We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has lost some of its charm.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Has lost some of its charm.”
Reviewed April 4, 2009

This was the fourth consecutive year we've spent a winter weekend at the Chatham Bars, and while it is still a very pleasant place to stay, some of the more charming touches have been done away with. The complimentary afternoon tea in the lounge--which used to be a very pleasant break in the day (we're not there for the beach in late March, after all)--has been scrapped in favor of high tea in the dining room. My three-year-old doesn't have much use for $30 cucumber sandwiches, so we had to take a pass on that.

Also, several ancient pieces of furniture (including a red velvet chair/throne that was ridiculously large, and another furniture set that was sized for kids) have been removed. My kids loved that stuff and were devastated that the pieces were gone.

We asked, and were told that these moves were intended to make the hotel more "upscale". Perhaps they succeeded--there were plenty of fashionable Range Rover types staying there the weekend of our stay. However, we can seek out that crowd in Boston if we so choose.

We missed the sense that the hotel had some history. It used to feel like an old-school beach house or ski lodge, but much of the character of the place has been stripped away. I will, however, say that the food at the Tavern improved dramatically since the previous year.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantabrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    308
    146
    89
    36
See reviews for
509
862
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Really nice place however; we did not get refills on coffee in our room daily, nor did it get cleaned daily, there were cracks and spiderwebs on the walls, the people staying and working here were very upity and really looked down their noses at you. If your looking to go in the water make sure you bring watershoes b/c the water is filled with rocks and muscle shells it's a little gross. But such a beautiful view. We were so excited to go here and then so disappointed and for the issues we had they were so nice to give us a mere $50 off our total bill of lets just say lots of money. Found a new place at our next stop for a fraction of the price that was much better. The parking for our house was for 3 cars only so if you didn't get a spot you had to park down the block. For the money you spend you should be able to park your car in your house if you want to. No real store to buy anything for under $100.00 like water, advil, snacks, etc...

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antyfreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCumberland114
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2009

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary and decided on a spa experience at Chatham Bars Inn. I had stayed at the hotel once before on a business trip and my wife was staying for the first time. We stayed in one of the spa suites. A better choice for a romantic weekend with your spouse or partner would be tough to make. The room included King Size Bed with wonderful linens, gas fireplace with two comfortable chairs, dry sauna, jacuzzi tub for two, double shower including steam, great lighting, Bose Wave Radio, plasma with high def and great bathroom products and two robes. They have thought of everything a couple would want for romance and comfort.

We also tried out the spa and did a couples massage. My wife got the signature massage and I went for the Sweedish Massage. One hour of pure delight. I would suggest the treatments for late in the day as you will be totally relaxed and not want to much more after. The spa staff was very attentive and friendly and the mens and women's locker rooms had everything you could possibly want. This was my first professional massage. I can't imagine getting a better one. My wife has had several and she said this was her best as well. We had dinner in the tavern at the resort and that was also great. Service in the restaurant was perfect. We give the resort, restaurant and spa our highest rating. My wife and I have traveled extensively and stayed in many fine hotels. I know the Inn can be expensive during high season. It is the perfect spot that winter getaway with small crowds,attentive service and great off season rates.

We asked for a late check out on Sunday a one hour extension and that was granted very easily. The Cape Cod Chamber of Commerce also provided us with some great advice in making this selection and restaurants in Chatham.
Perfect winter getaway.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCumberland114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolside55
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We live on the Southcoast of Massachusetts and were looking for a place nearby to celebrate my wifes birthday. We looked at a few places and decided on the Chatham Bars Inn Spa because they claimed to have saunas, fireplaces, hot tubs, and steam showers IN EVERY ROOM. And it is winter so we planned on spending most of the time in the room. My wife also wanted to get a massage and the spa has a fully staffed wellness facility on the first floor. We arrived on Friday and from the start were very impressed! The grounds are gorgeous and incredibly maintained. Ocean views from the main hotel and restaurant are very nice and the size of the entire resort is impressive!
The spa guest rooms are the best we have ever stayed in and I can't imagine a better place to vacation. Our room had a sauna, a huge glass enclosed tiled room with his/her showers and steam unit, a gas fireplace, and an oversized oval hot tub! The spa downstairs also has an outdoor pool and hot tub that was still open even in January. Too cold for the pool but the hot tub was a toasty 105 degrees and we gave it a try. We got a couple of strange looks from bundled up guests and spa staff who walked by on the way to the spa. But it wasnt cold in the tub even though it was 10 degrees outside. We loved it! The fitness room is small but well maintained. We had afternoon tea and sandwiches on the first day which was very good and highly recommended. We ordered room service for dinner and it was amazing. We highly recommend the Baked Cod and the lobster roll. On Saturday we had a couples swedish massage which was outstanding! We went to dinner at the main dining room and again the food was very good. The lobster pie was in a tiny dish though and didn't have any side dishes with it. If you get the lobster pie get a salad with it or an appetizer. Prime Rib was very good. We had the same housekeeping woman the entire weekend and she was very friendly and helpful. Despite being a good ways away from the main hotel we did not have a long wait for service. We needed ice...they brought it inside 10 minutes! Towels? Robe? Room service? Whatever we needed we recieved quickly and with a smile. Everybody from the spa staff to the hotel and restaurant staff were first class all the way. We loved it and we are going back for my birthday in March. Oh and one tip...When you turn on the water for your in room hot tub...beware of getting soaked! The water flows down from the 10 foot ceiling!

  • Liked — In room hot tub, steam room, sauna
  • Disliked — It was very warm in the room even with the heat off.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bayside55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I went there with my 2 kids who are rather rambunctious 3 and 6 year olds. I had read that it was family friendly but I was still worried that their running through halls and loud talking would upset other people. Far from it. This was the most family friendly place I have stayed in. It's upscale, yet not overbearingly so. Everyone was wonderful. The beach is spectacular. The town is a 5 minute walk from it and very lovely with restaurants, novelty shops and even a bookstore.
My 2 kids loved it so much, they begged me to come back in the summer. The rates are exorbitant but I just booked a 6 day vaction in June. They run a min-camp for kids during the high season which is included in a $28 resort fee. Which is in addition to the pretty high room rate. But I think it's totally worth it!!
For other reviewers who complained it wasn't fancy eneough, I don't what they were expecting. It's not ahotel, it's an inn. You can't expect it to be like the Ritz or the Four Seasons. As far as Inns go, it is as upscale as it gets.

  • Liked — Location, service, food, family friendly-ness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travellera781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

First, the good news... it's a beauthful location. And when we reported we had no hot water, they addressed the problem within a half hour.

The bad news? We heard three other families echo our sentiments - we won't stay there again. Disorganized, dining experiences only fair, and things not as advertised (for instance, the premier cottage room was advertised as having a "direct ocent front view" and fireplace... but did not and when we inquired, we were told we had to "request that" - I would have thought reserving the room as advertised was request enough). Perhaps the Inn was not on its game given that it was off season - but we still paid nearly $500 per night for a very mediocre experience, and won't bother staying in season.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not as advertised - very mediocre
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sla_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

My experience here was great - they even upgraded our room so we ended up right on the water. The room exceeded all expectations - the bathroom, the large living area & the bedroom. It was unbelievable. Our only (small) complaints were the lack of dining in the area - maybe a problem with this time of year - and the fact you're on a bay and can only see the ocean a ltitle ways away. The check-in process was wonderful but did feel slightly pretentious. We definitely like our luxuries but we felt like we were a little out of place. I think this would be a better getaway for romance & business rather than families.

  • Liked — room - spacious, clean & awesome
  • Disliked — location wasn't as good as expected
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilac7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
8.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
591 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,079 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing