We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Experience”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Carriage House Inn. This was our first experience in Cape Cod. We knew very little about the area. Jim, the owner with wife Val, manager, waiter, dishwasher and concierge spent 30 minutes with us as soon as we checked in to the Bed and Breakfast and explained all of the "must see" attractions in Chatham and the Cape Cod area. We followed Jim's advice and he was spot on with all suggestions. He answered all our questions about the area and added greatly to our Cape Cod vacation. Val served incredible breakfasts. They were both hospitable and gracious. We truly enjoyed our stay at this memorable bed and breakfast.

Al and Barb

Room Tip: We had a great room in the separate cottage area. It was private, had a fireplace and a coffeemaker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Just looked at a great picture of two happy smiling people. You were both so appreciative of everything and expressed it. What wonderful guests! We're glad you left "the windy city" to enjoy this special and wonderful part of the country. Thanks for all your positive input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    39
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
524
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a break from our routine hectic daily schedule and retreat to Cape Cod after the high season. After doing some search, we found several interesting B and B and Carriage House Inn stands out on the list. We made our reservation over the phone and we felt the warm welcome already. After arrival, we were greeted by Jim who gave us a quick introduction to the local attractions which we found very helpful. I was partly distracted by the smell of baking cookies since we missed lunch when we arrived. When we returned from lunch and sight seeing, the cookies were waiting for us already. The room and bath room was nice and clean and all the essential utilities were available. Fruits, hot and cold drinks were free. The morning breakfast was fantastic. They even catered to your special diet needs on request. They have a big back yard with BBQ grill and it's great for family. There is a nice bike trail nearby and we enjoyed the ride very much. It is close to the town center and a lot of nice restaurants. It's definitely worth coming back.

Room Tip: Rm 1-3 accommodate usually 2 people whereas rm 4-6 are bigger and situated in a separate carriage ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwong37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carriage House Inn the night we got married (July, 2012). Although they were breaking their own policy by allowing us to stay just one night, Val and Jim were extremely accommodating and were honored to have us stay. They made us feel very welcome, and we loved staying in the carriage house room! The carriage house room we stayed in had beautiful decor, a good size bathroom, a fireplace, a large closet, and a sliding glass door leading out to our own private lawn area.

Due to their hospitality, we knew that we would be back. My husband and I stayed again for our 1 year anniversary. It is so nice to know we will always have a warm and cozy place to stay down the cape that will welcome us.

Room Tip: The Carriage House rooms have their own private entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I took a vacation to Chatham on Cape Cod for our 1st wedding anniversary. Needless to say, we were looking for something special to celebrate our first big milestone as a married couple. We looked at many hotels, motels and bed and breakfasts on the Cape before ultimately choosing the Carriage House Inn.

We both could not be happier with our decision to stay with Val and Jim (the owners). From the moment we arrived, both Val and Jim were there to help make our anniversary a special experience and ensure that we had everything we needed to make it a pleasant experience.

The breakfasts were different and fun every morning, and Val was extremely accommodating to my wife's Gluten/Dairy Allergies. We couldn’t have been more pleased to start out each day there.

Jim was kind enough to spend time with us mapping out the local attractions, food establishments, which beaches to go to (as well as avoid) and was always there to answer questions. He even mapped out our entire day trip from Chatham to Provincetown, giving us plenty of great ideas to make our anniversary road trip amazing.

The rooms were clean, cozy, and offered much more privacy than your typical B&B. Overall, we can’t say enough positive things about the Carriage House Inn and the owners. We would recommend this B&B to for a first time trip, as well as a return one (we will be returning).

-Matt E. , Boston MA

Room Tip: We chose Room 6 and were very happy we did. the room had a private entrance and its own sliding glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Cape, and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Jim was incredible with his first hand knowledge of the Cape. We had a wonderful hot breakfast every morning, and warm chocolate cookies in the afternoon. Everything was clean and comfortable, particularly our bed in room #3. Highly recommend a stay with Jim and Val.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our several day stay started off with a warm greeting from Jim and Val (owners) on august 23,2013.
Jim gave us an area map and shared his knowledge about local sights, good restaurants and beaches.
We stayed in the CARRIAGE HOUSE ( No. 4) , which had a sliding door to the garden with 2 sunchairs. We found a refridgerator and a coffeemaker in our room. The bathroom was clean and modern with a strong shower.
A delicious breakfast was served by Jim and Val in a beautiful diningroom on a community table every morning. We met wonderful people from Ireland, Germany and new York City..
All in all a wonderful place, and we plan on staying here next year again.
Thank you Jim & Val for a delightful stay and memories.
Abdel and Almut

Room Tip: Carriage House or Room No. 2 in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almutallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, ga
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My first visit was in May and it was such a great experience that I returned with my husband on September 12th! Val and Jim are so warm and welcoming that there is no other place I would choose to stay at the Cape... I plan on making it my home away from home.. The breakfast is always something to look forward to.. The rooms are exquisite.. The location of the inn is ideal... But what makes it special is Val and Jim.. They are always available..always ready to help make your visit one to remember.. And always up for whatever you may want them to do.. I can't wait to return in May.. I have even told them that if they sell the inn.i expect a permanent room in their home!! Way to go Val and Jim.. Thanks for the memories..

Room Tip: I love the Rooms off of the main house because you get a nice little space outside to sit and chill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.3 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing