We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
North Greenbush
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding weekend!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I could not have asked for a better experience! Every detail was covered and then some!

Room Tip: I've never stayed in the main Inn but have stayed in a number of the guest cottages and every ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    308
    146
    89
    36
See reviews for
509
864
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

How can you say anything bad about the Chatham Bars Inn? It is quite expensive, but every now and again, you have to splurge and treat yourself to something special. This is the place! I will be reviewing the hotel restaurant in another review. (It was fabulous). I reserved a handicapped room since I'd be traveling with my 90 year old mother. She uses a walker. The room was perfect for our needs. We were lucky enough to have a room with a gas-fired fireplace. It was wonderful. The beds were extremely comfortable. My only negative comment would be that the walls are very thin. You can almost hear the conversation going on with the guests next door. But charming, very charming.

Room Tip: Ask about the out-buildings that accommodate guests, as well. Possibly more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eyesofbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We just spent our second weekend at this beautiful hotel/resort. The service and smiles are outstanding. We stayed in a seaside "cottage" which has all the amenities you would want. To come back from a chilly evening walk to the warmth of clicking on a gas fireplace was wonderful. Truly panoramic views - watched the sunrise Sunday morning and read the Sunday paper in an Adirondack chair, sipping their delicious coffee and watched seals pop up also enjoying the equisite day. Only had their breakfast but it was outstanding. Town of Chatham totally charming so shopping and walking was enjoyable. Choice of nice restaurants in the area if you want dining outside of the resort ... we found a couple!

Room Tip: We sprung for the seaside cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments surrounding our resort and staff. We are honored that your descriptive quote on Chatham Bars Inn was described as a “Spectacular Place.” We will look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

upon making a reservation for a "king room with fireplace- oceanfront cottage" we were placed in a room with two double beds and no fireplace. VERY disappointing. not quite the romantic getaway we had imagined.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and others on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to learn that we were unable to fulfill the specific requests of your room reservation in early November. Where at times we cannot guarantee requests such as a fireplace, bedding preferences are met based on our flexible room inventory. Upon further investigation, one of our staff members inadvertently moved your reservation from a king bedded ocean cottage with a fireplace to a cottage ocean room without a fireplace. Mistakes do happen occasionally however it is our best intent to meet all of our guest’s requests while keeping mistakes to a minimum. I apologize for the fact that we did not catch this mistake prior to your arrival.
Our executive office is also responding to your online comment card that was received yesterday and will address some of your concerns in greater detail at that time.
Thanks again for your review and I will look forward to welcoming you back under better, more coordinated circumstances next time around. If you wish to discuss your review directly, please don’t hesitate contacting me directly at 508.945.6710 any time.

Truly,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chatham Bars Inn for our 5 year wedding anniversary and we had an amazing time. We stayed in one of the rooms in the Spa area and it was gorgeous - fireplace, whirlpool, sauna, mounted flat screen TV - we never wanted to leave! Even though the weather was terrible outside, the room was so beautiful and luxurious to ride out the storm in. We also had a great meal at the hotel tavern - we were both very impressed by our mussels and fish entrees and the appetizers. In addition, the service was excellent throughout our stay - we did not have a dinner reservation when we arrived and the concierge/ tavern hostess quickly took care of us even though it was a busy Sat night. I am already planning another trip to the Chatham Bars Inn for our next anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Third time visiting and had a great time. first class service and accommodations

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Location and scenery were great. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Disappointed in the room. It was warm and AC did not seem to work. On check out we mentioned the AC problem and were told they were aware of the problem and were waiting on parts to repair it. Although the rooms were nicely appointed it should never have been rented. We were also disappointed the main dinning room was closed. We had a ninety minute wait for dinner in the bar/cafe!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the golf crourse for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Robert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts regarding our staff, resort location and scenery. I am sorry to hear that the air conditioning in your guestroom was inoperable. Where I am not certain of what room, cottage or dates of your visit, I am unable to research the matter further for resolve. If you have an opportunity to phone my office directly, I would appreciate learning more of your visit, where and when your dining experience was delayed and how I can resolve any of your concerns. I can be reached at 508.945.6710 anytime.
We are committed to taking action on guest feedback and appreciate your candid feedback. I will look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly.
Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
8.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
593 reviews
16.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,081 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing