We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply, The Best!.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply, The Best!.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

What makes this inn a great place to stay?

1. Location. You are in the heart of Cape Cod, in the beautiful quaint town of Chatham. This is an ideal place for convenient daily excursions to all parts of Cape Cod, or a wonderful place to relax, explore the local beaches, unique restaurants and souvenir shops.

2. The Inn. The inn itself is a masterpiece of Cape Cod's classic houses, tastefully decorated, and supplied with all the amenities you would expect in a five star hotel. The inn is immaculately clean. Each room has a different personality and decor.

3. The owners' personal touch. Unlike hotels, even Deluxe ones, here, at the Old Harbor Inn, we have experienced the wonderful home hospitality of the owners / inn keepers. That's what made this place a home away from home! They helped us with sightseeing suggestions, gave us maps, directions, tips where to go, so we could enjoy every minute of our stay. I forgot to mention the delicious breakfasts, with items that change every day.

What a great place! we warmly recommend it!

  • Liked — Amenities, location, owners' personal care
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DovHatayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    25
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
89
582
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

We arrived late after a long day travelling from the UK. We were greeted by the owner and he was most helpful in informing us of the best places to get a meal in the neighbourhood area.
The rooms are amazing, very clean and comfortable with lots of lovely personal touches. It really felt as if we were staying with friends for a couple of days.We intend to return to this hotel, we loved the ambience and the service was fabulous.

  • Liked — Friendly owners, immaculate rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeannie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

We have stayed at the Old Harbor Inn many times. We love the way the inn is run and the proprietors are fantastic. They are warm and friendly and are always there to anticipate your needs. The decor and all the rooms are beautifully furnished and have every amenity you could need.

If you want directions or suggestions for area restaurants or attractions all you have to do is ask.

The inn has a fantastic location which allows you to walk into town.

If you are looking to stay in that area you could not make a better choice than the Old Harbor Inn.

  • Liked — Decor and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Princeton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

Our first visit to the U.S.A. started badly with the airline losing our luggage for over 24 hours. Judy was extremely helpful and stayed up late to greet us when we arrived, providing us with emergency toiletries and a welcome cup of tea. Our room (Port Fortune) was delightful and well equipped. The breakfasts were certainly on the sweet side for British taste but were beautifully prepared and served and we particularly liked the fresh fruit each day. In defence of our hosts, we have to accept that American breakfasts do not usually have much savoury content, and we came to America to sample the local cuisine! Both Judy and Ray were most helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit and we would not hesitate to stay at the Old Harbor Inn again.

  • Liked — Helpful Inn Keepers
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

We booked via the Internet and it was very easy; emails were prompt.

The public areas of the B&B are very attractive, even if not exactly my own taste. The whole inn was very clean and there was excellent daily service in the room. Being able to grab snacks and soft drinks really makes one feel at home and I felt very comfortable reading on the deck or in the large living room (with an excellent selection of magazines!). Lovely gardens with adorable chipmunks running around.

I liked our room, although it faced the street and the traffic did bother me a bit. The robes and especially the beach bags with towels in the rooms were an especially nice touch. Beach chair/umbrellas could be very easily obtained. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable, absolutely excellent.

My one gripe was the breakfast, mainly because it was oriented towards sweet things. Much was made of the daily baked good and, don't get me wrong, I sometimes ate them and they were tasty but it was just too much for breakfast. There was also a daily hot breakfast item, but they were often sweet too (french toast, pancakes). One day we had eggs provencal but the portion size was so small....I am a thin woman and I could have easily eaten 4 of them. It is true that I could have had other things from the 'full buffet', but I just don't get excited about Cheerios, Raisin Bran, Cornflakes, everyday supermarket breads or packets of Philadelphia. The fruit salad was very fresh and good though.

The location was excellent (except the slight noise issue for the front room) and there was a lot of attention to detail. Although I didn't particularly warm to the hosts, I would recommend this B&B. Chatham is fantastic.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was very comfortable, ok breakfast and a lovely town within easy walking distance. Some of the staff are not overly friendly but they try! The owners seem very nice so probably best to ask them if need advice. You MUST go to Marion's Pies which is close by. Very popular local place and the pies are baked fresh daily and are truly the BEST!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank ECanitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

My husband and I had never stayed at a traditional B&B in our 21 years together. This B&B is just like home and we felt very comfortable. The owners and staff are friendly and accomodating and breakfast is wonderful and includes a warm baked good every day. We were able to sit on the deck in the morning enjoying our coffee and reading the newspapers that were provided. The bedroom and bath are exceptionally clean and the attached bathroom large. A refrigerator offering free soda and water is available 24 hours a day and snacks are also provided. The location of this B&B is ideal. Around the corner and you are in the heart of the main street in Chatham where all the the quaint shops and eateries are located. The local beach was 5 minutes by car.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2run64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
0.5 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
2.4 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chatham Gables Inn
Chatham Gables Inn
#2 of 9 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Harbor Inn

Property: The Old Harbor Inn
Address: 22 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbor Inn is ideally located just steps from the center of the historic seaside village of Chatham. Designer appointed rooms with king and queen beds are just the start of a luxurious experience.The most extensive renovations ever were completed in the spring of 2014, making the inn a truly outstanding property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing