We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access on/off I-495, friendly staff and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here on the way home from Maine and found a nice hotel awaiting us. There was a thunderstorm that evening that knocked out the phones, but everyone was helpful in assisting us. The two biggest problems are the aging elevator and the bathroom fan that sounds like an airplane is taking off, but I consider these minor. Overall I thought it was a good place to stay snd would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris41694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marge O, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn as a safe haven from that horrific lightening/thunder storm that knocked out our telephone system and swimming pool filtering system. Our staff went above the "call of duty" that night to ensure our guests needs and satisfaction. I can assure you we will address the bathroom fan "that sounds like an airplane is taking off" and make it sound like a "airplane that is flying smoothly and silently". Thanks again for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

In July/12 I was motorcycling home from the east coast. I was about halfway home after a 12 hour ride and I saw the Best Western sign on the Interstate. I stopped in with no reservation. The desk clerk was very pleasant and friendly. I asked for a King non-smoking room and she had one for me and gave me CAA/AAA rate. She said that I could park my motorcycle under the canopy at the entrance in case it rains and so the night staff will be able to keep an eye on it. I thought that was great. The hotel was clean. I got to my 2nd floor room and was great. It was bigger than average and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel was busy yet very quiet. I did not stay for the free breakfast. Check out was great. The clerk was the guy who had been on all night and knew that it was my motorcycle he'd been watching. He was very funny. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWing51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marge O, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for writing such a nice review of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn and for recognizing our outstanding staff that is dedicated to customer service. We strive to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay with us. It is unfortunate that you did not have the time enjoy our complimentary HOT breakfast buffet which offers a variety of fruits, yogurts, cereals, waffles, hard boiled and cooked eggs, bacon or sausage, breads, pastries and beverages. Hopefully you were able to enjoy a cup of coffee in your room with our new Keurig coffee makers. Our large, spacious guestrooms also feature free 37" flat screen televisions, high speed internet access and refrigerators in every room. Hopefully you will be able to come back this way and enjoy our outdoor pool, Fitness Center or Moonstones Restaurant and Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family and I checked in to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn on Aug 4 & 5th. We used our Air Miles plan for this and it was what Air Miles had recommended. My only real critierias was that I wanted a non-smoking room, pool and breakfast included.

When we checked in, we were told that a rain storm had knocked out the phones, as well we could not use the pool. Not a huge deal, as it was fairly late by that time. The lady at the counter was very nice and helpful, I must point out. When we went to the 2nd floor, we were hit with this terrible smell. It felt like a cross between cherry cough syrup and used diapers. It was so bad, I literally had to hold my hand over my mouth. Thankfully the room did not have the smell. The bathroom was missing the hair dryer and everything felt old and damp.

The breakfast room was very small and had about 8 tables. Pretty unacceptable for a hotel this size. We went out for the day and when we came back, we asked if we could use the pool. We were told that it was closed due to a rain storm. Hmm, it rained slightly hours earlier and it was still closed? Anyway, we went to bed and when I climbed in the covers, I noticed that there was blood smeared on the comforter. It was midnight by then and I just left it. We told the kind lady at reception about it and she said she would have moved us (our kids were already asleep at this point). She also said the room should have had a hair dryer. Between the blood and the horrible smell on the 2nd floor, we would never stay here again. Which was too bad, as we normally quite like Best Western's and I purposely asked Air Miles to recommend a Best Western for us.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ghostpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marge O, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and I'm sorry to hear that it was not a pleasant one. That horrific thunder, lightning and rain storm not only knocked out our telephone system, it also shut down the pump and filtering system to the swimming pool preventing us from opening the pool for safety reasons. Unfortunately, this occurred on the weekend and the service vendor was not able to make repairs until Monday morning. Our Housekeeping staff and myself are embarrassed by the comments regarding the odor in the hallway and the condition of the room but please be rest assured that it was not blood on the comforter but a stain that was not removed with bleach and laundering and the comforter should have been destroyed. Again, please accept my sincere apology that you were not abble to experience the clean, comfortable rooms and outstanding customer service that we are known for. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I have traveled quite a bit since we have both retired. We usually go to b and b's but decided to try a regular hotel. The reviews for this hotel were good and the price was very fair. We were greeted very nicely and given our keys. When we entered the room (it felt like a suite), we were pleasantly surprised at the size and furnishings we found. The king bed was most comfortable, a large flat screen tv was a joy for my wife. I enjoyed the breakfast. The price was right with interesting choices. What I learned on this stay is that Best Western now offers three levels of lodging - standard, deluxe, and something that must be luxury. The Chelmsford is listed as a deluxe and we immediately noticed how nice that label can be. We still love the b and b experience because of the other visitors we normally encounter but if you want a comfy bed, quiet room, and a spacious room, give this one a try.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjkuzma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words in recognizing the hard work of our staff. Our team is truly dedicated to customer service and I'm glad it shows. I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stopped at the Best Western Plus in Chelmsford, MA on Friday night May 11. It was nearing 11 pm. I had traveled to Massachusetts to see the dance recitals of my granddaughter. I had had a long day of driving having come from Albany, NY. As it happened, the recital was over 3 hours long. I had forgotten to bring my regular glasses and was forced to drive with my prescription sunglasses. After being in Littleton and then on Route 495 I knew I would not make it to North Andover, where I had planned to stay with my brother and his wife safely. I found the Best Western Plus. Kathy Dugan was staffing the desk. She got me a handicap accessible room (I have to use crutches to walk) and she carried my luggage up to my room for me. Then, she went and got ice for me. I was pleased and surprised by the kindness and courtesy. The room was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep for my Saturday activity. Thanks to Kathy and the other staff who helped make my stay a good one!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevBarbaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

I am so glad we were here to help you and you were well rested for your grandaughter's recital. Cathy is truly a remarkable person and we are so fortunate and proud to have her on our staff. I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It may not look like much from the outside, but on the inside, this hotel is clean and cozy and the staff really go out of their way to help. Our car wouldn't start and the staff quickly found us a set of jumper cables. With checking in and out they were quick, efficient and friendly. Overall great experience. The breakfast is terrible, but I can't blame the staff for that... Overall good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We booked one room with a King sized bed for one night. It was fine for what we needed it for. It was clean and everything was in working order. The hot water did take about thirty minutes to turn on, though...that was kind of a drag. Also, the only person I saw working there was the front desk clerk who showed up after a couple minutes of us waiting around. Not totally welcoming, but it was late at night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel and Suites Chelmsford / Lowell
3.0 mi away
UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Lowell/Chelmsford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Westford - Chelmsford
5.5 mi away
Westford Regency Inn
Westford Regency Inn
#3 of 3 in Westford
461 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn

Address: 187 Chelmsford St, Chelmsford, MA 01824-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range: $99 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated, Three Diamond Massachusetts hotel in Chelmsford is a great choice for a stay in the New England area. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn offers guests comfortable accommodations with complimentary HOT breakfast buffet,free high-speed wireless Internet access,Keurig coffee makers and refrigerators in every room. Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness center, satellite television, free parking and a new restaurant/lounge - Moonstones for all to enjoy. Hotel banquet facilities are also available and are ideal for a special event or business meeting. With easy access to the highway, guests can easily head to Boston for an exciting day in the city or make the quick 27-mile drive to the Boston Logan International Airport. Visitors shouldn't miss America's Industrial Revolution commemorated at the Lowell National Historic Park in neighboring Lowell, Massachusetts. Experience all the rich historical attractions that abound in the Boston and New England region while staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn- great accommodations and service at a great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chelmsford Hotel Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
Best Western Chelmsford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing