We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other than the name, a great place to dine.”
Review of Wild Goose Tavern

Wild Goose Tavern
Ranked #11 of 68 Restaurants in Chatham
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Other than the name, a great place to dine.”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have never been disappointed here. It is not a burger joint, but the cheeseburger I had was terrific. The menu appeals to a broad spectrum of tastes. The appetizers are very good. The shrimp appetizer is one of our favorites, but I like the crab cakes. The stuffed quahog can be uneven, but I highly recommend everything else. We like to sit at the bar, but whether indoors or outdoors every where is comfortable. It can be noisy if there are a lot of children in attendance, so we opt for quieter times. The room by the large fireplace is great if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the main dining area. Outside in the summer is great place to watch people stroll by. They do not take AMEX, so be warned. Overall a good and fun dining experience.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChathamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    253
    120
    54
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“excellent food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

we had come to Chatham for several years, but for what ever reason had never visited the Wild Goose Tavern, probably because it always seemed so busy. While we in the village for a lttle off season break we decided to drop in for dinner. So glad we did! Dinner was wonderful, wine list very nice, wait staff knowledgeable and gracious. A very relaxing, fun and satisfying evening. Looking forward to going again. I think we will try to stay at the attached Inn sometime too.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience...”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My wife & I had dinner at the Wild Goose Tavern on Feb 12th 2011. Everyone raved about other restaurants in the area but we chose the Wild Goose and were glad we did. We began with cocktails, Cesar salads, and bread/rolls with their own butter spread that was flavored with pesto & garlic. Our dinners were steak tips and short ribs and both dinners were very tasty, cooked perfect, and all of the sides were done well also. We completed our meal with a chocolate chip pie that was ooeey-gooey delicious.

Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive as was the bus-staff. Price was what you'd expect for a restaurant of this sort and the atmosphere was very "Chatham" with the painted murals of the town on the walls.

The Wild Goose will be on our list of places to revisit when we go back to Chatham.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleFromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“no more than average”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Food was OK, service was OK ambience was terrible. It is rumoured that NASA may use this establishment for testing since it has absolutely no atmosphere! The restauant is just a big room full of tables and chairs. No booths or room dividers to break it up and give it some character

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miles7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty, laid back place for lunch”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I stopped in the Wild Goose for lunch while shopping in Chatham. The hostess was very friendly and welcoming, the place filled with light and windows and the atmosphere comfortable. I had a fish sandwich that was to die for, probably the best one I've had in quite awhile. I want to say of all the places we ate while on the Cape they had the tastiest seafood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Goose Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wild Goose Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing