay with them-- there was plenty of room to walk them outside. One thing I would caution people about, though, is there is a pretty steep hill from the hotel to the parking lot. There is handicapped parking available on level ground right next to the hotel entrance, but the rest of the parking requires a walk up/down a fairly steep hill. You have to walk down from the parking lot to get to the hotel, and climb up to the parking lot when leaving the hotel. There are concrete steps with a railing, or you can just walk the hill. If anyone with mobility issues is in your group, you will have to bring the car down to them, unless you have a handicapped sticker/plate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillyyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danvers
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
5.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Hotel

Property: North Shore Hotel
Address: 50 Dayton St, Danvers, MA 01923-1018 (Formerly Comfort Inn North Shore)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Shore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Shore Hotel is conveniently located just 15 miles north of Boston and seven miles from historic Salem. This Danvers, MA hotel in the Greater Boston area is near scenic Rockport & Gloucester, Salem State College, Gordon College, Endicott College, the Salem Witch Museum, the Peabody Essex Museum, the New England Aquarium and the Museum of Science, Boston. Additional points of interest include: •Bunker Hill Monument, a Boston National Historical Park site •Hammond Castle Museum •Salem Wax Museum •Salisbury Beach State Reservation •Cape Ann Whale Watch This Greater Boston area hotel is only minutes from the seacoast and mountains. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Shore Hotel Danvers
North Shore Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn North Shore Danvers
Comfort Inn Danvers
Danvers Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing