We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
An enjoyable visit.

We really enjoyed our visit to the museum. Sally F. was our tour guide through the original house... read more

Reviewed October 22, 2022
Katsura1017
via mobile
Time Machine back to another time

This was a tour done by a person who presented the museum to you reorienting us to that time... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2022
lorettaj580
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 213 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chatham
from $425.00
More Info
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
202
9
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
202
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house historical society house tour sea captain guided tour rainy day cape cod changing exhibits century house fresnel lens coast guard rescue older children fascinating exhibits nice gift shop daily life fishing camp admission price
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 213 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

The Atwood House is much more than a historic home museum. A very knowledgable staff and docents provide visitors with an impressive collection of art, furnishings and history of this region. Well organized with exhibits from the Revolution through the Civil War and World War I and II. A special treat to view the historic and contemporary panoramic photos of this very attractive area. Highly recommended for an enjoyable and educational visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank patrickcC9155SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

The volunteer staff were exceptional; great tour, very educational; very interesting and informative. I was surprised at the extent of the exhibits in what I thought was a small museum. Worth the visit!!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank petertG7477GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and endorsement! Online reviews and word of mouth are especially important for museums like ours. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

We stopped there on a whim. I was pleasantly surprised at the size and variety of the museum. Excellent docents, and the kids all enjoyed themselves from age 7-14.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Thank you for letting us know! We are happy to be able to provide fun for the entire family. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

Interesting museum, first time for me to visit this wonderful place very well preserved And atended by the best volunteers. Our visit was great, the tour was explanatory and enjoy all the exhibitions! They also have a gift shop.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank yamarisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

We're so glad you visited us. We always enjoy spending time with our guests from The Victorian Assisted Living. Your enthusiasm brings us joy. We're also glad that you were able to picnic on our front lawn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Loved our tour! Knowledgeable and friendly staff. We should have allowed more time. They close at 4:00 and we got there a little after 2:30. Really enjoyed learning about Chatham’s history.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank circlehranch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

People are surprised to find out that you can easily spend 2-3 hours at our Museum. Thank you for mentioning it to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews