We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice; free shuttle to airport T station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chelsea
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Everything was very nice, clean, no smells, the AC didn't make that loud chug every time the compressor comes on; there is a decent exercise room, hot tub, and a refreshing pool. There is a shuttle every 30 minutes to the Airport T station, and we bought a 7-day pass which gives you unlimited acces to the T as well as busses. The only thing that could have possibly been better is if the room was larger, but then again, there were 5 of us and hotels in large cities are typically smaller. Also, there's no free breakfast, but there is a microwave and a small fridge and what looked to be a nice restaurant. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boultaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFHChelsea, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Wyndham Boston Chelsea.
Im glad you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle
it makes getting to downtown quick and easy.

I hope you come back to see us soon!!!

SFH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice clean large rooms with comfortable beds. The hotel is 5 miles from Boston center, but the hotel has a complementary shuttle service to the Airport T-station (on the Blue line) every about half hour. They will also pick you up from there. We managed without using our car. The staff is generally friendly with the occational odd one. No in-room safe, and using the one in the reception is a hassle. The breakfast is a bit over-priced. The in-door pool is in a small stuffy room and not very inviting. The neighbourhood looks not so nice - however there is a shopping center just across the street if you need supplies.

We paid for two rooms about half you would pay for one in Boston center, so all-in-all we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalleJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for your response. Im so glad you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle.
In room safes will be added to all our guest rooms very soon. Thank you for your comments regarding our indoor pool. Changes will be made to try to improve the decor of the pool area.
Also a starbucks just opened right in the shopping center you mentioned.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stay there often as I have an industrial client in Everett, MA.
Rooms are good, including the weird yellow chair with slide out table. Internet is good. Bathrooms are adequate size, not small or awkward like some 3 star properties.
There is an inexpensive Italian restaurant located adjacent the hotel. You get the in-house restaurant nearly to yourself even in the mornings. No free breakfast buffet. Bar/Lounge is quiet and Michelle is competent at opens beer bottles.
Shuttle to the Logan airport and nearby destinations is free and runs frequently enough. They serve a lot of air crews, so the airport shuttle is operated pretty well. I have seen some people complain about long waits for the shuttle, but.. Also make sure to properly specify your terminal, especially United for Houston, Newark or Charlotte Douglas (formerly Continental flights) from Terminal A.
For more upscale, consider the Marriott, East Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for and exterior room, otherwise they always for offer a second floor that looks onto the roof a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFHChelsea, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Wyndham Boston Chelsea. I appreciate your comments about our shuttle transportation as well as the bathrooms in our guest rooms. We are trying some new "items" in our restaurant and lounge this summer. Again, thank you for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel itself nice, and the surrounding area isn't terrible. Be aware though that you will need a car as the hotel is in Chelsea, which is across the Tobin Bridge ($3 toll into town) from Boston. Your only other option is the "T" which has a commuter rail station which is a half mile walk through neighborhoods that may not be pleasant at night. The only downside to the entire experience was the restaurant, which I ate in the first night and did not go back to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phiwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Affordable decent hotel and you'll save over the much more expensive mainstream Boston hotels that even charge for parking. With that said, Chelsea is not the nicest neighborhood out there. I do have three complaints of the hotel. First, please fix the elipitcal exercise machine. The foot pedal is broken and even if fixed, you should really consider upgrading it to a newer better model. Second, the trash should be taken out every day and not left for the guest for when they return. Third, fix the hot tub. Sitting there empty and in need of repair is unsightly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrior1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFHChelsea, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for staying at the Wyndham Boston Chelsea. The hot tub is being painted and will be ready in about 5 days. I do agree with you, it is not a pleasant site to look at, however, we are trying to fix it as quickly as possible. Thank you for informing me about the exercise equipment. We are in the process of upgrading the equipment in the fitness center. Again, thank you for staying with us and I know when you come back the fitness center and the hot tub will be in full working condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We called the hotel to ask for the shuttle, that was supposed to take 30 min to come. After half an hour, we called again, since we were still waiting. After one hour at the airport and no sign of the hotel shuttle, we had to take a taxi. When we got to the hotel, the attendant said the shuttle got full on previous stops and didnt get to us. He even said that it was our fault, since apparently we were not waiting in the first shuttle stop (how could we know!). We called twice and they didnt bother warning us of the delay. Also, they could have sent a shuttle for us, since they knew we were waiting for one hour! It was cold and we were very tired. That was the worse experience I had using a hotel service. I have stayed in several hotel and used other shuttle services. Shuttle services are not compementary. They come as part of the package when one books a hotel. So it is already included in the price and should be provided with quality. I know that what happened is not supposed to happen. We felt disrespected.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lysandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because it offered an airport shuttle which worked fine for us as we were just staying overnight. However, it is not located near any of the Boston tourist spots. You will definitely need some kind of transportation if you choose this location, otherwise you'll be relying on taxis. It is an older hotel, in need of refurbishing. We didn't mind that as much as the unwelcoming, abrasive clerks at the front desk, or the disappointing restaurant on the first floor, Terra Nova Grille. Unfortunately there are no other restaurants near the hotel so if you get in late & don't want to take a taxi, this is what you've got as far as a meal. We ate dinner there & were hugely disappointed with the food & the service. The room itself was spacious, linens nice, complimentary toiletries, bottled water, & a coffee maker. Very limited tv channels, however. Breakfast is not included in the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia7gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea

Address: 201 Everett Ave, Chelsea, MA 02150-1816 (Formerly Chelsea Hotel Boston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chelsea
Price Range: $129 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chelsea hotel is conveniently located 3 miles from Logan International Airport, as well as 3 miles to downtown Boston. When arriving at Logan, please call us for a complimentary shuttle ride from the airport to the hotel. Our hotel features 180 newly renovated guest rooms. All of our guest rooms come complete with a 32 inch HDTV offering on-demand movies. Take advantage of our in-room welcome center complete with a coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary bottled water. Don't forget we offer free parking as well as complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Our restaurant, the Terranova Bar & Grille offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. End the evening with a night cap in the Terranova Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Boston Logan Airport Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chelsea Hotel Chelsea
Chelsea Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing