We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chuck and julie”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Chatham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“chuck and julie”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

stayed at the inn mid april 2013 for two nights. Val and Jim were great hosts. everything was just as advertised,room was nicely furnished,,bed was very comfortable. We got engaged that weekend and Val and Jim surprised us with a bottle of champagne. The breakfasts were excellent,fresh fruit and great food. Chatham is a nice spot and They were always willing to give suggestions for whatever you need. We would definitely go back

Room Tip: We stayed in the barn and room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We were thrilled to spend your engagement weekend with you. Once again, congratulations to you both. Thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you again, perhaps a honeymoon or a future anniversary?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    39
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
522
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Carriage House Inn recently and really enjoyed our visit. Val and Jim were extremely welcoming and accommodating. I had to work late on the day we were scheduled to arrive and our late check in did not seem to be a problem for them. Jim was extremely thankful that we kept him informed of our ETA and seemed genuinely happy to see us. He was very social but acceptably so. Not appearing nosy at all, just friendly and conversational. He really knows the area well and it is clear that he loves what he does and sharing details about the wonderful town of Chatham. I slept awesome in a carriage house room and the breakfast, which was not too early (9 a.m.), was delicious both days. Val really knows her way around the kitchen. My boyfriend and I will definitely be back. The rates for the rooms on the off season are quite reasonable and the area, although more quiet, can be enjoyed any time of year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We can still picture you both sitting at the main table. We really enjoyed having you here as much as you enjoyed your visit. As you know, I love my grandmother's name. I have a great picture I promise to forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Only spent one night as kind of a getaway. Love the location-nice, quiet and convenient to everything. Very close to the ocean sights; great shopping experience in downtown Chatham and excellent restaurant choices. Jim was very helpful in guiding us to good local restaurants and local sight-seeing opportunities. Val made a breakfast that was outstanding(wish I could have stayed longer just to see what we would have had for breakfast the next day). Room was a little small, but everything was clean and spotless. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Sometimes a one night stay is enough to whet the appetite for a return visit. You're not that far away and there is so much to see and do here. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Although we had a little chaos trip, we arrived way to late and had to leave quite early, Val and Jim were helping us for a perfect stay. They offered us all the necessary support to get a great dinner organized and explained us the way arround chatham better than any travel guide. The House is really lovely and rooms have theyr unique and simply great style. Thanks for the support and the great openess!

Obwohl wir nur einen sehr kurzen Aufenthalt hatten konnten wir uns für das Val und Jim und ihr Carrigan House Inn begeistern. Das Haus und die Zimmer sind liebevoll und sehr stilecht eingerichtet. Es bietet einen traumhaften Kontrast zu den sonst so oft bekannten Großstädten. Daneben hat uns Jim sozusagen nebenbei das Dinner organisiert und unseren Aufenthalt trotz verspäteter Ankunft, sehr angenehm gestaltet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Well, this is a first! A bilingual review, first in English and then in German. We're glad your stay in Chatham provided a welcome respite from the travels between the big cities. What a delightful couple you are! Wish we had more time together. Danke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwell
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The innkeepers, Jim and Valerie, provided a great experience with their information on the surrounding area sites and attractions as well as clean and comfortable rooms coupled with a warm feeling of welcome. by all means -go there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Can't thank you enough for your input and advice on the proposed renovation at the Inn. You shouldn't have told us you were in constructoin! Val and I very much enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The accommodation is beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable. The host is friendly and helpful. He made the effort to get to know us a little and insisted on sitting down with us to tell how we might enjoy the town and area. He came out and found us in Chatham after our evening meal to give us a very welcome lift back to the inn. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlackerHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
At first we were concerned that you were visiting Chatham without a car, but when you said your husband was a marathoner, we stopped worrying. I was happy to drive you home from the Squire and keep you out of the rain. Thank you for your kind words. Merci beaucoup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nekoosa, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

As others have decribed, we knew we made the right choice the minute we walked in the door. Jim's lay of the land and the "must see locations" were spot on. Great food, clean rooms, and comfortable beds are a given, the real charm is Jim & Val's hospitality... and simply feeling at home. If you're looking for the place to relax & unwind...this is it!

Loved it so much, we plan on being back next spring!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSW41513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiinfo, Owner at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
And we loved having you as guests. Thanks for the great review. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon for the big event. My camera will once again be ready. Don't forget all the hidden beaches we explored!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
2.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
643 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain's House Inn
Captain's House Inn
#3 of 9 in Chatham
1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 407 Old Harbor Rd, Chatham, MA 02633-2322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic year-round bed & breakfast near Chatham Light Beach and downtown Chatham, the Carriage House Inn offers spacious grounds, beautifully appointed guestrooms and gracious hospitality. All rooms have queen size beds, private bathrooms, TV's with DVD players, air conditioning and CD alarm clocks; some feature fireplaces, private entrances, and outdoor sitting areas. A full, gourmet breakfast is served each morning under the crystal chandelier in the dining room or adjacent sunroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing