We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Chatham Bars Inn Resort - Dining
Reserve with OpenTable
Chatham Bars Inn Resort - Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Seaview Street and Shore Road
Description: New England dining meets premier restaurant at STARS, located in the Historic Chatham Bars Inn. Custom chandeliers, stately columns and magnificent picture windows overlooking the Atlantic Ocean’s Pleasant Bay create an ambiance that's both upscale and inviting. Nothing but the finest mid-western grain fed and dry aged beef is served with extraordinary local ingredients and produce from our own farm, Cape Cod’s finest local seafood and an extensive list of wines representing the world’s greatest wine making regions . Our signature tableside steak sizing, cut to your specifications along with house specialties such as the “BACON & EGGS” pork belly appetizer, 22 ounce Dry Aged Porter House and open Wine Cellar are a few distinctive dining highlights. Please observe our dress code, Resort Evening Attire. For the ladies, resort casual including jeans - no pool / beach attire and for the men, long pants including jeans, collared shirt and proper footwear - no shorts.
Harwich
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The service at the CBI has improved quite a bit since the last time we were there. The view from the Beach Grill can't be beat. On a nice day like last Sunday there is nothing better.

Like they say in Texas the CBI is all hat no cattle . The food is still not up to the view. I had a burger and the description made it sound tasty but such was not the case. The bun fell apart and it was rare rather than the medium I asked for, and the fries were frozen. If you want a great burger go to Ollie's in Chatham - crisp bun, well cooked , and hand cut fries. Do they have a view -- no but the cost is also less than half the cost of the CBI.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    118
    63
    44
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner in Stars and Tavern”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner in Stars Restaurant and later the same week in the Tavern (casual dining) at Chatham Bars. Food was excellent; service was good. We didn't have our requested table and was sorry that the lobster flambee was temporarily off the menu at Stars (one of the reasons we came) - but the meals we had were excellent food and the service was impeccable. Our party had both beef and fish entrees - as well as appetizers. Everything was cooked well and to our specifications. Food presentation was excellent. These are not inexpensive places to dine (Stars is very expensive), but the food quality and service match the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cd133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stars Breakfast, Beach House Grill Clambake, Pool Cabana”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chatham Bars Inn four days around the 4th of July.

Breakfast:

We had breakfast each morning at Stars. The dining room is lovely and has large windows looking out to the beach. If you want to sit outside on the beautiful veranda with great sea views, you may only get the buffet.

The first morning I had the brioche french toast stuffed with vanilla roasted apples and mascarpone cheese. It was so delicious, unlike many restaurant french toasts. The other three mornings we had the buffet. The buffet was expansive and constantly monitored. Any time a dish was getting low, it was replaced. They had the typical items you would expect, but standouts included the very fresh eggs benedict, corned beef hash, cherrywood-smoked bacon, french toast with warm berry sauce, cranberry muffins, almond croissants stuffed with an almond-cheese mixture, banana bread and zucchini bread. The fruit was delicious, and there were various cereals, breads, pastries, cheeses, breakfast meats and an omelette station.

Clambake:

We had reservations for the July 3 Clambake at the 6:30 seating. The Clambake takes place at the Beach House Grill, perched right on the beach. We arrived and were shown to our requested outdoor table within a few minutes. There was even a band playing.

The Clambake is primarily buffet, but if you have previously (at the time of your reservation) requested a lobster, your server will bring it to you whenever you want. The buffet is very large and well-monitored. There was a delicious clam chowder and mini corn muffins. There is a large raw bar and salad bar. In addition to seafood, there are other entree selections and hot sides, such as new potatoes and corn on the cob. The server brought our lobsters, complete with drawn butter, cracker and bibs; the tail was already split but not the claws. It was wonderful.

The dessert bar has multiple desserts. There are 3 flavors of ice cream with a multitude of toppings for build your own sundaes. I tried the warm peach crumble, which was very good. The standout was the homemade doughnuts which the chef fried as you waited and promptly dredged in cinnamon and sugar. They were like warm, sweet clouds.

We both really enjoyed the Clambake experience and are really glad we had made the reservation

Pool Cabanas:

We had reserved a pool cabana on one day and ordered lunch. My boyfriend had a burger, which he said was very good. I had the lobster grilled cheese sandwich which was pricey but delicious. It was chunks of lobster meat melted with a truffled cheese on wheat bread; sounds simple, but it was decadent.

Summary:

We thoroughly enjoyed all our meals at CBI.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaTurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is great! Not much service.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The food at STARS was amazing! Service was poor. The restaurant wasn't business and we saw our server maybe 3 times. He didn't even great us or take our order - the first time we saw him was after our entrees arrived.

Breakfast was over priced for a buffet that we had to serve ourselves... $30 per person. Complimentary breakfast if you stay here is only tea and coffee. Not even some complimentary fruit for the room prices.

Great views from STARS and the veranda decks!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lpz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortmanagercbi, Manager at Chatham Bars Inn Resort - Dining, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your brief review of your dining experiences at Chatham Bars Inn. I am very sorry to read that while the food in Stars was amazing, our service did not measure up. I plan to review your comments with our Stars team today at their pre-meal meeting. Feedback whether positive, constructive and in some cases negative helps us with our continued training programs and constant strive to exceed customer expectations. It is our goal to delight our guests at every opportunity, and in this case we simply fell short.
Please don’t hesitate reaching out to me directly in the future so that I may able to personally oversee your dining reservations.

Again, thank you for the positive and constructive feedback regarding your most recent experience at Chatham Bars Inn.

Michael Briggs
Resort Manager
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
mbriggs@chathambarsinn.com
508.945.6710
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nana's visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spectacular view and great food. We always eat outside at the pool grill. It is a little pricey - but you have a great view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatham Bars Inn Resort - Dining also viewed

 

Been to Chatham Bars Inn Resort - Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing