We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give me more of this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2010

nearly everything a resort should be. we stayed in - 481 and 483 in the cottages near the spa w/views of the public golf course. both had two comfy queen size beds and were nicely furnished with tons of seating (2 benches, 3 lounging chairs, 2 other chairs, window seat), game table, large desk, bose CD player, bathroom, built ins that would be great for longer stays, an extra sink and prep counter outside the bathroom great for families, large than normal hotel refrigerator. lounging around the room was in itself a pleasant activity. the main inn has great welcoming lounge spaces throughout and beautiful huge porch.

we were leery of dining in the inn due to huge numbers of negative reviews - ignore them. food was good to excellent. yes a bit pricey and restaurant service can be a tad slow but they were all nice professionals wait staff. we had the breakfast buffet ($20/pp) in the tavern and had the easter brunch ($88/head). Easter brunch in the main restaurant was pricey but included 4 kinds of caviar, lobsters, oysters and beautiful views.

our only disappointment was that the pool wasn't open and we weren't told when we made our reservations for easter weekend (so we bought a lot of swimwear), despite weather forecast in 70s. it only stayed in the low 60s and it was very breezy. bring extra warm clothes when visiting.

hotel beach was across the street; beautiful, waters looked nice and calm. would be great for children

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank NYCNIKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,718 - 1,724 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

The inn is located in one of the most beautiful areas on Cape Cod. We stayed in a deluxe cottage suite which came with all the amenities one would expect from a Leading Hotel of the World. Service is excellent and the staff is very friendly. We ate on property both nights given that several restaurants we were interested in, were closed. This being said, the food we ate in the Tavern was mediocre. Salads and desserts were great but main courses were not memorable. All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweeneyBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

From the time we checked in until the moment we left, the staff was friendly, helpful, and courteous. We stayed at the Seaside Cottage and the room was quiet, clean, meticulous, comfortable, with very upscale amenities. The views and the property itself outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDTFarmington_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

What a treat! The Chatham Bars Inn is superbly understated, and meets every expectation. The staff is welcoming, helpful and friendly. It is impeccably clean. In the rooms, the beds are comfy with outstanding sheets and pillows. The tub was awesome and having the bathrobe to put on after my bath was perfect. The view from my room/balcony was nothing less than spectacular. The area by the fire was great to warm up when coming in from the cold or just to sit and relax. The porch with the aderondac chairs overlooking the beach was beautiful. I have stayed at many 4 and 5 star resorts all over the world and believe that the Chatham Bars Inn is the most comfortable, friendly and wonderfully understated place in which I have stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimbaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBI-4107, General Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

It was great to see your positive review on TripAdvisor. Enthusiastic guest feedback about our accommodations and guest services, especially from experienced and discerning
world travelers, means a lot to us. It never fails to boost our staff’s motivation to maintain and exceed CBI’s high standards of performance. We are all delighted that your stay was enjoyable
and met all of your and my expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a spectacular visit to Chatham Bars Inn. We stayed at the wonderful Chatham Bars Inn and the service, room, location and ambiance far surpassed our expectations. Never having been to Chatham before we were not sure what to expect . From the minute we walked in the front door of the Inn we were impressed. We were greeted warmly by the front desk staff. Our room had been upgraded to a gorgeous ocenfront cottage and we were given a delightful little bag of goodies from the Chamber of Commerce for their "Paint the Town Red" celebration. The bag was filled with coupons and goodies from many of the merchants in town. We made it a point to visit as many of the shops and galleries as we could and thanked them for making us feel so welcome. Sunday night we attended a very special Valentine's Day celebration in the main dining room and it too was unbelievable. We cannot wait to return to this wonderful resort and visit the town again. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to any looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank givensEssex_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBI-4107, General Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

Thank your for posting such a positive review on Trip Advisor.
It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests’ experience
was everything they hoped for from arrival until departure.
We are all delighted that we were able to provide you with
a memorable experience, especially since your stay
took place over Valentine’s Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

CBI is a fantastic home base for all things Cape Cod. Fantastic rooms, views. facilities. You cannot get closer to the ocean without getting wet! Old world charm. Chatham is a short walk. Expensive but worth it for special times. Great pool oceanside with service.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank JamieAnne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

First off- there is no way I could afford to stay here during high season. Absolutely none. That said, I wish I could because my visit to the Chatham Bars Inn during the off season was spectacular.

I was here for a conference in November, and it was a great experience.

Coming in, it was a gorgeous fall day. Getting to the parking lot took some maneuvering (don't trust your GPS, use the website directions) but once I was there, everything was great. The front desk had my room ready for early check-in, and I was in a suite!

The room itself- there are no words. It was on the third floor of the main building and just FULL of character. A living room with TV, bar, espresso machine (shame I don't drink it), couch, coffee table & chair. And oh yes- the door to the balcony overlooking the water with AMAZING views. The bathroom was in the middle of the room (dividing the living room & bedroom) and was full of high-end (L'occitane) products, stunning white & chrome fixtures, and a great bath/shower. The bedroom had another TV, Bose stereo, mini-bar and super-comfy bed with tons of pillows. I don't know who decorated this place, but it was just so modern yet classic- the absolute perfect hotel room. Other great touches: the lamps throughout the rooms, the slopes ceilings that gave the room such a cozy feel, the bathrobes/slippers that were in the closet and then laid out on the bed when I returned from dinner.

The rest of the facilities were equally great. Meeting rooms on the beach, every chair, notepad and coffee cup was of the highest quality. Free wi-fi throughout the property. Staff was helpful and friendly at every turn. Meals were fantastic- creative and delicious. The main lobby was full of comfortable couches and chairs, and the fireplace was roaring making for a quintessential New England 'lodge' feel in this lovely hotel.

Overall, I wish I could have spent a week here. I definitely hope to be back; it makes a GREAT off-season escape at very affordable rates.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBI-4107, General Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2010

It was a pleasure to read your enthusiastic review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us while attending a conference. From your vivid descriptions of our public areas, your room with its special comforts and amenities, our excellent cuisine, to your kind words of praise for the performance of our friendly and attentive staff , we could not ask for a better customer response. We are delighted that you would not hesitate to return to CBI and we look forward to welcoming you back, be it for a business or leisure.

Paul Zuest
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.4 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,142 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: $237 - $885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing