We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gahanna, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ray and Judy were away when we stayed for two nights, but their staff still gave outstanding service. They went out of their way to give advice on what to see and do in Chatham to everyone staying there. They provided breakfast to about 30 people every morning in a smooth, elegant, yet quick procedure. They have a beautiful deck with four tall tables and some lounge furniture for evening cocktails and overflow breakfast dining (weather permitting). The rooms are clean and well maintained, but the large comfortable beds occupy most of the floor space. There is ample parking outback, but nearly everything in town was within our walking distance (less than 2 miles). There is even a coin operated laundry about a half mile away. They have a laptop for guest use and free WiFi if you bring your own. We had a great time, and look forward to returning someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chatham room which was very nice but also very small. The second night we were offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
So glad you were well looked after while we were not here. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review for The Old Harbor Inn. We hope you'll return so that Ray and I can get to meet you as well.

With thanks from,
Tanya, Ray and Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    26
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
91
591
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hard to add to the other reviews here, this is a great Inn/B&B in a perfect location in town. Walkable to everything you want to see and restaurants. The staff here are great, go out of their way to make sure you have a good time, making recommendations of things to do. Our room wasn't huge but it was adequate. Great little town beach in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks very much for writing a review for The Old Harbor Inn. We all appreciate the time it took to do so. Hope you'll be in our area again for a return visit.

With all good wishes,
Judy, Tanya and Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The old harbor inn is really worth going. The inn is very nice and well kept, the atmosphere is very familiar and Judy and Ray are fantastic! You must let you guide by them and you will find out all the most beautiful things to do in the area. They dedicate a lot of time to their guests giving them a lot of information and suggestions and they take care of all reservations if you want. They prepare a very nice homemade breakfast in the morning and you really have the feeling being home. The location of the inn is also perfect as it is walking distance from all interesting view pointa and from the centre. I definetely recommend it if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Glad you are home safely. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review for The Old Harbor Inn. We appreciate the very nice comments regarding our orientation to our guests. We hope that helped with your visit. Keep well and come visit again one day.

Warm regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Old Harbor Inn for one night, I now know I should have booked longer. Ray and Judy are incredibly warm hosts and we felt very very welcome. I won't repeat everything that's already been written here but suffice it to say that I would love to return and really strongly recommend this place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It was no nice meeting you both. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Many thanks for taking the time to write a very nice review for The Old Harbor Inn. Our only hope is that you'll come visit again and can stay longer. Keep well.

Many thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful stay at the inn that is walkable to many restaurants shops, the ocean, etc. hosts were very accommodating and provided extra information for guests that were new to Chatham and the Cape. Breakfasts were continental plus an entree that is different each day

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dane_the_dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Wanted to take the opportunity to say thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Old Harbor Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to do so.

With all good wishes,
Ray, Judy and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Meticulously maintained, The Old Harbor Inn proved to be the perfect location for a "girl's trip" to Cape Cod. My sister and I were extremely pleased with our first experience staying at a B&B. Only a short walk from the Inn, Chatham's Main Street offers quality shopping, restaurants and a top notch, small scale movie theater. We were welcomed warmly by Ray upon our arrival with the smell of fresh baked cookies in the air! Ray was extremely helpful, guiding us with his extensive knowledge of the region so we could make the best use of our time. Probably his best advice was letting us know about the availability of a daily ferry only 5 miles from the Inn, leaving out of the town of Harwich with direct service to Nantucket. This saved us a lot of driving as we had planned on taking a ferry from Hyannis or Woods Hole. We stayed in two different rooms, Sutcliffe's Inlet and Chatham. Both were very comfortable and very clean with good sized bathrooms, in room mini refrigerator, basket of snacks and the robes and assortment of toiletries was a nice touch! Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and they even made us a "breakfast to go" on the day we had to catch an early ferry. What we really enjoyed about staying at a B&B, was all our good conversations with fellow travelers and of course, we can't say enough about what a delightful couple owners Judy and Ray are. Their Inn is beautiful and comfortable and we enjoyed our time in their lovely home. Their team of of ladies led by Tanya do a fantastic job of keeping the Inn looking beautiful and running smoothly. They helped us check-in for our flight home and even printed our boarding passes for us. We highly recommend The Old Harbor Inn and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chathaminn, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Ray does do a pretty good job doesn't He! Thank you, thank you for such wonderful comments and a wonderful review for The Old Harbor Inn. Tanya and I really like the movie theater. Wishing you both a wonderful holiday season and hoping to see you in 2014 or whenever you are able to return.

Warm regards and thanks,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile


Luxurious and beautiful Inn in a great location. Tasty breakfast in AM and freshly baked goods through out the day. Nicely appointed rooms with super comfy beds, great linen and towels and elegant toiletries. Tv/ dvd in the rooms. Extensive DVD library. Koi pond, beautifully kept gardens, comfortable outdoor deck for breakfast, sunning or evening gathering, fitness room, beach chairs and towels. Close to downtown, the fish pier, restaurants stores and bars.Bike rental nearby. Perfect location to explore the Cape. Friendly owners/ inn keepers on the premises at all times, very accessible and helpful. Wonderful staff, specially Tanya, to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Rooms with private entrances. Our first time in Cape Cod was wonderful in no small part because our choice of this B&B. Will stay here anytime we are back and would strongly recommend to my friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerchathamMA, Owner at The Old Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
What a fantastic review. We are so pleased and appreciate you taking the time to write it. Tanya is a treasure and we NEVER forget it. We thank you so much for the kind words. Hope to see you again when you get up this way. In the meantime, keep well.

Warm regards,
Judy, Ray and Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#4 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawthorne Motel
Hawthorne Motel
#5 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Harbor Inn

Property: The Old Harbor Inn
Address: 22 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing