We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extraordinary Museum”

Museum of Russian Icons
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Icons was founded in 2006 as a nonprofit educational institution by Massachusetts art collector and industrialist Gordon B. Lankton. With more than 700 Russian icons and artifacts, the collection is the largest of its kind in North America, and one of the largest private collections outside Russia. Spanning six centuries, the collection includes important historical paintings dating from the earliest periods of icon "writing" to the present. The Museum facility is 16,000 square feet and comprises several galleries, research library, archive storage, conservation studio, an auditorium accommodating programs, lectures and concerts, the Russian Tea Room, terrace, and green roof.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This museum is a "hidden gem"! It is a private museum in the little town of Clinton, located in a converted brick building. The artifacts are primarily Russian icons, as the name of the museum implies. They are just beautiful. I was given a personal tour by a docent who was very well informed and helpful in interpreting the art pieces.

Thank Hil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the review! We hope you'll have the chance to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully restored brick building housing this interesting museum. Learn how icons are made and see an extensive collection.
Current special exhibit shows propaganda of the cold war era

Thank cararro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for the review and we hope you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We come to Worcester every year for two weeks, and stay at the Worcester Marriott Residence Inn. Last year, towards the end of our stay, a friend from southern CT told us about this Museum. However, it was too late for us to squeeze in a visit. This year, it was at the top of our list.

We rent cars without GPS, and we do manage to lose ourselves often on country roads in New England. I asked our front desk for directions on how to get to Clinton, and was told to take a left out of the Hotel, go to R-70, make a right and it will take you right there. We did that, and in 20 minutes we were parking our car. It is so close.

We loved the building as soon as we saw it. It is amazing what they have done to it to retain its character and integrity. My husband is a retired architect, and he especially noticed all the quality detailing. No short cuts taken here! It is just beautiful !

It is fitting that it be so beautiful as it houses such a beautiful collection inside. The displays are so artfully completed. Each icon is exhibited as if it were the "star" of the show. Such care and caring have gone into the presentation of these icons. We have always cared about museums and exhibits, but when you are in the presence of something so lovingly presented, you care even more.

We got there just about the time they opened at 11 am. First we toured the Soviet propaganda display (that took about one hour and 20 minutes), then, we had our hands stamped and went to "The Old Timer" for lunch (we loved it !), came back and toured the rooms holding the icons, and shopped in the Gift Store. We left at 3 pm, when they were locking the door. It made for a most wonderful and enjoyable day.

The staff there is so very nice and helpful. Before we left, we also met the owner, who is delighted when patrons are delighted with his collection. ( He personally physically hung and displayed these masterpieces.)

The special Soviet exhibit was most interesting. The Gift Store prices are very fair, as well as the prices in "The Russian Tea Room" downstairs. We bought lots of bags of Russian cookies to bring back to family members. Carried them in our carry-ons so they wouldn't get smushed in the suitcase. Already looking forward to coming back next year, and from now on, this Museum will be a "must" for us annually.

9  Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

All we can say is, wow! Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review. We appreciate you noticing the attention given to our collection but our visitors are our true stars and it's beyond gratifying to hear how much you enjoyed your experience. It was wonderful to have met you and we look forward to seeing you again, next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I visited this museum in May of 2014 and loved it. Located just off the Clinton Mass downtown area, the museum contains more than three hundred Russian icons some dating back as far as the 1500's. Like many others, we were able to meet the museum's owner and founder and later learned from a very well informed docent about some of his more challenging acquisition efforts and dealings with the Russian authorities. Unless you are expert in this area, a docent is really a must, There is no extra charge for their tours and you will learn an incredible amount about the icons in general as well as certain specific pieces and of course the museum itself. This is really a hidden gem of a place well worth the visit. We plan to return in the Fall It's a wonderfully unique place.

Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

We're so pleased to hear that both you and your wife enjoyed your visit! We can't stress enough how lucky we are to have such a wonderful group of docents and it's great to hear you had the chance to enjoy a tour. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you this fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Oddly enough, I am not interested in the icons which make up the permanent collection, but the temporary exhibits here are very good. I came to see an exhibit of matryoshkas (nesting dolls) a year or so ago; then today my husband and I saw an exhibit of Communist propaganda posters -- both attractive and historically fascinating! The tearoom is charming, too, with a collection of samovars.
The museum faces a lovely town green with a gorgeous old fountain -- it's like The Town That Time Forgot. "Thai Time" restaurant, about 2 min. drive or 10 min. walk from the museum, was very nice. We also discovered the Wachusett Dam at the edge of the Wachusett Reservoir, which has a lovely sunken park with a fountain and great walking trails. It's only about 5 min. drive from the museum, and an absolute must if weather is nice.

2  Thank Jeffsdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We're glad we're able to highlight aspects of Russian culture that do interest you and are equally thrilled about your repeat visit. We do hope you'll be back in the fall/winter for "Siberia: Imagined and Reimagined" which will explore Siberian life through stunning photographs. We really got a kick out of your comment "The Town That Time Forgot" because in the most positive way it does feel like that, especially during the warmer months. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Russian Icons also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Russian Icons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing