We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Dining in a Train Car”

Bernie's Dining Depot
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Chicopee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun Dining in a Train Car”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Prime Rib and Seafood meals are huge in size and taste! Big portions, good food, not much atmosphere unless you get to sit on the train but worth the visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    107
    27
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ew. Never again.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were told by a relative that this place was great and had wonderful food - "You try Bernie's yet?" "You get to eat in a train car!" "They have large portions!" ... But we were so grossed out once we got there. Dirty silverware. Filthy cushions. Food that tasted like public school lunches. Horrible service. Yeah. Never again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Indreams07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid all at costs. Horrible ”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

What a horrible place. We show up to an empty Resturant in the middle of the day. We were waiting for a person and they would not seat us even thought the 4 of us we going to order. They said no partial seating at An Empty Resturant. What lousy customer service. Avoid at all costs.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sleevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliot, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Prime Rib bar none”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My go to place in the Holyoke area. Best prime rib around. Small cut is still 2 meals and sides are fresh and tasty. Chowder is good New England style, thick and loaded with stuff. The turkey dinner and fish and chips also will please those who order it. Never had a bad meal there but it can get busy so get reservations especially on weekends. For an extra treat ask to sit in the dining car. It is an old train car and is very nice. Try it once and you will return when you are back in the area. Rolls are served on request and are worth asking for. They are good enough that they save them for those who know to ask for them.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Canned vegetables made me give a poor review”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The meat is great, huge portions. Nowhere like it. Love their au grautin potatoes, but the rest of the sides are poor. Such great potential but then it gets ruined by canned green beans and such. Work on consistency in quality. Also, if you get to sit on the train part - awesome! But issues with consistency here too, because if you are stuck sitting in the other part of the resturaunt then that sucks. ): The rest of the resturaunt shoul dbe upgraded to be as nice of an experience as sitting on the train part is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernie's Dining Depot also viewed

 

Been to Bernie's Dining Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing