We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chilmark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain R. Flanders' House
Ranked #1 of 2 Chilmark B&B and Inns
St Albans Herts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A beautiful location”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

There is no doubt that the location of Captain Flander's is second to none and the free bus pass and beach pass add to its charm but the lack of facilities regarding refreshments is sadly lacking . We were booked in for 6 nights having trekked all around E. Canada and we looked forward to relaxing in a quiet setting and this we did. Unbeknown to us 'Up Island' is 'dry' and that was bit of a shock but of far greater concern was the lack of liquid refreshment available to guets, a story about state law + hobs & ovens....why not purchase an electric kettlt for heavens sake? Even the promised bottle of water, (see web site), failed to show and we had to ask to have the bathroom cleaned after 3 days. . We'd been spoilt in Montreal and Toronto with open-access to the kitchens ady & night and found this a difficult pill to swallow. M.V is an interesting experience and the night skies are absolutely fabuloius. The free bikes were brilliant and shuttle bus drivers couldn't be more helpful, but Captain R. Flanders' House needs loving!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godknowswhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathybega, Manager at Captain R. Flanders' House, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Once again I apologize that the guests were unhappy. I wish it had been brought to my attention when they were at the property so we may have addressed their concerns while they were there. We don't want anyone to be disappointed with their stay at the B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at Captain Flanders for two nights and it was wonderfully relaxing. The inn is sited on an old farm amidst beautiful countryside which is teeming with wildlife. We stayed in one of the cottages, separate to the main building. The cottage is decorated in a simple style but it has everything you need. Our only (minor) complaint was that it was quite cold at night and the heating installed in the cottage is effective but noisy when you are trying to sleep as it clicks on and off to maintain the temperature. However, if you are travelling in season then it won't be an issue and it didn't spoil a wonderful stay. Kathy was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Her two dogs are also very cute!

Chilmark itself is very different to down-Island - it is much quieter and more rural which suited us perfectly. We went slightly out of season which meant that finding places open for lunch/dinner was difficult but we managed it! We tried the Chilmark Tavern which had just opened under new owners and we highly recommend it as the food, service and ambience was excellent. The fish markets at Menemsha are also very good.

Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone staying up-Island at the Vineyard as it is a beautiful retreat!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoggP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This is probably the 10th time we've stayed at Capt. Flanders over the past 25 year. It hasn't changed a bit. That's what so nice. It brings back great memories, romantic nights, and fun times. It's the only place I would stay on the island. Kathy the "house mom" was fantastic and met our every need. I don't want too many people to know about this place, so they will always have room for me. Joy and Steve

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marley54Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My partner and I learned of Captain Flanders House only recently. Upon arrival, we were stunned to find a place of such rare beauty. There is an authenticity to this former farmstead, with its ancient stone walls...one can sense the layers of history on this venerable land. The inn exudes old Vineyard charm; it is unpretentious and naturally elegant.

The rooms are clean and simple, in keeping with the country ambiance. The public area is comfortable and cheery, and many pleasant moments were spent browsing an eclectic collection of books. The breakfast featured home-baked muffins and croissants, and fresh fruits and cereals. We appreciated the lemonade and cookies in the afternoon.

We would have been content to spend all day on the property, reading or observing the geese on Bliss Pond, and the horses roaming the fields. However, we knew that world-class beaches were waiting just around the corner. After a lovely day by the sea, it was wonderful to come home to the tranquility of our room. A few bicycles (with baskets) are available for making trips into the fishing village of Menemsha, less than a mile away.

The staff was warm and friendly and really made us feel at home. They go out of their way to accommodate their guests.

We enjoyed our first stay in high summer. It was the height of the tourist season, yet the grounds were very peaceful. We hope to return in other seasons, especially when we are feeling the need to be refreshed and renewed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandHillsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Captain Flanders House best asset is its staff and its wonderfully serene setting. Staff members are terrifically helpful, friendly and just a joy to be around. The setting of the inn is just beautiful, typical of this part of Martha's Vineyard, the town of Chilmark, featuring rolling fields, the stone walls common on this part of the island, and just a very relaxing, pastoral setting.

I traveled in early August, one of the busiest seasons on the island and the inn itself is very comfortable this time of year - at night time cool breezes make for the best sleeping conditions. The inn is an older structure and reminds me more of a European type hotel - full of character, history, and charm.

One of the best features of the inn is the beach access afforded to guests. This part of the island has some of the best beaches available including Lucy VIncent Beach and Squibnocket (sp?) Beach as well. This alone makes the inn a top choice to stay when visiting Martha's Vineyard.

Am planning to return again next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I just got back from a 5 night stay at this amazing place. It was like a dream! The rooms are clean and the grounds are beautiful. But, the best part of this B&B is the manager Annie. She makes you feel so welcome. Annie is kind and funny. She makes you feel like an old friend or family member who happens to be staying over for a few nights. Thank you!!! We will be back.

  • Liked — the manager and staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ddistefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs,CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We booked two nights at the Capt. Flanders House and when we arrived I was disappointed with the king bedroom ,private bath upstairs in this 18th C farmhouse. The stairway leading to the two upstairs rooms is original and a bit difficult to navigate.
When Annie,the innkeeper, saw my dissappointd face she immediately said she would try to make us happy and we were given a choice of either of the two separate buildings on the property. We chose the stone house pictured in the photos. We liked it but we did notice that there is no heat in this little house. We like it cold and even in Aug our first night was quite chilly. We enjoyed two beautiful, sunny days and were busy with friends nearby. It might not have been as nice if the weather had been foul.
There is a nice porch in the main house where a great European style breakfast is served. There is coffee, cold items like ham and cheese and hard boiled eggs, several fruits and a delicious coffee cake. Annie's several toy show dogs chased the Canada geese while we had breakfast.

  • Liked — The stone house has a wonderful, large shower.
  • Disliked — The wet grass
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csuejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilmark
10.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
13.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
937 reviews
12.6 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Menemsha Inn and Cottages
7.6 mi away
Lambert's Cove Inn
Lambert's Cove Inn
#10 of 47 in Martha's Vineyard
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain R. Flanders' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain R. Flanders' House

Property: Captain R. Flanders' House
Address: 440 North Road, Chilmark, Martha's Vineyard, MA
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Chilmark
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chilmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet town of Chilmark, Massachusetts on the island of Martha’s Vineyard. This renovated farmhouse, built by whaling Captain Richard Flanders in the late 1700’s is part of an original island homestead. The house has a delightful arrangement of antiques and country primitives that will add charm and uniqueness to your island stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain R. Flanders' House Chilmark, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing