We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:15 AM
Save
Review Highlights
flawless fun

what a flawless surprise right in the middle of chatham loved the secret town mural very friendly... read more

Reviewed October 13, 2020
Travelinthru_7
,
New York
A Must Visit in Chatham

Great little museum. Nicely done exhibits covering Cape Cod history, very interesting and... read more

Reviewed October 11, 2020
Susan K
,
Westfield, Massachusetts
Read all 146 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chatham
from $360.00
More Info
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
138
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
138
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house beach camp sea captain house tour historical society guided tour scavenger hunt rainy day assistant director excellent docent cape cod great books rooms filled changing exhibits camp house early settlers gift shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 146 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

The Atwood House is much more than a historic home museum. A very knowledgable staff and docents provide visitors with an impressive collection of art, furnishings and history of this region. Well organized with exhibits from the Revolution through the Civil War and World War I and II. A special treat to view the historic and contemporary panoramic photos of this very attractive area. Highly recommended for an enjoyable and educational visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank patrickcC9155SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

The volunteer staff were exceptional; great tour, very educational; very interesting and informative. I was surprised at the extent of the exhibits in what I thought was a small museum. Worth the visit!!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank petertG7477GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and endorsement! Online reviews and word of mouth are especially important for museums like ours. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

We stopped there on a whim. I was pleasantly surprised at the size and variety of the museum. Excellent docents, and the kids all enjoyed themselves from age 7-14.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Thank you for letting us know! We are happy to be able to provide fun for the entire family. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

Interesting museum, first time for me to visit this wonderful place very well preserved And atended by the best volunteers. Our visit was great, the tour was explanatory and enjoy all the exhibitions! They also have a gift shop.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank yamarisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

We're so glad you visited us. We always enjoy spending time with our guests from The Victorian Assisted Living. Your enthusiasm brings us joy. We're also glad that you were able to picnic on our front lawn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Loved our tour! Knowledgeable and friendly staff. We should have allowed more time. They close at 4:00 and we got there a little after 2:30. Really enjoyed learning about Chatham’s history.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank circlehranch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamMass, Executive Director at Atwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

People are surprised to find out that you can easily spend 2-3 hours at our Museum. Thank you for mentioning it to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews