We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”
Review of Moonstones

Moonstones
Reserve with OpenTable
Moonstones is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Description: General info: *Enjoy life one bite at a time at our globally inspired urban bistro in charming Chelmsford. *Come to celebrate or just to chill *open 7 days a week *"Sophisticated" Sunday brunch touted by Boston Globe Magazine Private Dining Book your next Shower, Wedding or Mitzvah, and have the moon all to yourselves, any Sunday from noon to 4PM. Moonstones celebrates global bonds-the moon, the sea, a love of food, wine, and revelry. We welcome you to enjoy beautiful design, local seafood and raw bar, globally inspired tapas and a carefully selected and wildly creative cocktail menu, beer and wine list. Moonstones promotes a fun, social, affordable atmosphere for those who seek a more diverse and dynamic dining option without the risk, cost and difficulty of distance or travel.
Boston
Level Contributor
268 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had an early dinner on Sunday afternoon at this delightful restaurant In Chelmsford. I had a terrific wild mushroom risotto dish, preceded by the ahi tuna tataki appetizer that was crisp and refreshing. Our guest was equally pleased with a sesame soy-lacquered salmon over steamed rice. Music a bit loud, but that was quickly remedied at our request. Pleasant surroundings, attentive waitstaff and an ice-cold martini rounded out a great experience at Moonstones! We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gyrfalcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    81
    26
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went with wife for drinks and apps.......Very good but it is Mahattan type place so the portions are smaller then you maybe used to but excellent. Good part about her is you dont waddle out the place. Drinks and bartenders were A+++. My only tip is if you are going to the bar and like to peopl watch dont sit on th end cap sit on the sies of bar (bar is 3 sided). Definitely a step above most are restarants!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splath, Owner at Moonstones, responded to this review, March 18, 2016
Hi Scott237,

Thank you so much for your prompt and kind review. We take great pride in our food, service and atmosphere, and we love it when our guests notice!

Thank you again for your time and feedback. Hope you have a great weekend!

Sincerely,

The Stones Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, comically bad service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were looking for a high quality restaurant for 12 people to have a congratulatory dinner for a job well done on Tuesday, March 12, 2013. I searched the area found Moonstones, the only high end restaurant close to us. I attempted to make a reservation for 6:00 pm from their website. It asked for date, time and party size; no name, no phone number. How would they know it was me? I saw a note on the website saying that online reservations are 100% accurate, therefore please call. I called and they made the person made the reservation after checking with the manager for approval.

Half of our party arrived on time, the other half was late due to an unforeseen issue. We all ordered at the same time, but the meals did not come to the table together. Some appetizers for a few, then some more, then a few entrees, a few more, some forgotten appetizers them came out, etc. We had one person get their rib eye after everyone else had finished their entrees. One appetizer came out right before the dessert order was taken. The runners did not seem to know who was to get what plate. There was apologies every time someone came to the table to deliver a plate.

All in all, they were very apologetic, took off a few entree from the bill, brought extra desserts (we don't know if that was on purpose) and told us it is not normally like this. It did not seem very busy for a Tuesday, but then again, it was our first time there.

The food was excellent, when it came.

I would give it another chance if I had a smaller group.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankm358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a SecondTry”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The ambiance was very nice. We were seated next to a fireplace. The restaurant was busy but the noise level was at a level where conversation was possible.The winelist was a disappointment and very pricey but the oysters were great....very fresh. My meal (steak frites) was very good but a bit pricey. My companion had the picatta which was also very good. The service was the weak spot...our server did not seem very knowledgable and could not answer basic questions on menu items. He also disappeared for long periods of time. There is plenty of onsite parking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacknh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy oysters, nice selection of tapas, and creative cocktails.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was looking for a good place for oysters near Lowell MA. This place delivered. Little pricey but really good. I would come again. Clive at the raw bar was great!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatherkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstones also viewed

 

Been to Moonstones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing