We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word to describe...noisy”

Fishbones in the Village
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One word to describe...noisy”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have waited to review this restaurant until I visited again because the first time I went with a group of five friends to celebrate a birthday the server was beyond rude. The woman who chose the restaurant and arranged the evening had been there several times and assured us that she had previously never had such brusque and discourteous service. Our meals were very good but certainly not good enough to overshadow such insolent service. Reviews from others confirmed that our service experience was an anomaly but it took me over a year to be brave enough to go back. The service was much better, not high end service but pleasant enough. The lobster risotto was delicious and everyone was happy with their meals. Noisy and a bit pricey, without many other options in the area, Fishbones is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    128
    37
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Groton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is a weekly must!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I go to Fishbones at least once a week. The specials are always fantastic. The seafood is always amazingly fresh. Our favorite seats are at the counter where we can watch the chefs work their magic. If you are a fried seafood fan you have to try it here. It gets busy but it is worth the wait. The service is usually great too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle, ma
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If You Can Forget The Noise”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you can forget the decibel level and the crowding, this place is wonderful. I am reminded of Blacksalt in DC. There is even a fish market right on the premises. The seafood is fresh and perfectly prepared. There is a lively bar scene, although I could do without the TV. But GO for the fish. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had dinner here mid-week and was shocked at how crowded it was...until I was seated and realized that there is not a great deal of real estate. Admittedly the proximity to other diners made me slightly uncomfortable and the close knit set up makes for quite a loud dinner service. Those are, however, my only gripes. The service was fantastic, the wine list was good and i have never had such sweet succulent cherrystones in my life. I had the mediterranean pasta and it was fantastic, but with how intrigued i was by nearly every entree on the menu I'm sure whatever my ultimate choice was would have been a good one. Great find, highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a local restaurant should be”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A nice mix of thoughtful quality, excellent sourcing, accommodating staff, atmosphere, good cooking, location. Almost a bit of California cuisine in a seafood restaurant not on the water or in California - and a nice fish counter for takeout too. Also the burgers and non-seafood items are well above par. Have been coming here for years and always well up on the positive side

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbones in the Village also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing