We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of North Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
North Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Easy to find, especially with the signs from the highway! Very clean, room was extremely spacious! The breakfast was so good, loved the waffles, the best part! Very clean, extra towels and pillows were a great touch. The location was a 10 minute drive to Salem and all of the touristy stuff. Easy to get to. Close to a major mall with many restaurants. Only complaint is that the pool doesn't open until 10am. We had to leave at 9am and wanted to fit in a swim and we couldn't. With the inside pool being closed, I thought they would be flexible and maybe open at 8 or 9 but they wouldn't budge and there wasn't a manager available on weekends to talk to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unbelizable11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    152
    56
    20
    14
See reviews for
135
130
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a great place I thought is was clean and the people are very nice. The thing I like most is there waffle breakfest plus they always leave a jug of ice water lying around on the tables. The only thing is it's on a curvy hill and might be tough trying to up in a motor home or the winter time. Cars and trucks no problem and I did see buses so it's not impossible just might be a little tricky. Price's are good. Great place check it out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wow, does this property look outdated. It is tucked away on a side street and has a dusty a facade as they come. The lobby is more modern, chain motel chic with nice plastic edges. Check-in was smooth and pleasant, but the hotel manager, who looked liked a late 30s Chris Hansen, was weirdly serious when we asked if we could park our car in the lot a couple extra days after our stay. To his credit, the hotel was full. The rooms are very comfortable and relatively clean. They have been refurbished sometime recently, this much is apparent.The location is not close to the airport, but there are lots of good Italian restaurants around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hahatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed one night on our way up to Maine. The rooms were clean and VERY quiet considering how close to Route 1 we were. Everything was perfect for our family. But what was amazing was the General Manager Chad spent over an hour online helping us get tickets to an event we wanted to attend. He was helpful, nice and made a very frustrating experience end in a positive experience. Thank you Chad!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasginkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at this Comfort Inn because Boston hotels were priced out of site! The room, bed and shower were all fine. The pillows were not of my type – way to soft, but my wife liked them. The free breakfast was one of the worse we ever experienced. Coffee was undrinkable, the OJ was watered down and the food fair was unappetizing and we did not try it. Doughnuts were dry and we just left. Sleep here for the price, eat somewhere else. Location is right off highway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Good no frills option in Danvers. It's conveniently located right off of 1 and I-95. They let us check-in a little bit early, which is always nice. Everything was very clean, especially the bathroom. The style is pretty classic Comfort Inn, which works for me. We had a King room on the lobby level (200s). I was a little concerned that it was only a few feet from the front desk, but noise was not an issue. The room was huge and well kept.

This place was absolutely SLAMMED. I think there was at least two wedding room blocks, kids' sports teams, and possibly a business retreat of some kind. I have to say I'm impressed with how they handled the volume. They must be used to it. Book early or find out what events are going on when you're planning your stay.

If you're in the area for some kind of event, I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove PA
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at this Comfort Inn I was NOT impressed, there was electrical tape holding the bathroom doorknob on, hair in the sink, the fan in the bathroom didn't work and their wifi was almost non existent. The carpet was stained in many places. I probably wouldn't stay there again. the best part of the stay was the breakfast and leaving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strolfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danvers
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
5.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Hotel

Property: North Shore Hotel
Address: 50 Dayton St, Danvers, MA 01923-1018 (Formerly Comfort Inn North Shore)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Danvers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Shore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Shore Hotel is conveniently located just 15 miles north of Boston and seven miles from historic Salem. This Danvers, MA hotel in the Greater Boston area is near scenic Rockport & Gloucester, Salem State College, Gordon College, Endicott College, the Salem Witch Museum, the Peabody Essex Museum, the New England Aquarium and the Museum of Science, Boston. Additional points of interest include: •Bunker Hill Monument, a Boston National Historical Park site •Hammond Castle Museum •Salem Wax Museum •Salisbury Beach State Reservation •Cape Ann Whale Watch This Greater Boston area hotel is only minutes from the seacoast and mountains. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Shore Hotel Danvers
North Shore Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn North Shore Danvers
Comfort Inn Danvers
Danvers Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing