We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb productions in small intimate setting”

Chester Theatre Company
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chester Theatre Company is a professional theatre company located in the foothills of the Berkshires. Under the leadership of current Artistic Director Byam Stevens, CTC has earned a reputation for producing the best in contemporary theatre. The Boston Globe calls CTC "an out-of-the-way treasure," and the company is known for its outstanding, thought-provoking, actor-driven productions.
Reviewed August 2, 2015

Second show I've seen this summer, Memory House, among one of the best I've seen anywhere in many years. For those of you with (or having had) teenaged daughters, you will marvel and laugh at the dialogue between this teen and her mother as a deadline approaches for mailing in a college essay... that's the ploy that gets them opening up about their lives.
The first play of the season, likewise was terrific as well. Charles Dickens, Thomas Jefferson and Leo Tolstoy locked in an unearthly space in time, trying to figure out what they have in common. It was really terrific.
High quality theater at affordable prices.
Only place to eat nearby is Roscoe's. Very good food, but you need to eat early and have reservations.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank RSG-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great theatre"
in 2 reviews
"in town"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 2 reviews
"new york"
in 2 reviews
"acting"
in 3 reviews
"snacks"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Chester Theatre is located in a tiny Berkshire mountain town, a nice cool drive on a hot summer evening, not too far from Lenox ,Stockbridge, or the Pioneer Valley. The Chester town hall building houses the small theatre (it used to be called the "Miniature Theatre" of Chester) and there are no bad seats due to the small size! The plays are usually contemporary drama, which I happen to enjoy. If you are a true theatre lover, and don't need to see a major musical production, go to Chester, sit back, and enjoy a lovely summer evening of professional theatre

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank mazda6030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently saw The Betrothed at Chester Theater and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The play was not the typical frothy and light summer material but a challenging and unusual fairytale like excursion into serious issues. The acting was excellent (especially the woman playing the female parts), set unique and the theatre intimate with no bad seats.
We highly recommend staying for the post theatre chat as the interchange helped explain and amplify the play and its message. As many said we rather wish we'd had the chat before so we could comprehend the denser aspects of the play. We will return as we like to be pushed and like to see the cutting edges of theatre. Well worth the short trip east from the centre of the Berkshires.

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank bjlOshawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have our first opportunity to see a play in this tiny town in the Bershires. Every seat in the small/intimate theatre has a great view of the stage. They just purchaesd new seats which were also very comfortable. The production was casted broadway actors from New York. I highly recommend this theatre. We also recommend dinner at the "The Dream Away Lodge" in Becket before the play.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank 1travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Theatre Company also viewed

Pittsfield, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Chester Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing