We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine old inn with off-season perks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine old inn with off-season perks”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel dating from the mid-1860s for an early spring getaway to the Cape (late March 2013). The hotel fronts on the main street, next to Chatham’s small park with a bandstand. The hotel wears its history proudly and is gracious. Fascinating pictures of yesteryear Chatham hang in the hallways and rooms. We enjoyed a lovely king-bedded room at reduced rates. The room had been recently renovated in pale yellow and white. It was comfortable, pleasing, and clean. Off-season, our room was not at all noisy even though it overlooked the principal route through Chatham. Included as well was a tasty, expanded continental breakfast in their wood-resplendent tavern. Customer care was demonstrated in several ways - answering our questions and helpfully suggesting restaurants in town for dinner although the hotel itself had a restaurant. What stood out for me was the extra care the night desk person demonstrated. I believe his name was Mark. He had been most pleasant when I made our reservation a few weeks earlier and that night, when I asked him about a Chatham restaurant where I had worked for a summer decades earlier while a college student, he went to the trouble of researching it. He then slipped an envelope under my door with a map and helpful information explaining how that restaurant had been turned into condominiums in the 80s. My husband and I found the place easily the next morning as we were leaving Chatham. I would recommend this hotel for an off-season get-away.

Room Tip: Ask for the number of the specific room you are booking and check out its picture on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayMASSUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    74
    29
    14
    15
See reviews for
52
123
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent a delightful Saturday night at the Wayside Inn in March 2013. It was late winter/early spring, and there was still some snow on the ground, but the skies were clear and the ocean was gorgeous. The Wayside Inn has a very welcoming and homey ambiance, with a nice warm fire burning in the entrance foyer. The room was large and comfortable, and there plenty of books and movies available at no charge for guests. We were surprised at how low the rates were. Chatham is located near the elbow of Cape Cod, and it's fun to walk around town at any time of year. We had a nice New England clam chowder for lunch at the Wayside Inn, and then wandered across the street to the Chatham Squire for dinner. The free continental breakfast is more than enough for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the wayside inn for 2 nights in mid march. We were looking for a quiet relaxing place to unwind. The room was great the food at the squire acoss the street was amazing! We walked to the beach went antique shopping and never even used the car the entire weekend!! We highly recommend the wayside inn and will be back real soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LJromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A little while ago, The Chatham Wayside Inn was offering a getaway type package. So my girlfriend and I said, hey why not, gives us a chance to get away, stay at a nice Inn, enjoy the Cape during the off season, nice town. But did those thoughts tumble quickly!

Two days before we were to check in, I came down with a very bad case of the flu, I was actually in bed for 4 days with an extremely high fever. Knowing we couldn't go I called the Inn and asked what their policy was. Well, I got a woman with an attitude! She very coursely said, before I even finished talking, "sorry sir, no refunds!". I calmly told her that I wasn't looking for a refund, but could the Inn, in the nature of good public relations, and to keep a customer happy, apply at least part of the money to a future stay as soon as I flet better?

"NO!" was her quick response, "we don't do that". Well excuse me! Carol and I will never step foot in that place again!

Room Tip: Plenty of other beautiful Inns in this beautiful town to stay in. We stayed at Chatham Bars Inn.Much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Comingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We love it here! This is the second time we have stayed at the Chatham Wayside Inn. The place is in the heart of Chatham, plenty of shopping and sites to visit, all within walking distance. The rooms are excellent. All of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The complementary breakfast was very nicely laid out in a lovey room by the fireplace. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: The corner room with the view of the main street is very cozy,and the room that looks over the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been going to the Wayside Inn for over 10 years and have never been disappointed. Wonderful staff....especially Mark, who has been more than a manager, he's turned into a friend.
The food is great too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked a deluxe suite at off season rate of $300,00 per night. Room was very very small not what we were expecting. Bases on room rare and accommodations at the property I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
682 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
123 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatham Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatham Wayside Inn

Property: The Chatham Wayside Inn
Address: 512 Main St, Chatham, MA 02633-2239
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chatham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chatham Wayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the quaint seaside village of Chatham, Cape Cod, the Chatham Wayside Inn offers stylish accommodations, comfortable dining and outstanding service creating the perfect Cape Cod experience year-round. Chatham's strolling Main Street, an exclusive mile of boutique shops, art galleries, and restaurants, is just steps from your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Chatham Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatham Wayside Hotel Chatham
Chatham Wayside Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing