We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good FOod good Service”
Review of Olde Salt House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olde Salt House
Ranked #18 of 38 Restaurants in Cohasset
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
washington, CT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good FOod good Service”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The whole Cohasset Inn, Atlantica, Salty House gaggle is owned by the same guy. It's for sale. This is the only one of the three establishments worth it's salt.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank art p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    5
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food / beautiful location”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Outdoor dining on scenic Cohasset harbor. Food is good quality with generous portions. Wait staff is young, so service is enthusiastic but average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trippish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great way to end a summer's day!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife son and i went to the Olde Salt House on July 6, 2012. It was a beautiful, hot sunny July early evening and I can't think of a better way to end a summer's day. It's casual (but still a bit upscale) outdoor dining on the waterfront in Cohasset harbor.

I had the "John Daly" for a cocktail. I guess you could call it a South Shore version of a Long Island Ice Tea. It was cold, sweet and deceptively strong. My wife had the house Chardonnay which was fine. My son had ice water that was served with a lemon.

For entrees my wife had the Pulled Pork Quesadillas which were more corn than pulled pork which was a bit disappointing but you can't beat the scenery. My son had their $14 Hamburger platter which was fine if admittedly a bit pricey. As for me I had the $17 Fish and Chips which was delicious although I thought they over did it with the serving size of the french fries and maybe under did it with the serving size of the fish.

My son ordered the Key Lime Pie for dessert which was so good he almost was not willing to share with my wife. All in all a great, upscale, outdoor dining experience. The staff were pleasant, helpful and did not try to rush us through the meal to turn the table which we appreciated as we loved taking in the water views.

Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeVangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting outdoor dinning”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The restaurant is an outdoor seating, very pleasant view of nature and harbor. service very pleasant. Food is excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddington, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Can not beat the setting on a beuatiful day”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stopped at the Old Salt House for lunch last weekend...beautiful sunny day, and what a spot right on Cohasset Harbor. You could not find many nicer settings that this. Food was very good (we have been before and seems you never know how it is going to be) little on the pricy side but for that atmosphere...service was ok. Looks like they have lots of tables so I am not sure how enjoyable it would be if they are full, but half full was very nice. We will visit again as we enjoy the outside dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maine04428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Salt House also viewed

 

Been to Olde Salt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing