We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Museum”

Museum of Russian Icons
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Icons was founded in 2006 as a nonprofit educational institution by Massachusetts art collector and industrialist Gordon B. Lankton. With more than 700 Russian icons and artifacts, the collection is the largest of its kind in North America, and one of the largest private collections outside Russia. Spanning six centuries, the collection includes important historical paintings dating from the earliest periods of icon "writing" to the present. The Museum facility is 16,000 square feet and comprises several galleries, research library, archive storage, conservation studio, an auditorium accommodating programs, lectures and concerts, the Russian Tea Room, terrace, and green roof.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this amazing museum. There are several icons on display on 3 floors. The special exhibit titled "Imaging the Invisible: Angels, Demons, Prayer & Wisdom" was amazing to see. Many of the icons are very old, and you can get very close to them. There are excellent lighted magnifying glasses throughout the museum so you can get a closer look at the details in the icons. You can choose to have a guided tour or an audio tour at no extra charge. We chose to go through the museum on our own and read the detailed descriptions of the icons. There is a small gift shop on the main level which featured many items that are made in Russia including lovely jewelry and icons. On the lower level, there is a Russian Tea Room where you can get a snack or tea or coffee. For those who have difficulty with climbing stairs, there is an elevator available. We went to the museum on a Thursday when it is open until 7:00 p.m. We spent a few hours here and found the museum to be very enjoyable and educational. We also loved the Gregorian chant music that was playing in the museum.

Thank see-the-country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! Thursday evenings are a great time to come - your visit can last longer and the galleries tend to be quieter. Our Special Exhibitions are always changing and we'd love for you to visit us again. Keep up-to-date with all of our changes and new exhibitions on our website. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Museum of Russian Icons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 152 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a wonderful introduction to Russian icons. Not only is the collection lovely, but the explanations are very informative. This isn't a big museum, but you can still plan on taking a couple of hours to really appreciate all that is here. Do accept the free audio tour, if only to understand why this collection was created.

Thank Tenormary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for visiting with us! We're especially glad you enjoyed our audio tour and we hope you'll be able to visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the most extensive collection outside of Russia. It was the first time I saw a icon showing the three handed Madonna - very rare. Make sure you either get there early as they normally close at three pm. They do have 3 small tv screens showing different movies in the corners of the building on the second floor but they are an hour in length if you want to watch them. Go on Thursday (?) when they are stay open later in the day. My favorite icon that they had an postcard of was St. John Climacus - The Ladder of Divine Ascent. I wish they had poster of that one to purchase in the gift shop. I included it in my photo upload. Make sure you visit the basement to see the process of how icons are made. In the basement they also have a Russian tea room where you can get snacks all the time and sandwiches on some days.
They do have docents who will explain the symbolism in the icons as well as hand held walkie-talkie devices if you want to learn it on your own. Do both - you get more out of it.

Thank Chicag0Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed so much of your visit. Please take a moment to visit our Fine Art Print program available through our website. Simply click the "Fine Art Prints" link on our Home Page's main banner. Here you can choose from several different sizes and paper types. I double checked, and if you type "Climacus" in the search bar the exact icon you desire is available! We're so excited about this program because it uses Epson printing technology, recognized by the professional image community as the finest in imaging quality, ensuring that our prints will provide customer satisfaction for generations to come. I hope you'll have the chance to browse the rest of what's available and visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

One of the best vacations of my life was spent in Russia. That's one of the many reasons why I return regularly to the Museum of Russian Icons in Clinton MA. The icons and other paintings are breathtaking. Plus, the special exhibitions of lacquer boxes and artworks on loan from abroad. As you walk through the gallery, you can watch scenes of the Russian landscape and exquisite churches that play on high-definition screens. You hear the liturgical chants and see religious services in progress. framed by an iconostasis. These mystical presentations add to the pleasure of your visit. Wonderful gift shop that keeps getting better. Gordon Lankton, the museum founder, is often present to greet you... and he provides you with great insights about the art on display. Highly recommended.

Thank annie279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We're delighted to hear we help bring back such wonderful memories of your trip to Russia! Thank you for visiting and hopefully we can continue to impress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stopped by for lunch at the (very close by) Via Alto 27 restaurant and Ellen, our waitress there suggested a visit if we had time. In fact, she highly recommended it, especially because we said we hadn't been to this museum before.
We purchased our very reasonably priced tickets (actually, I used my AAA card and got a buy-one-get-one discount).
Then we were shown the cloakroom to store our coats/hats. Randi, the receptionist, offered us complimentary audio tours OR the services of a live docent. We selected the "human" option and his name was Art (great name for a docent!). My guest and I knew nothing about icons, Russian or otherwise, and we were just visiting on a whim, as we had no particular plans for the afternoon.
Well, now, thanks to Art, our guide, we know lots and lots about icons and especially these Russian icons. Art was so informative and friendly. There was a Russian Tea Room, with very beautiful samovars, downstairs that we didn't take advantage of, but that we said we would try next time.
Also, the "immaculate" restroom was greatly appreciated.
We'll definitely be back again! Thanks.

Thank A Stone's Throw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn W, Manager at Museum of Russian Icons, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We're so happy you decided to visit and even happier with how much you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Russian Icons also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Russian Icons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing