We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm mmm good”
Review of Chicken Queen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chicken Queen
Ranked #44 of 122 Restaurants in Chicopee
Restaurant details
South Hadley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“mmm mmm good”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

What's not to love? Healthy rotisserie style chicken, home cooked sides like mashed potatoes, usually several vegetables like carrots or corn, potato salad, great dinner rolls. If you need a fix of home cooking like grandma used to make...and chicken that's not fried and covered with all sorts of junk...this is the place for you.

You need to stop by and pick up, no delivery and just a couple of tables. I believe they cater as well. It's just a hole in the wall, located next door to a convenience store, but I kind of enjoy going to a place where the owner is handing you your food and there aren't a bunch of bored teenagers behind the counter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazda6030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Great for home cooked take out chicken meals. Very reasonably priced

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but good”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

They mainly have rotisserie chicken.The sides are great I love the rolls. They also have a good stuffed boneless breast dinner with special gravy, 2 sides and cranberry sauce. Very small, they have a few tables but main business it take out. We always call and pick up. No delivery that I am aware of. They do also offer chicken packages.(kind of like the old Jim Dandy or KFC idea) except it is healthier rotissserie chicken as opposed to fried.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bcortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Chicken for lunch take out or eat in a booth.”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I have gone to chicken Queen as far back to near when they opened. My old friend loved their real chicken all breast sandwich, "no mayo, and no skin", he introduced me to the place some 20 years ago. Their rotisserie chicken is consistently very good to great. I'd recommend anyone in the area or passing though to try it out. They use whole chickens not patties.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank koolcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great little place for rotisserie chicken”
Reviewed May 1, 2008

The Chicken Queen has been in Chicopee for decades, but I only recently discovered it. It is off the main road a bit (on Westover Road, east of MA 33/Memorial Drive) and is in a small building shared with a convenience store. It's definitely a throwback to a different time. It's clean but clearly has not been updated for a long, long time. Many signs are handwritten. I was the only one eating in, but they were doing a good takeout business. The menu is just what you'd expect - chicken. Rotisserie chicken, in particular. I had a 4-piece dark meal with mashed potatoes and green beans and a pepsi, and it came to $6.30 including tax. The chicken was outstanding and the potatoes were the real thing. So for a few dollars less than the nearby national rotisserie chicken chain, I got more and better chicken, and supported a long-time local business.

Next time you're passing through the Springfield area on the Mass Pike, get off Exit 5, go north on Route 33 then right on Westover Road (at the first rotary you encounter), and try some of the local flavor!

Helpful?
4 Thank jtdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken Queen also viewed

 

Been to Chicken Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing