We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The consistant level of exceptional service at the Chatham Bars Inn is second to none. My husband and I travel extensively and have stayed at some of the finest resorts in the world- few hold a candle to the classic beauty and sophistication of this hotel on the sea. We recently re-visited the resort for a relaxing vacation and it just keeps getting better and better. Highlights this trip included the new Gazebo Terrace Bar (the absolute perfect location to enjoy an early evening cocktail, overlooking the water) and the extremely warm, professional staff interactions we experienced (particularly Kathleen at the front desk who checked us in and out--just loved her warmth and resourcefulness!). We were also able to take kayaks out onto Pleasant Bay for the first time, which was just wonderful. The easy elegance and five star service continues to bring us back year after year and has yet to disappoint.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
There are newer reviews for Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,524 - 1,530 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you truly want an exquisite experience on the cape, you must take a trip to Chatham Bars Inn. The location, the accommodations, the service all are truly top notch. Whether it is a weekend getaway, or a celebrating a memorable moment, I can't think of a better place to be. I have been coming here with my family for several years, and we expect to make it an ongoing annual event. Seeing the sunrise over the bars, savoring lunch by the seaside, and marveling in the majestic moonlight over the bay are all memories that I will never forget.

Room Tip: Its hard not to have a good room here - but a water view is icing on the cake. The suites are especi...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

One of my favorite places to stay! The main inn has old world character and all the luxury you'd expect at those prices. As they have expanded, they have kept the charm by adding cottage properties next door on the golf course and across the street on the ocean. All are modern and tastefully decorated but still feel like the old Chatham Bars Inn. The spa is fantastic and the massages were heavenly. Sitting on the veranda and having drinks just feels wonderful:) It is just a short walk to town which makes this location perfect. A wonderful place to get away or plan a wedding?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trekfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband & I decided to splurge for a special honeymoon location and decided upon Chatham Bars Inn Resort & Spa. Arriving very late in the evening we were thrilled to see helpful friendly check-in staff awaiting our arrival. They efficiently directed us to our cottage where we found chocolate strawberries and champagne.
The room was beautiful and bathroom was well stocked with quality products for our use. We awoke to breathtaking views of the ocean and sunrise. The pillows are to die for; I have never slept on anything like them.
The staffs on duty during the day were helpful, friendly and extremely accommodating. Despite a huge wedding being hosted by the hotel we were made to feel special on our honeymoon.
The restaurants and bars are comfortable with a lovely menu from which to choose meals.
This is not an inexpensive hotel in which to stay, but if you appreciate quality don't hesitate to book a holiday here.

Room Tip: there is a fridge and tea/coffee in the room so you could bring a few extras with you like wine
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonRoseMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I am the father of the groom. The wedding itself was spectacular. The venue, food and staff were all first rate. Staying at the Chatham Bars Inn (CBI) itself was not so great. The "wedding rate" for our postage stamp size room was over $400 a night and came with a wonderful view of CBI's roof-top air-conditioning units. The rate did not include internet access, which could be purchased for an additional $10 per diem charge. We checked in early afternoon, and while changing for our Rehearsal Dinner, found that the bathtub drain did not work. There was not sufficient time to have the drain repaired so we made the best of a bad situation.
On the wedding day we returned to our room just before 2PM to prepare for the 5PM wedding. We had planned to bathe & change in time to welcome the babysitter who was tasked to sit for our grandchildren in our room. We were stunned to find that our room had not been cleaned. When we asked for immediate cleaning, we were informed that they could only guarantee cleaning by 4PM! We proceeded to make the bed and grab towels from a deserted cleaning cart on the next floor. While closing our room blinds, we discovered some to be inoperative. Forgetting our room issues, we then proceeded to enjoy a wonderful once in a lifetime wedding experience.
At check out the next morning, I detailed to the front desk our room negative room experience, hoping for some accomodation. I received in return an "I'm sorry sir", and nothing more. So, to the CBI folks, let me say that I'm sorry to report that our family and friends will make a point to seek alternate accomodations when returning to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whiningguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and others on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to have hosted your sons recent wedding celebration and most grateful for your positive feedback on the overall wedding experience. I am sorry however to hear of your discontent with our Main Inn accommodations room location and general maintenance condition. Furthermore, I apologize if one of our reception desk managers was not available at the time of check out to assist with any of your concerns. Finding resolve in a challenge presented is our utmost goal, especially while the guest is still on property. I would welcome a conversation, if possible, so that I can learn more details of your visit in effort to offer proper compensation for your room troubles. I can be reached on my office line of 508-945-6710 anytime.

Thank you again for selecting Chatham Bars Inn for your son's recent wedding celebration and we look forward to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our room accommodations.

Kindly,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa is deservedly pricey. We spent a night in one of the nearby cottages, essentially a motel room in what looks like a two-level apartment. Even with a pair of double beds, the room looks spacious with ample closet space, a nicely styled bathroom, a separate sink outside the bathroom and a coffee maker on an attractive dresser. There is a small two-chair table next to the bench window seat. The beds, pillows and comforters were among the best I've enjoyed in any room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank doctorbobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

For our very first visit to the Cape, we chose to splurge and stay here for one night over Labor Day weekend. The room was very clean, nicely appointed and big. The grounds were lovely and the views of the bay were beautiful. I really wanted to love this place ... but I couldn't because of the staff. From our check-in at the front desk, to the rude staff in the gift shop, the unaccomadating receptionist at the Spa, to the woman at the concierge desk ....noone went out of their way to help you out. The easiest answer they knew how to give was "no" instead of figuring out how to get to "yes, we can make that happen." The pool staff and the kayak instructor were the two exceptions. We will not return here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woopoo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgbriggs, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and others on Trip Advisor. As this was your first visit to the Cape, we are thrilled that you chose to stay at Chatham Bars Inn. I am sorry however to hear that potentially, specific members of our staff in various areas were found to be unaccommodating, according to your comments. It is our goal to ensure that all of our team members are performing to the highest service standards at all times. In addition, having accurate resort information and resources is essential so that we never have to resort to saying “no” to any of our guests. Occasionally even the finest of luxury hotels and resorts may have a service hiccup, and again I am sorry that you were subject to that at Chatham Bars Inn.
It is never easy to reverse a bad first impression; however we would be honored to invite you back for a service experience that is seamless from arrival through departure. Please don’t hesitate contacting me directly to discuss further or if I can be of assistance for a future visit. My direct line is ---------.

Truly,

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
8.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
718 reviews
13.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
14.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
611 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 297 Shore Road, Chatham, MA 02633-2358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chatham
#4 Family Hotel in Chatham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range: $336 - $1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa has been an idyllic Cape Cod family vacation retreat noted for its excellent service, fine cuisine and beautiful surroundings since 1914. The Inn is nestled near the heart of Chatham on 25 beautifully landscaped acres overlooking Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. This world-famous turn-of-the-century landmark has a remarkable ambiance. The expansive lounge, front veranda and main dining room have been returned to their original grandeur, affording panoramic ocean views and gentle sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Bars Hotel Chatham
Chatham Bars Resort
Chatham Bar Inn Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing