We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I visited the Chatham Bars Inn with my family. For the most part, our stay was pleasant however, based on the price alone I was expecting much more.

The grounds were lovely - they were manicured beautifully. The staff was welcoming and very hospitable.

The room was dirty. The carpet was absolutely filthy. It was wet and stained when we arrived. I was concerned about letting my children walk and play on the carpeting. The room was extraordinarily small and austere. The floors were buckled. The bathroom was tiny - two people could not fit in the bathroom and the door blocked the toilet when opened. No HBO, no Disney Channel, no premium cable - I thought premium cable was vailable in most budget hotels. There was a Nespresso machine in the room which was delightful and the L'Occitane bath products were also lovely. Espresso and soap, however, do not a good room make.

The balcony / deck had the prior guests' dirty glass cocktails waiting for us when we arrived; my toddler found them first. More concerning, the deck was dangerous for small children as a child could easily fall off the balcony. We were very careful not to allow the children near the deck and did not enjoy the deck at all.

The pool was dated - a throwback to the 1970's Catskill resorts. Ditto for the lounge chairs, cabanas and beach accessories. At one point, I stepped on a tomato slice while walking around the pool area. The hotel beach towels were so tattered they looked like an old pair of terry cloth socks with severe pulls and holes in them.

Moreover, the mediocre food and average cocktail menu simply did not warrant the exorbitant prices. We wound up eating most of our meals off property which defeated the purpose of staying at a resort.

I expected much more and was disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,728 - 1,734 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

i was concerned after reading some of the reviews about CBI, but i was pleasantly surprised to find my experience almost perfect.

A couple of reviewers wrote about crossing a busy street to get to the beach, well the steets not that busy and everyone stops for you.

The pool was crowded, but less so than the pool at the Ritz Carlton in Key Biscayne and the Palatzzo in Las Vegas or Congress Hall in Cape May...all places I think are great.

The food is good, not great.

The service was fine. Whenever i needed something i got it quickly. definetly a lot of kids working the summer, but i thought they were all professional.

1  Thank crabbytraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at the premiere cottage suite with ocean view for 1 week around July 4. It is ocean view, you cannot access the beach from the room. The overall property was great, especially the beach and the shuttle boat that take you to the Outer beach. We did a lobster tour through the hotel and was great fun. Tried several times to do the pirate cruise for the kids but got cancelled due to weather. Kids tried the complementary kids program and loved it. Good counselor to kids ratio. Nepresso coffee in the room was a big plus. Worst thing is the food there. Sunday brunch was decent, pricey. Lunch at the Beach House Grill was awful. The worst clam chowder I had during the whole trip. We also did a clam bake and the hotel actually ran out of food during the buffet... no more lobster, mussels or even corn on the cob... after paying $100 per person. The covered cabana by the pool cost about $100 a day. I wonder what the resort charge is for then?? Gift shop has some excellent finds. The fish pier adjacent to the hotel actually has the best clam chowder in town. All in all, we had a great time. Probably will not go there again since it is too overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mesashopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Excellent well-serviced rooms but lack outside area adjacent rooms. Service in the restaurants can be poor as summer staff (some with attitude) can struggle in busy periods. Food and wine OK but overpriced. Recommend reserve in The Grill in summer season, we waited 1.5 hours for a 30-min place. Go into Chatham - there are plenty of much better value places with atmosphere to eat in within 10-15 mins walk or take the excellent free trolley bus service.

Pool is too small for the size of hotel. Gym is OK but again on small side. Good base for the Cape and islands. Hotel beach small but OK; attentive staff - Chatham Light beach is close and better. Whale watching out of Provincetown was awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippians4-6_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just came back from CBI - Beautiful resort. Great Service - if you want it ...they have it...and did it that right way! Definately take the boat over to North Beach - pack a cooler - miles of sandy beach - lots of seals - waves...just a treat! My two boys, 7&9 loved it. They hung out on South Lawn playing bocci and wiffle ball. It is very expensive - but well worth it.

1  Thank kglebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I am a 42 yr old high maintenance man. I recently splurged and took my family for an overnight to the CBI on our way to P town. I had heard wonderful things about this hotel through the years and have always wanted to experience it.
From the moment we drove in, I knew this was the place for us. Manicured lawns, impeccable gardens, plenty of staff to assist, and well maintained buildings along the seaside coast. We stayed in the Cottage Rose with two queen beds. The linens were superb-white and crisp! The bed was comfortable to sleep on- our room looked well cared for. The bathroom had wonderful amenities and great towels.
We ate dinner in the formal dining room. Service was great and the food (surf & turf ) was delicious. The whole evening was magical !
The next day we (regretfully) checked out but we were able to enjoy the heated pool complex until we departed at 3pm. Comfortable lounge chairs,towels and a great family pool. Staff were abound for your every need. We had lunch at the grill and had the most delicious lobster salad while a gentleman sang and played his guitar in the corner of the restaurant. I commend the owners of this establishment for a well run business. Thank you for a wonderful 24 hours!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportGuyNewportRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Extremely crowded, many many people milling about in lobby. We checked in at 5:15 and the maid had just finished cleaning our room. No room at the restaurants available until after 8;45 so we popped into the casual lounge. The food selection was boring and the quality was poor and was served cold. At 6:00 pm on a Thursday night they ran out of martini glasses-no dishwasher apparently. Our waiter was wearing more aftershave than the dinner had flavor! Our room overlooked the service entrance and we heard all the staff arrive at 7:00 am as they stood behind the fence smoking cigarettes on this absoloutely "smoke free resort" The neighbors upstairs had children who clomped around at 10:30 at night and again at 6am. Our bathroom door did not shut. The gift shops had no soda, juice or extra cookies or candy for sale, and no mini bar selections in the room. All in all complete disappointment especially at the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbfminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: $259 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing