We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place with average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Goose Tavern

Wild Goose Tavern
Ranked #12 of 68 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
326 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice place with average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Good variety on the menu but the quality is average. You won't think you had a bad meal, but you won't think it is a special place. Good ambiance in downtown Chatham.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LIV2FLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    242
    114
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ct
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“enjoyable outdoor lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

First day in the cape, walked through downtown Chatham and stopped here for lunch. Great service, nice cold beer and wonderful food. A great break from walking is sitting enjoying great food and watching your surroundings. lovely place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loreato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food & People Watching From The Terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I ate here after making the drive from Boston on the Friday of Fourth of July weekend. We sat on the outdoor terrace for a late lunch in beautfiul weather. There was cold Stella on tap and we had some great dishes - fish and chips and a lobster roll. The lobster roll had so much lobster on it that I couldn't even close the bun (not complaining). The service was great, too. Only complaint is the prices - $22 for a lobster roll is a bit excessive (although as I mentioned above, there was tons of lobster involved). Overall, it was the best lunch we had all weekend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I had the extreme pleasure of dining street side yesterday at the "Goose".
I opted to sit outside in the dining area located right on Main Street Chatham.
The food was fantastic; I would say this was my second best meal ever!
Thank you to Jayne and BoB for making this a great meal to remember!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KitDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Worst Restaurant in Chatham”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our final night after a wonderful 4 night holiday in Chatham. Monday evening after the Memorial Day Bank Holiday, so maybe the staff were feeling a little jaded, but really it was the worst service we have had in our fortnight American Holiday. Our main courses were brought before they had even cleared our appetizers and we had to ask for cutlery as the food sat there getting cold. My husband had the New York Strip, which was probably the best choice of the evening but the rest of the food was fairly bland. The place was reminiscent of a neglected English tea room and the lights were dimmed and the cheque brought before we had finished our drinks. Avoid this place there are so many other great restaurants to go to.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MANDYWOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Goose Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wild Goose Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing