We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Change”

The Corner Stop Eatery
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Cohasset
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Change”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our first visit since new owners upgraded the restaurant in this location - formerly DeNiro's. Flatbread pizzas were very good, especially the mushroom variation. Garlic/lemon fries were very tasty. Service was a bit slow even though the restaurant was not full, but otherwise good. Heat distribution needs some work - the dining room was stifling when we got there, but got better by the time we were leaving. All in all a good experience and we look forward to going back. Next time we might try eating at the bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank netman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Favorite”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited relatives in Hull, MA and were steered to the Corner Stop by a desk clerk at our hotel.

The decor was imaginative (birch trees in our dining room) and the bar was spectacular.

We were a very large party(15) and the wait staff treated us with grace and efficiency.

My shrimp puttanesca was as good as it gets and the rest of our party raved about their meals.

A real find in an area of not too special restaurants !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trcon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, beautiful place”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Apparently the Corner Stop is very different from the previous restaurant located here, and that may account for some of the disappointment some have expressed. This place is newly done and fresh,even a bit on the romantic side at night. And our food was great! Subtly seasoned empandas, chunky crab cakes, deliciously sauced pasta with shrimp, the best chocolate cake I've ever had, rich without being too sweet. We found the prices to be normal for this area, which supports itself on the tourist trade. And we had no problem with the service, but this is such an unpredictable thing, depending so much on the crowd, etc. (Though it was pretty full when we were there.) After dinner, we had drinks sitting in front of a fireplace in the bar area. Lovely! I thought this bar area was one of the best I've seen; high-ceilinged, yet still cozy. A lot of the restaurants around Hull/Cohassett are on the honky tonk side, but this one is a class act. We did have a little trouble finding it. It had been recommended to us by local friends, but there are other Corner Cafes, etc. in the area. This one is at 245 Hull Street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinggirl785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cold food”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Five couples had dinner here thinking we would try a new restaurant. We had all been fans of the previous place....DiNeros. What an enormous disappointment. Drinks took forever and most were wrong, appetizers were dry and missing published ingredients and then to top it off 4 of the scallop entrees were cold. A salmon dinner didn't arrive until everyone had eaten and instead of being rare was dry and bland. The excuse was that the kitchen is limited. When this restaurant was DiNero's they turned out voluminous amounts of food and it was wonderful.
The owners had better get their act together or they won't be in business for long.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My daughter and I decided to try this place out as it is fairly new. The restaurant has been done over in a very woodsy décor. lots of birch and pictures of deer on the wall. The menu is very limited (like one dish for each kind of meat). I ordered the salmon. The fish was good but it came over a bed of orzo in a tomato sauce that tasted just like spaghetti-o's and was not edible. However my daughter had the "hippy dippy" salad (spinach, cranberries, goat cheese) and it was pretty good. Overheard our waitress telling people next to us about specials and she had not told us of any specials.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Stop Eatery also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Stop Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing