We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent qualitty”
Review of Chilmark Tavern

Chilmark Tavern
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Chilmark
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: BYOB Tavern Serving local grown + responsibly raised ingredients from farmers + artisan producers who share our sustainable philosophy in a warm inviting dining room. -Cheers from the wettest dry tavern in America
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent qualitty”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Have been to the Tavern a few times over a 14 month period and they have proven to be consistently good for both food and service. Every app and entree we've had has been excellent so no need to highlight any one thing over/under another. At first glance it seems pricey - and it is, but keep in mind: It's MV and it's BYOB. They have fixed costs like every other joint on the island without the upside of selling alcohol. Put in that context, and being up-island, it's competitive. Happy to recommend and looking forward to the next meal there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JakesBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    34
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great experience at Chilmark Tavern. The receptionist couldn't have been nicer. We got there 30 minutes early and she did not have any problem seating us. My four friends and I go to Martha's Vineyard every year for a fishing and fun time together. We decided to try a new restaurant, Chilmark Tavern. From the moment we entered the door till the time we left we had a great time. The staff was pleasant, engaging, happy to have us there and the food was tremendous.
We will definitely be back next year for another super experience and great food, thank you

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joecat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Food in Chilmark, bar none!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Jena , the owner, is there almost every night. She comes from a successful restaurant family from the north shore of Boston. The food is "Superb, excellent and can hold up to the harshest critic".
Every single dish is ample, highest quality ingredients and prepared with lots of succulent flavor . Setting is casual elegant, dress is Vineyard, meaning clean and simple will do.
Waitstaff are tops and they go out of their way to make sure you are extremely pleased with everything. It is BYOB...so bring your own. Drink ingredients are available, you supply the alcohol .
Book early and ahead as they are usually always full in August.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Black Bass so good it almost made me cancel my other reservation at another restaurant to come back and eat it again”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Visited the restaurant on a Tuesday evening before Labor Day weekend. Had called 2 weeks prior to reserve a table of four knowing it would be busy for the end of summer celebration. We had not eaten here before and were intrigued by the postings of other diners. Upon arrival for a 630 p reservation we were seated promptly and our server kindly took care of our wine bottles. There is an option to bring hard liquor to be mixed with their house made cocktail concoctions, will try that next time. We enjoyed the evening with fresh local oysters, homemade ricotta to start off the evening. Our entrees were the steak which my friend said was the best he has ever had. And, he is def a steak person. The other entrée was the shrimp and scallops which my other friend really enjoyed. I had the local black bass and I ate the entire entrée which had corn, almonds and local vegetables. Kudos to the chef for a perfectly cooked fish as he did with the steak. It was so good it made me consider cancelling the other reservation during the week at another restaurant and come back to Chilmark tavern later in the week. My husband had the pallea which was good but it comes from someone who really has a passion for Spanish cuisine and it didn't quite hit his mark but may for most. The desserts were very good with our favorite being the chocolate custard. The overall atmosphere can be a little loud but for our table of 4 that was fine. crowd was mixed of mid thirties to mid 60's. The decorating is white on white without much warmth, that's my opinion. Will be back again and remember to bring your spirits with you. The location is considered up island and is a bit of drive from E town and OB, but it's worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chilmark Tavern”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a great option "up-island" the menu has a lot of possibilities - order a number of appetizers and sides to keep the cost reasonable. It is BYOB and the bar can make up any drink that you want. Plenty of local and home-made options that are unusual on the menu. The "grits" are unusual in Massachusetts and are very cheesy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilmark Tavern also viewed

West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard
 
Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard
West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard
 
Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Chilmark Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing