We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family beach”
Review of Ridgevale Beach

Ridgevale Beach
Ranked #9 of 48 things to do in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice family beach”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Tidal pools on one side for the little ones, and the ocean for everybody. Clean and accessible, but a small parking lot.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Out of season delight and disappointment”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were surprised that the guardhouse was closed and no fee was charged, but were not too happy at the lack of a restroom. Surely they could leave at least one porta-potty in place until the end of September? There were plenty of cars in the parking area on a hot, early September day. We spent several hours sitting in the sun, reading and overlooking the nice beach. The water was not too rough, and was warm, but the seaweed would have been a problem had we wanted to fully immerse ourselves. It wrapped around our feet and ankles as we paddled. Paddling shoes are essential. Cockle Cove and Hardings Beach restrooms were non-existent too. This is a public relations snafu when most of the out of season visitors are seniors.

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect beach for families”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The kids loved this beach and did not want to leave! Calm, shallow water for the kids to play in and explore.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AWESOME Beach for Families or anyone who loves to catch crabs!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What an awesome beach! I went this past week with a good friend and my 2 boys, ages 4 and 7. It is my new favorite beach in the area. The parking lot is small and seems to fill up early. We went at 10:30 on a Wednesday and it was already half full. Parking was $15. A lot of people seem to leave around noon/1ish for lunch or naps so a new group comes in then. It was pretty packed considering it was mid-week.

From the parking lot you walk over a foot bridge that goes over the little canal where all the kids are crabbing and end up on the inlet side. This is where all the families of little ones seem to hang out. It is perfect as the water is not too deep even at high tide and is a bit warmer than the ocean side. There are TONS of crabs to catch. We caught 8, plus 1 horseshoe crab and one enormous snail:) When the tide is flowing you can ride a floatie or buggie board and just drift. Make sure you have your nets, pails, shovels etc...

At one point we walked down the inlet beach to the 'point' where the water flowed out to the ocean. This was a lot of fun because the slope in the water is quite steep so very fun to jump off and swim - although probably not ideal place for little ones that can't swim. The waves were decent and the kids just jumped those for an hour.

There is a little snack shack that makes 'beach food' to order and it is fairly good. Grilled cheese, hamburger, hot dog etc... plus lots of drinks and ice cream. The shack also sells floaties, pails, nets, shovels if you forget them. I was also told you can rent kayaks and paddle boards at the store. We saw a few people doing that and it looked like a lot of fun.

We were there from 10:30-3pm and had a blast. The kids loved it and were not bored for a second. I can't wait to go back!!

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Advisors suggested this beach, it was ok, sand is not soft, and plenty of shells to cut your feet on. The tidal pools were cold, not warm and full of seaweed but the kids still liked it. The best part was the surroundings and quaint cottages.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ridgevale Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing