We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Summer Theatre”
Review of Monomoy Theatre

Monomoy Theatre
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quintessential Summer Theatre”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Charming theater holds about 200 without a bad seat in the house. Air conditioned and comfortable seats, but still old Cape Cod feel with a quant outdoor courtyard for intermission. The theatre has an affiliation with two college theatre departments which contributes to the high quality of actors. Thoroughly enjoyed the show Wait Until Dark last week. Ordered tickets through the website and they were waiting for us at the door. Will definitely be back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CD430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    5
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Summer Stock”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are prejudiced. Over the past few years our daughter has been a performe at Monomoyr. Now that she has graduated, we still go for a show or two each summer. The Hartt students are total professionals with clear strong voices and acting talent.

The choice of musicals and drama/comedies offers such a wide range, there will be a performance for everyone.

Put this on you trip advisor for next year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bob_cindy_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Monomoy Theatre - Always a Class Act!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were in Chatham for their Fourth of July activities and decided to go see 1776, the Musical. We bought the last 2 tickets that night and I was worried the seats wouldn't be that great. I should have remembered that there are no bad seats. The show was superb! The acting brought you back to those historical days when the various patriots penned the Declaration of Independence. You really felt you were there in the gallery watching the whole process. The music was great too. We thoroughly enjoyed it!!
Over the years we have seen many productions at Monomoy and have never been disappointed. This summer's line up includes Cabaret and Wait Until Dark. Wish I could see those. Actually, I wish I lived in Chatham so I could be a season ticket holder!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachplum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"1776" - Educational & Entertaining”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were fortunate to get tickets for the first night performance of "1776" the musical. Very entertaining with great acting and singing from a mainly amateur cast. AS visitors to USA it was also very educational.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCorkWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great theatre great acting”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great acting in the heart of Chatham. Wonderful musical did not have to pay Boston prices. Air conditioned may need a sweater. Plays change during summer season.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monomoy Theatre also viewed

 
 

Been to Monomoy Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing