We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishbones in the Village

Fishbones in the Village
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Center Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Visit here often as it is a local restaurant with quality food. We like to sit at the counter and watch the kitchen if the two of us are alone. I have eaten there many times and the fish is fresh and delicious and very reasonably priced. The one complaint is the noise. Do not go if you want a quiet and intimate dinner. In the warmer months there is an outside eating area that is very pleasant as long as the sun is not setting, as it can come dirrectly into your face. Service has been good to excellent. Wish they took reservations, as there is almost always a wait unless you get there for dinner before 5:30. Grilled, fried, baked fish are all excellent. Fried clams are small and sweet, grilled mahi is excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    120
    34
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've ordered the fish a few times there, as they are famous for their fish, and it was excellent. But do you know what item actually "wowed" me and keeps me coming back for more?

Their cheeseburger!!! Honest to Heaven, it's the best cheeseburger I've ever had. So when I eat there, I almost always order the cheeseburger. It's big, gooey, perfectly cooked and it comes on home made potato rolls. The cheese they pack on is so thick, it slides down the sides of that fresh baked roll - and it's Heaven!

They also make their own cole slaw (I'm normally wary of home made, cole slaws, but this one is stellar!) And the fries are, as always, wonderful.

Definitely worth checking out. It's an amazing little place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for seafood of all kinds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a very popular restaurant, with a typically long wait. Knowing this, we selected an earlier than normal (for us) time to arrive and seating was no problem, although we could see more people entering and being given pagers for their wait.

Decor and aromas are the tipoff that you're entering a seafood restaurant immediately on entering. . The dishes are all prepared to order and they can be very accommodating if you have any special food issues. Three of the four of us ordered the Seafood Mediterranean but one requested that it be served over rice rather than linguini and without the feta cheese. No problem at all. All three of us were very pleased with the dish- the variety and quantity of the seafood as well as the flavorings, etc. My wife had a seafood casserole which was also excellent.

If you can't find on-street parking when you arrive, you might have a problem finding the entrance to the rear parking lot. The parking lot is shared with a chiropractic office, and the entrance to the lot is at the office. If you are arriving from the south, turn in at the white building with the picket fence. Otherwise, by the time you get to the restaurant and see the sign pointing to parking at the rear, you've passed the entrance. All you can find is a one way exit driveway. So go around a second time & make the early turn.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank i-get-around-town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Super Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

What a surprise to discover this superlative seafood restaurant! If you are a fresh seafood aficionado as I am, as soon as you walk in the door of Fishbones you know that you have come to the right place. The aroma is redolent off simmering chowders, grilling fishes, poaching shellfish, inhale deeply. So many places proclaim clam chowder and what shows up at your table is a bowl of potatoes. Not so here, it was all clams with maybe a trace of potato. Large portion, great sea taste, creamy and succulent. And then I spotted fresh bluefish on the menu, something you rarely find. It was available 3 different ways, and I ordered it grilled. Fresh caught is the only way to prepare bluefish, and this was perfection on a plate, clearly slept in the ocean until the day they cooked it. The best I have ever tasted. It came with two sides,and the coleslaw was fresh and not gloppy, the sweet potato fries were huge chunks, barely cooked and lightly seasoned. An incredible meal. Service was attentive, polite, and helpful, and even though it was busy, the food came to us promptly. I want one close to where I live.......

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyKmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Major disappointment from a former favorite”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I made plans to have dinner with a couple of friends Tuesday evening. The woman in the couple was reluctant about our choice of restaurants because she had previously had a bad experience at Fishbones. We assured her that we had had several wonderful experiences. My husband called around 1:00 p.m. that afternoon to make a reservation. The gentleman who answered took his name, the time, the number in our party and even (pretended to?) make note of our preference for a larger table.

Imagine our surprise when we arrived at 6:50 to be told by the manager, Amy, that the restaurant "DOESN'T TAKE RESERVATIONS EVER , PER PROTOCOL." They do take call-aheads. We explained our earlier call to make a reservation that was by all accounts actually taken. She repeated her same protocol stance. With multiple requests and complaints on our part, she finally agreed that she would "try to do something for us." That something included seating at least four other parties ahead of us. We were finally seated an hour later. Nothing was done in the way of extra service or something complimentary from the menu. Perhaps it was the result of the very unexpected, shabby treatment, the food didn't have its usual appeal.

And the noise in the restaurant makes any real conversation across a table virtually impossible. We won't ever be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbones in the Village also viewed

 

Been to Fishbones in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing