We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Outstanding and memorable experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Chatham Bars Inn exemplifies an Outstanding resort hotel. The staff are friendly and happy in a sincere way. The spa was amazing, the hot stone and deep tissue massage was pure bliss. We stayed in a spa suite and I did not want to leave- it's beautifully appointed, comfy bed and pillow, steam shower, sauna, jacuzzi tub, fireplace--heavenly. If you want to get away and truly relax, this is the place to go. The restaurant, Stars was also wonderful for dinner and a great buffet breakfast. We were celebrating my husbands birthday and before we left we reserved a weekend to celebrate my birthday! We did not want to leave.
Joanne Fortunato

Room Tip: The spa rooms are heavenly, large, spacious, beautiful. Gas fireplace, 2 person sauna, jacuzzi tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    308
    146
    89
    36
See reviews for
509
864
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We checked in after a long drive and we were and looked quite exhausted; the front desk supervisor noticed that as well. While she was checking us in, she made of point of letting us know that we got a “Groupon” deal, I didn’t think it was necessary. In fact, I think it is rather un-classy, there were other guests nearby as well. I have stayed at many luxury resorts before on some kind of special or other and they never had the need to announce it out loud. Check-in did take longer than usual, she seemed to have some computer trouble but the gentleman working next to her was able to show her how to navigate through the system. Once we completed the check-in, I informed her that we had a few bags (we just went shopping), and wanted to know how to get back in the hotel and our room. Her explanation was very confusing, she told us that we could park ourselves but if we wanted to have a valet do it then we turn into another street. I think she figured we didn’t want to use to valet parking. We were so tired, we just wanted to get into the building as soon as possible; we did need the help. So, we drove into the valet area, and the bellman came in, I gave him $5 and we took out our 2 suitcases and maybe about 10 paper shopping bags. So, at this point, I was carrying my tote bag, my husband’s knapsack and about 10 shopping bag, and he asked me if we needed help carrying the bags to the room. I was surprised because I thought I was giving him $5 tip for that. I was irritated by now I said no. Then my husband and I walked in and looked for the elevator. We got in the elevator very awkwardly with all our bags and was trying to find the floor to room 110 as marked by the lady who checked us in. There were only 3 floors and we were confused and holding up the elevator, then we had to get out because we didn’t know where we had to go. I flagged another employee and asked for help, he told me it was room 11 and it was on the 2nd floor. That isn’t common sense – someone should have told me that. And, not once did the second bell man offer to help carry the bags to our room - a stranger would have tried to help a lady trying to carry about 12 bags. I was so disappointed. With a bad start, it is hard to recover. But to the resort's credit, the other wait staff at the restaurant were pleasant, the room was nice enough and their housekeeping staff were very friendly. The food was good but pricey - we ate only at their restaurant during our 2 night stay. Another benefit is that you get free wifi with the $10 daily resort fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortmanagercbi, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to learn that after your drive to Chatham, our performance at check in was both confusing and irritating to you. Overall our front of house staff is consistently given high marks for their quality of service, professionalism and accuracy, however in the instance we clearly fell short.

Although we are in a period of training many new members of our team for the coming season, it is our duty to ensure guests are treated with proper attention and given accurate information from our more seasoned staff, while they also work with new team members in training. I will certainly relay your concerns with our Front Office Manager so that we can prevent from occurring again.

I was happy to also read that you found our restaurant staff and housekeepers to be pleasant along with your room accommodations, which is more of the norm across the board. Please don’t hesitate contacting me directly should you have any further questions or concerns, my direct line is 508.945.6710.

Thank you again for your candid 3-star review, I feel that is a fair assessment given the circumstances of your initial greeting. Once again, I do apologize for our falling short of expectation during your initial check in, I know that we can and do much better than this on a normal basis.

We will look forward to welcoming you back under a more organized fashion with staff readily available to assist next time around.

Truly,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
mbriggs@chathambarsinn.com
508.945.6710
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Outstanding in every regard; a hotel which really knows how to look after you. It's in a beautiful spot with fabulous views, wonderfully appointed. The room (in Seaview) was wonderfully appointed and extremely comfortable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing and tremendously luxurious vacation or even a local stay-cation, I would highly recommend Chatham Bars Inn for their service, quality of rooms, and food! This place is truly the place to be year round, not just summers! Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kravmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A little pricey but the location is great and the rooms have a cozy cape cod feel. The food is okay, if you do your research think you can do better eating out. Beach is only steps away, staff was friendly and accommodating .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Location is stunning and you can't beat having your breakfast looking at that view. We stayed as a family if four in one of the seaside guest houses. Extremely comfortable, loads of room and immaculately clean. The fish served in the tavern is second only to that served in the East Neuk of Fife. Would love to come back in the summer to make greater use of the amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed at Chatham Bars Inn a number of times but never over the Easter holidays. It was such a special weekend I felt I had to write another review. My husband, (almost) 3 year old son, and I stayed 2 nights in an oceanview cottage suite. The views are spectacular overlooking the sand bars and Atlantic ocean. We arrived a little early but the front desk was able to pre-check us in and called us when the room was ready. We took the opportunity to take a walk on their private beach. Later in the afternoon (about 5:30pm) the Easter Bunny knocked on our door with an Easter basket for our son. It just made his weekend. It's these extra touches that make Chatham Bars Inn such a special place. We attended the Easter Egg hunt the next morning which was a lot of fun for the kids. The resort offers a fabulous Easter Brunch in their Stars restaurant - early reservations are needed. After another afternoon strolling on the beach we ordered room service on the Sunday evening - excellent service and food. I can't say enough good things about this place. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanvierw cottage suite on the bluff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarraigBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
8.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
593 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,081 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing